Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 15 - Dragons vs Rabbitohs: Saturday 10th June 3pm @Netstrata Jubilee Stadium

Wizardman

Ughhh man, I've only just calmed down enough to post. So friggin disappointed with that performance, so disappointed. Fuming at the boys. Firstly, I know we were missing five of our best, I know we only lost by six in the end, I know the comeback and never say die attitude right at the end was amazing; However, I simply cannot be proud of that performance.

We didn't lose that on skill or talent, we didn't lose because the Dragons are better than us overall, we didn't lose because our depth is poor; We lost because they boys simply didn't want it enough. That's what it all comes down to for me. We lost the effort areas.

I can't be proud when probably about 70 minutes of the game was awful effort and desire in defence. That's where it all was, all defence. Weak as piss defence to be honest. The Dragons first try just sums it all up, that's probably our worst defensive effort of the Season in that play. Disgusting. There were other tries the Dragons scored to Liddle, Su'A and Molo that were also incredibly soft. No defensive steel shown by our boys in any of those plays. A shocking effort. On top of all that, I lost count of how many times the Dragons had a 60 meter-plus set. Disgraceful line speed, disgraceful first contact for much of the game right across the board.

Say what you like about our attack, but this game this arvo was lost on our effort areas in defence, simple as that. yea, we had five of our best missing and they would have made a real difference but having players missing doesn't stop you from putting in an effort and showing some desire. If anything, I thought the boys would be extremely fired up today because of those missing players but it was the complete opposite.

So disappointed in the boys, filthy at them. I cannot be proud of that game despite the missing players and the comeback. This is yet another game that we could have won but we were beaten between the ears. Very concerning.

I'm going to now officially declare that we're in a slump. Three losses in four weeks, all against sides lower than us on the ladder. All of them lost on effort areas in my opinion. It's extremely concerning. What the heck has happened to the side we saw in the first 11 weeks?! I can't believe what has happened.

Sorry to be harsh but I think some harsh truths have to be said after that. I am so angry, gutted and just downright disappointed tonight.
Take a chill pill!

This is the SOO period. NOBODY (not even Penrith) play their best footy around this time. It is such a disjointed time in that it is not the worst thing in the world to lose club guns to injury or a break during the next 5 weeks. I hate to say it....but most of your guns will somewhat be back by the end of origin and begin to fire on all cylinders.

You guys were on fire before the origin period. Nobody holds that form line for 26 rounds.

I think Souths are in a very good spot.

callmack1

Take a chill pill!

This is the SOO period. NOBODY (not even Penrith) play their best footy around this time. It is such a disjointed time in that it is not the worst thing in the world to lose club guns to injury or a break during the next 5 weeks. I hate to say it....but most of your guns will somewhat be back by the end of origin and begin to fire on all cylinders.

You guys were on fire before the origin period. Nobody holds that form line for 26 rounds.

Thanks mate, appreciate that. I'm just really frustrated, that's all. I get what you're saying but I believe we should be doing better than what we have been the past four weeks.

callmack1

callmack1

After watching the replay, here's my report. Once again, I don't have a lot of time this weekend so it won't be a full report but I'll still go over some thoughts.

Attack

We were always going to struggle in this game due to missing those five superstars, especially because three of them are so crucial to the potency of our attack. And struggle we did. I know we made that brilliant comeback in the last five minutes but before that, it was looking really dour on offence.

In terms of our yardage game, I actually thought that was fine. Most sets, we got a good roll on through the middle and got a decent kick away at the end, so there were no issues making ground with the ball.

The issue was scoring points when we got our chances and got down there, that seemed a real struggle which is to be expected, I guess. I'm talking about the 75 minutes before the comeback here by the way. Everything looked a lot slower, there was no real direction, we went the wrong way many times, and the general timing just looked way off. As a result, we failed to take advantage of a lot of the opportunities down there, which I feel we got our fair share, the boys just weren't good enough to take it which was disappointing. I'm not going to worry too much about it because of the guys we were missing, however, I do feel that we should have done better.

I'm also a bit disappointed with the game plan yesterday arvo. The boys were clearly, very clearly, more conservative. I know we play a conservative style coming out of our own end, but yesterday just seemed even more conservative than normal, even when attacking in their half. It proved to be pretty ineffective aside from making meters and I think it was a big reason for the loss. Look at the Dragons, they moved the ball and caused us a lot of issues, we should have been doing similar I feel. Maybe JD thought we didn't have the players to execute that style? I'm not sure, but I really think it would have been worth the risk. We died wondering for much of the game yesterday.

This point is proved even more when you consider the comeback. Finally, with five minutes to go, when the game is pretty much gone, the boys finally decided to play some Footy and move the ball around. Look what it did to the Dragons! They really struggled to handle it. Three quick-fire, brilliant tries, two of them starting from the kickoff, it was incredible!! But why not do that earlier while we're still in the game? Frustrating.

Defence

By far the most disappointing part of yesterday's game. It really was terrible. Despite our line up, I'm pretty embarrassed to concede 36 points to the bottom of the table and it's really poor, simply not good enough. I'll say it again, what the hell has happened to our defence?!!

General play defence again was super disappointing. The boys looked really tired as there was no real energy or effort shown in this area. A real lack of line speed as they'd take a few steps off the line, then just sit there and wait for the Dragons ball runner to come to them. Not good enough. Our first contact was pretty poor and for the fourth week in a row, at times, it looked like we really struggled to actually take the ball carrier to ground. Add on the fact that they looked completely clueless as to how to stop an offload, and it's easy to see why the Dragons had such a roll on at times. I lost count of how many times they had a 60-80 meter set. Very disappointing from our middles.

