Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 12 v Manly

franklin2323

How many halves were at their peaks after 70 games? And If you only want to look at experience and not age that just makes it worse for Maloney. More games, more rep games, more finals plus 3 grand finals with two wins and still is not performing better than Cleary.

Many halves have done better after 70 games. Whether it was in their peak is hard to show

I posted where Maloney is better.

So you have no issue with a $800k-$1m half to have only 5 try assists and 8 repeat sets after 11 games?

betcats

Many halves have done better after 70 games. Whether it was in their peak is hard to show

I posted where Maloney is better.

So you have no issue with a $800k-$1m half to have only 5 try assists and 8 repeat sets after 11 games?

I have an issue with both of their performances this season but I think Cleary has been the better of the two. Ive never had to question his effort and I genuinely feel like he is always busting a gut, Jimmys far to happy to take a back seat and others have alluded he has looked like he is phoning it in at times. We replaced Jimmy with a rookie last week and looked better for it, does that not say enough for you?

franklin2323

I have an issue with both of their performances this season but I think Cleary has been the better of the two. Ive never had to question his effort and I genuinely feel like he is always busting a gut, Jimmys far to happy to take a back seat and others have alluded he has looked like he is phoning it in at times. We replaced Jimmy with a rookie last week and looked better for it, does that not say enough for you?

As a team we played better. Halves themselves not much changed. Still poor options and not much thrown at the defence

Panther_Daz

People need to stop looking at Cleary's age.

70 FG games. 6 Finals. 3 Origins Soon to be 4 origins.... Hardly a rookie anymore

DCE and Johnson both made their debuts in the 2011 season. Johnson 21 and DCE 22.

Both made an instant impact playing in Grand Finals that year.

That year Johnson played 16 games for 18 try assists and DCE 27 games for 19 try assists.

Cleary is in his 4th season and has played rep footy, he is still unable to see what's outside him. No vision at all.

Panther_Daz

Cleary can no doubt be a decent NRL footballer however he isn't a halfback. His strengths are much more suited to 9.

Panther_Daz

Also Cleary is 21, his peak is years away it’s not supposed to be at 21

My fear is that we have already seen the best of Cleary as a halfback. Teams have worked him out and know what to do when he has the ball now. At the start of his career teams he was scoring more tries from running. This year he has only made 2 line breaks.

He would be the easiest halfback in the comp to coach against.

betcats

DCE and Johnson both made their debuts in the 2011 season. Johnson 21 and DCE 22.

That year Johnson played 16 games for 18 try assists and DCE 27 games for 19 try assists.

Cleary is in his 4th season and has played rep footy, he is still unable to see what's outside him. No vision at all.

Johnson and cleary will never be comparable as players imo and Johnson might have had an immediate impact in 2011 but most years since he has fallen well short of matching his impact from 2011.

DCE debuted in a team that was already very succusful. They had just been to prelim finals in 09 and 10. They had been premiers in 08. That's a much easier situation for a half to have an impact in then our situation the last few years.

I don't think we have seen the best from Cleary yet by any means, yes his vision has been lacking but James Maloney is a proven attacking weapon and he isn't making anything happen in this team. He didn't just forget how to play footy or lose his vision. IF Maloney is struggling to create in this system of course Cleary is also.

Panther_Daz

I don't think we have seen the best from Cleary yet by any means, yes his vision has been lacking but James Maloney is a proven attacking weapon and he isn't making anything happen in this team. He didn't just forget how to play footy or lose his vision. IF Maloney is struggling to create in this system of course Cleary is also.

I just think Maloney is that extra yard slower now with his decision making. He is about to turn 33 after all.

Dave's mate

Lyon and the Stewart brothers ran that side

betcats

His reactions just don't appear to be as sharp anymore. He doesn't break the line like he used to either, a little slower.

He has lost pace for sure. But even last year when he was out form he was still seeing the overlaps and pulling the trigger, he was just getting intercepted or not sticking the pass. Now he isn't even throwing the passes, I haven't seen him throw a cutout to put someone through the line all season long, I think he threw an intercept early in the year that would've been on had it made it to the intended target but that's about it.

betcats

FWIW I think both halves are capable of playing much better than what we've seen this year. The entire teams is capable of better, they all suck this year.

Aliceinwonderland

Again I'm not confident for this game. This is the type of game we as Penrith tend to drop. Manly decimated by injury will be working for the jersey on pride.

I wouldn't dare say we are going to win by + amount. At the moment we are doing well to scratch around like old chooks and drag out a messy win (like last week)

I'll be in my Panther cave (if asked) attempting not to fear a loss.

PS Heaven help us if we come in as favourites too. I mean seriously. :rolleyes:

franklin2323

Stevie Wonder has more vision. Even Luke Walsh had more try assists after 70 games. He wasn't on $1m a season

Panther_Daz

Again I'm not confident for this game. This is the type of game we as Penrith tend to drop. Manly decimated by injury will be working for the jersey on pride.

We are a chance.

Jake Trbojevic is everything to Manly defensively. He leads their line speed and the rest follow. He would most likely be the most vocal too.

Aliceinwonderland

We are a chance.

Jake Trbojevic is everything to Manly defensively. He leads their line speed and the rest follow. He would most likely be the most vocal too.

I do my best (and I believe the team does too) when I think the worst about a game. :p

I also sat through the horrow show against Manly last year at home. Yes it was a horror show. Dreadful.