Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 12 vs Souths Game Day Thread

Just saw the end of the replay .... i know i have some bias, but f**k me what an abysmal refereeing display down the back end of that game

- two tries disallowed for forward passes ... both would be let go practically every time
- the ball was knocked out of edwards hands ... can say loose carry, but i reckon 80% of the time that'd be penalised
- then they drop it at the base of the scrum, but they pluck a differential feet across scrum penalty out for the first time in 20 years ... puhleeeease!
- then that last try would absolutely NEVER be awarded ... it was so clearly not a try ... f**k me sideways!
I think most 'bad calls' are probably close to fifty fifty. That's the nature of rugby league rules that are so full of grey areas. The problem is that after we got to 18-0 just about EVERY f**kING FIFTY FIFTY CALL went Souths' way. There were about a dozen calls that could've gone either way and they were overwhelmingly ruled in South's favour.

I remember once turning my last dollar into $64 on the pokies, but that was entirely random. When it's the f**king refs concerned that the score doesn't match pregame odds then you have to wonder about your 'luck' with the calls.

Happy MEel

Wow that is tough. I thought he had a great game. No way in the world would Semi have scored that try Hoffman scored. No way.

His hit ups were good and made an impressive line break.
Up until that point I thought he was pretty average (poor defence effort shooting out of the line, handling error, getting caught by the marker a few times rucking it out) but he definitely improved after this effort.

He'll probably never be a whole lot better than Sandow in defence - but he'll be twice as good for our attack.

Moses could barely run in 2nd half. Defense was ok.
Just saw the end of the replay .... i know i have some bias, but f**k me what an abysmal refereeing display down the back end of that game

- two tries disallowed for forward passes ... both would be let go practically every time
- the ball was knocked out of edwards hands ... can say loose carry, but i reckon 80% of the time that'd be penalised
- then they drop it at the base of the scrum, but they pluck a differential feet across scrum penalty out for the first time in 20 years ... puhleeeease!
- then that last try would absolutely NEVER be awarded ... it was so clearly not a try ... f**k me sideways!

First pass forward.
2nd was close.
Ke was a shit carry and wasnt raked just smart attacking ball.
Next 2 i agree.

The 50/50 all went Souths way. But i was more upset with the offside they didnt get pinged for and laying on our players. Along with giving them penalties on 4th or 5th.
Reminded me off last years superbowl. Lets not have fans change channel. This is big time Friday night viewing. We want veiwers tuned in for the full 2hrs. We want controversial calls so people stay up and listen what the panels has to say.

It was souths, it was a FTA game, the calls were to make the game closer so the souths fans didn't switch off and cost them FTA ratings for the last hour of the telecast.
It's all about TV revenue, thats the main money that comes into the game, they need more next TV deal as the NRL are spending more than they can afford and the players want more money.
It's the reason the Broncos get all the 50/50 calls they need them winning for TV ratings in Brisbane, if the Broncos struggle or miss the finals they switch off. If that happens the TV rights are worth less,
Believe people because it's business and thats how business works.

the more they mess with the game trying to control the outcome the more people get the shits and turn off
they are actually creating the problem they are trying to solve

Eelogical

There was a lot to like about last night's win. Gunko and Moses were pretty damn good considering the limited time they have had together. While I stated a week or two ago that we would finish just outside the 8 (and I still hold that view) there are a lot of positives going forward for the rest of the season even allowing for our Jekyll & Hyde performances thus far. However, If the Parra from last night show up more often for the rest of the season then I'm more than happy to be proven wrong about making the 8.

While I stated a week or two ago that we would finish just outside the 8 (and I still hold that view) there are a lot of positives going forward for the rest of the season

i think this season will be very close and a month out from the finals there will be six teams fighting to finish 6-8th i think we will be one of those teams

Eelogical

i think this season will be very close and a month out from the finals there will be six teams fighting to finish 6-8th i think we will be one of those teams

If we happen to scrape into 8 then got flogged in the first game, will the massholes be happy? Just throwing it out there.

eel01s

Geez the 12 point turnaround had me fuming. That could be crucial in For and Against at the back end of the season. Virtually every try scored from a running play like that has a similar, if not worse, pass.

To top it off, I could not believe the bunker allowed the last South try. I thought the rule had been changed to ensure that the player had control of the ball when grounding it (i.e. got rid of the "no separation" bs).

If we had "scored" that it would have been a "no try" call from the ref.

Eelogical

If those 12 points determine whether we make it or not then I'd rather we didn't. Scraping into the 8 is like settling for selfies from the Wicked Witch Of The West.

There were a couple of passes from similar plays to ours that went miles forward last week and were let go. I reckon a a crack down was ordered this week, hence the ruling. But f**k me, how they called that last one a try I have no idea.

84 Baby

Geez the 12 point turnaround had me fuming. That could be crucial in For and Against at the back end of the season. Virtually every try scored from a running play like that has a similar, if not worse, pass.

To top it off, I could not believe the bunker allowed the last South try. I thought the rule had been changed to ensure that the player had control of the ball when grounding it (i.e. got rid of the "no separation" bs).

If we had "scored" that it would have been a "no try" call from the ref.
My only issue with Johnstones bobble try was all the video ref did was pass the buck back to onfield refs first inclination. Sterlo was right that the insufficient evidence was a cop out. They had unobstructed view of the grounding the should have either overturned or justified the decision

First pass forward.
2nd was close.
Ke was a shit carry and wasnt raked just smart attacking ball.
Next 2 i agree.

The 50/50 all went Souths way. But i was more upset with the offside they didnt get pinged for and laying on our players. Along with giving them penalties on 4th or 5th.
Reminded me off last years superbowl. Lets not have fans change channel. This is big time Friday night viewing. We want veiwers tuned in for the full 2hrs. We want controversial calls so people stay up and listen what the panels has to say.

Add to that, I swear Burgess didn't play the ball in the lead up to that last try. Ridiculous.

Referees are getting worse.

Back to the game, it was a good win and the scoreline doesn't reflect on how they played.

They really muscled up in defence and really took it to Souths.

I was impressed with the changes before the game and it paid off. Alvaro and Vave starting was a good selection and also Smith coming off the bench, especially with Pritchard coming off injured. Normally Brown would fill that hole but Smith was handy.

Arthur said he was disappointed letting those two tries in the last 10 minutes, probably that right side defence again. Hopefully it'll be better next week against the Warriors.

Well done guys. You tackled harder and ran harder and had the right attitude. 22-16 wasn't a fair reflection. 28-10 would have been about right.

We were the opposite.

We have quite a lot of players who aren't up to it.

Time for a cleanout. The recruitment is a shambles.

You've got a goodun coming next season too In Evans.

I hope you guys can sneak into the 8 this season.

I have cousins and an uncle who love Parra so you guys are ok.

Cheers mate. I've had a soft spot for Souths since I had a girlfriend who followed them back in the early 90s. In '94 I went to as many Souths games as Parra games.

84 Baby

Well done guys. You tackled harder and ran harder and had the right attitude. 22-16 wasn't a fair reflection. 28-10 would have been about right.

We were the opposite.

We have quite a lot of players who aren't up to it.

Time for a cleanout. The recruitment is a shambles.

You've got a goodun coming next season too In Evans.

I hope you guys can sneak into the 8 this season.

I have cousins and an uncle who love Parra so you guys are ok.
Piss off. 73 to nil would have been a fairer reflection. To you guys