Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 14 vs Sea Eagles

True_Believer

Good points Dennis....personally I am gutted....its like a nightmare that never ends....i am really starting to lose my love for the game....after last weeks win ( I still wasn't confident today ...basically Dogs beat themselves with unforced errors )....

Just cannot see how anything will change....someone on the board needs to stand up and say enough is enough....we have made a significant error....do the right thing and start looking outside the club for the best coach available to fix this mess....it will take years to undo the damage from the current staff....

Sad part is we all know it is very unlikely to happen.

I will not go to another game or buy any merchandise until significant change happens....and by then I may have totally lost interest.
The old boys don't want anything to change. They are happy and confortable in the high paid roles and have no accountability for their decisions/actions.

Slippery Morris

The Bronco's Semi final win was the best Dragons performance. This was up there as one of the worst. The Dogs flogging Saints last year just beat it if not for the opening 20 mins yesterday.

Players looked like they had no care factor once McInness came off. Saints have real issues which stood out like dogs balls. Blaming injuries and JDB does not cut it as they still had 2 gun halves and 3 guys who are playing in Origin (4 if you count Corey Norman who is in the squad as back up for Qld). The backs had a chance to make a stance against a team that has backs of similar skill level if not for Tafua who has some more experience and failed miserably, They should be embarrassed.

And to think Garrick totally outplayed the 3 that Saints bought in Rava, Perason and Maranta. All Mary had to do was put Garrick on the wing and keep the dollars wasted on those 3 on couple of backrowers. Before you start blaming Millward I am sure Mary would have had a hand in the decision not to keep Garrick. How bad is Maranta.......wow. Aitken was our most experienced back yesterday, how scary is that. Rava, Pearson and Maranta out next game and hopefully Periera, Saab and hopefully Lafai back next game. Those 3 backs yesterday, blew their chances big time yesterday. Mary was seething apparently, we will see how much next game.

The Bronco's Semi final win was the best Dragons performance. This was up there as one of the worst. The Dogs flogging Saints last year just beat it if not for the opening 20 mins yesterday.

Players looked like they had no care factor once McInness came off. Saints have real issues which stood out like dogs balls. Blaming injuries and JDB does not cut it as they still had 2 gun halves and 3 guys who are playing in Origin (4 if you count Corey Norman who is in the squad as back up for Qld). The backs had a chance to make a stance against a team that has backs of similar skill level if not for Tafua who has some more experience and failed miserably, They should be embarrassed.

And to think Garrick totally outplayed the 3 that Saints bought in Rava, Perason and Maranta. All Mary had to do was put Garrick on the wing and keep the dollars wasted on those 3 on couple of backrowers. Before you start blaming Millward I am sure Mary would have had a hand in the decision not to keep Garrick. How bad is Maranta.......wow. Aitken was our most experienced back yesterday, how scary is that. Rava, Pearson and Maranta out next game and hopefully Periera, Saab and hopefully Lafai back next game. Those 3 backs yesterday, blew their chances big time yesterday. Mary was seething apparently, we will see how much next game.
Seething about what exactly?
Maranta hadn't played FG for nearly 3 years!!
What did McGregor expect against the likes of Walker and Suli who is a monster.
I think Maranta played to his ability but the selection was flawed.

BLM01

McGregor uses a calculator that suits him...always.
"Two wins outside the 8", "If we keep winning, we'll be a top 4 side" and so on.
A serious FG coach would not be saying such rubbish.
The only calculation of any consequence is his win/loss record since his contract extension - 1and 6.
I am only surprised at how bad it is..\

If he accepts the status quo then he should resign in protest.
Just a minor correction it is 2 out of 8 his record since the announcement (done after Round 5). Lucky final minutes win against Manly and of course the easybeats in the comp ATM

BBTB

Ge
I think Field is a waste on the bench because he’s only going to get token minutes.
Probably Luc for him.
Lawrie looks better used as a prop, I don’t want to see him in 13 again.
Robson stays.
L plate will stick with Lats.
Get Latimore OUT of our team, he's a log.

:) Cheers and Mary too looks better..or does it...1 from 6 or 2 from 8. I'll let you judge that one
2 from 8 (25% win ratio) makes him look a whole lot better than 1from 6 (16.7% win ratio).
But he and the Board would be thinking.
"If we can win the next 4 on the trot, our win ration will be back up to 50% which is enough to keep the charade up"

BLM01

2 from 8 (25% win ratio) makes him look a whole lot better than 1from 6 (16.7% win ratio).
But he and the Board would be thinking.
"If we can win the next 4 on the trot, our win ration will be back up to 50% which is enough to keep the charade up"
Wont happen...that 4 in a row thing

If we accept that Mary had a hand in the decision to let Garrick go, does this mean Millward did not have a hand or two in that decision.

True_Believer

Are you referring to previous post about Garrick?
I was being truthful.
Garrick had a great game yesterday - didn't he?
Give what up mate?

He did. However you make a point about Rav struggling against a top 8 side and then throw in Garrick having a great game against us. Hell, my footy career is far from illustrious but I reckon I could have even played well against the Dragons yesterday. They were diabolical. Gitano could even have scored a couple of tries!!!

I just can't help but feel that you want to continually bring up Garrick as loss to the club. I just don't see it and the stats support that. And not to mention competition for the spot at Manly is almost no existent.

Carlton

I thought Rav played well yesterday and is improving every week. The wingers didn't lose that game, it was lost in the middle.

Saints have got to be the worst team in the comp at controlling the ruck. The number of times yesterday tacklers fell off to the side and were not in position to be markers was ridiculous. Also, three tacklers and we couldn't wrap up the ball. Makes you wonder what they are practising at training, no point in thinking about defensive patterns if they cant perform the basics of defence.

Lawrie tries but he is ineffective and Leilua doesn't seem to be making an effort, McInness is invaluable to the team and his defensive numbers are unbelievable but the real value of his defence is that its relentless and all quality.

True_Believer

I thought Rav played well yesterday and is improving every week. The wingers didn't lose that game, it was lost in the middle.

Saints have got to be the worst team in the comp at controlling the ruck. The number of times yesterday tacklers fell off to the side and were not in position to be markers was ridiculous. Also, three tacklers and we couldn't wrap up the ball. Makes you wonder what they are practising at training, no point in thinking about defensive patterns if they cant perform the basics of defence.

Lawrie tries but he is ineffective and Leilua doesn't seem to be making an effort, McInness is invaluable to the team and his defensive numbers are unbelievable but the real value of his defence is that its relentless and all quality.

This is it. The second paragraph is something I have been saying for a couple of years now. We see it every game. Players laying in the ruck while they play the ball, players running back on side while they play the ball, players not square at marker when they play the ball - I could go on and on. We don't control it and as a result we don't have players in position ready for the next play. It's so f**king obvious I just don't know why we haven't done something about it.

We seem to be on the ball for the first 20 - we are getting players in tackles and controlling it enough to let the team set. After 20 we start to slow down and start having players falling off tackles, players laying to the side of play the balls and so on. The loss of McInnes really highlighted that he is the key to keeping us in the game for longer. But he struggles to do it for the full 80 (which he shouldn't be expected to). And that's not suggesting he needs to be replaced, I'm suggesting we need more players with that defensive mindset in the middle. We just don't have it. It's like the rest of the team depend on McInnes to do all that work in the middle. Without JDB who also shared some of that responsibility, he just doesn't have the stamina to keep it up.

TLDR: Our ruck defense and control is shit and has been for years.

blacksafake

This is it. The second paragraph is something I have been saying for a couple of years now. We see it every game. Players laying in the ruck while they play the ball, players running back on side while they play the ball, players not square at marker when they play the ball - I could go on and on. We don't control it and as a result we don't have players in position ready for the next play. It's so f**king obvious I just don't know why we haven't done something about it.

We seem to be on the ball for the first 20 - we are getting players in tackles and controlling it enough to let the team set. After 20 we start to slow down and start having players falling off tackles, players laying to the side of play the balls and so on. The loss of McInnes really highlighted that he is the key to keeping us in the game for longer. But he struggles to do it for the full 80 (which he shouldn't be expected to). And that's not suggesting he needs to be replaced, I'm suggesting we need more players with that defensive mindset in the middle. We just don't have it. It's like the rest of the team depend on McInnes to do all that work in the middle. Without JDB who also shared some of that responsibility, he just doesn't have the stamina to keep it up.

TLDR: Our ruck defense and control is shit and has been for years.
100% Spot on TB.
The wrestle, whether we like it or not is a huge part of the game these days & normally decides who wins.Our record in winning the wrestle is so poor, which reflects in our results.The power game we employ doesn't help matters when the forwards start to tire or carry injuries.As soon as the opposition go up a gear we are left floundering with yesterday being a prime example.