Then don't even get me started on the goal line defence, diabolical at times. Three very soft tries scored that simply shouldn't happen at this level.

I know we were missing five of our best but missing players doesn't make you put in a poor effort defensively. It doesn't stop you from getting your body in front of a ball runner.

Very, very concerning as we went from the second-best defensive team in the comp, to conceding 26 points or more in the past four weeks.

Player by Player/Players of Interest

Taaffe: After being happy with him last week, I reckon he had a pretty average game yesterday. Not really bad by any stretch, just average, and we need more than that from our fullback with our style of play. Showed plenty of enthusiasm, as he always does, but once again failed to really do anything with it. Didn't pose a real threat at all more often than not. He did have a hand in the break for our second to last try, but that was about it. This might be a little harsh, but I think our attack struggled at times somewhat because of him. Many times, he'd get the ball and fail to do anything with it. Fail to set up the guy outside him, fail to beat a tackle, fail to pose a threat. Often, he just died with the ball. on tip of this, his goal kicking was woeful and while we can't blame him for the loss, had he kicked a few more goals, we could all be feeling very different today.

Tass: Individually, I reckon he' been one of our best the last couple of weeks but he went from that, to being one of our worst yesterday. His carries out of our own end were fine and he scored a good try, but the rest of his game wasn't great at all. Allowed Sloan to get on the outside of him for the Dragons second try (partially Hawkins' fault) and then came up with those two awful moments in the second half which really cost us. Firstly, that escort penalty, which was just so silly, no unnecessary and put us under massive pressure, then in the next set he leaves the defensive line, rushes up on no one, and leaves Hawkins all on his own to try and stop Su'A from strolling through the massive gap he just caused. Two really poor moments. He also had a poor moment right at the death in the second to last play before Havili knocked on. We shift to the left and have an overlap, Tassy has Jed and AJ outside him in open space, yet he decides to take the tackle? God, that pissed me off. I'm not saying we would have won if he passes but who knows what might have happened?

Graham: Pretty good! Certainly one of our better players, with the ball anyway. His carries were enormous. Got us out of trouble a number of times and constantly poked his nose through the line. 11 runs for 148 meters, that's pretty damn impressive! Nice play from him to set up Kennar for our first try, and then that comeback was all him. It was basically 'just get the ball to Stretch' in that last five minutes. Three amazing plays! The first one for Lachy's try was particularly impressive, there wasn't much on, yet he just sliced straight through and set up Lachy perfectly. Then, minutes later he scored his own in similar fashion, just going straight through. So, his attack was great, but he did come up with some poor reads in defence. That first Dragons try was massively his fault. He jammed in and completely missed a smaller man; you don't see that often.

Kennar: I'm not going to say too much about Richie. I was in his corner last week, but I am certainly not this week. A really poor game. Yea, he scored a try and played his part in setting us up for Campbell's try but aside from that, he did some really poor stuff out there. A few really poor reads in defence, particularly that first Dragons try. It looked pathetic what he did when he rushed in. Two crucial errors too. I can't see how he keeps his spot for the Cowboys game, I have much more faith in Milne.

Our halves: Really disappointed in both our halves. Lachy was the better of the two, there's no doubt about that. really nice play from him for Richie's try. It was a great ball that got Stretch on the outside of Suli and forced the winger to come in which created the overlap. He was also pretty influential in our comeback with some big plays. But apart from this, he was pretty poor. Failed to manage the game and I still wouldn't say he really stood up and led the way like we all said he needed to. Hawkins isn't even really worth talking about, he did nothing really except miss tackles. Yea, he was probably playing out of position, but I expected a lot better.

Tatola: A mixed performance, some really good, some really bad. I mainly wanted to point out his effort on the Dragons first try though. Feagai falls to ground, and Junior just stands there and looks at him? What the heck?! That's one of the laziest efforts I've seen all year.

Cook: Pretty good. Not super outstanding, but pretty good. Stifled our attack a few times by going the wrong way or taking the wrong option, also had a really bad miss on Molo when he scored but he did look dangerous at times. The break before Tassy's try was just about his play of the Season and he almost came up with another big play earlier in the first half.

Koloamatangi: One of our best. he wasn't without his faults, a really poor and weak effort on Liddle when he scored but he was instrumental with the ball. Couldn't do much more to be honest. Some massive carries, huge runs, and a lot of them, 12 for 114 meters. Then, obviously his try was amazing.

In summary, Ughhhhh!!!!! I'm just so frustrated. I think I've said everything I needed to say in my post last night and this review. Missing those five players, while it certainly contributed, and we probably would have won if they all played, it's not an excuse.

Much needed bye, so much needed. We can rest up, work on some things, and reset.

It's an absolute must we get our Season back on track in the next game. We're still in a good position, but that will slip away quick if we keep putting in defensive efforts like this.

Glory, Glory.

Ta’affe: Didn’t offer much in attack tbh, his GK was off and when he dropped that bomb at 12-8 the momentum changed. In defence he was all at sea.

AJ: Was solid I don’t think he was bad he tried hard.

Campbell: A big off his game in workrate had a poor defensive miss in the first half that led to the Dragons first half. He looked tired to me and injured with that sternum. He had a big finish to the game. The bye comes at the right time for him.

Tass: Down on his usual workrate. The escort penalty was stupid from him and he had a couple of bad reads in defence.

Kennar: Thought he was poor had a few handling errors, gave a silly penalty away, looked all at sea in defence. He’s a poorer version of Milne. I’d bring Milne back when we are full strength Milne has shown he can do a job and has had some good games.

Hawkins: Ordinary in defence and with his reads. Ordinary with the ball did nothing when we had overlaps he took no advantage. He might as well not have played.

Ilias: Kicking game was solid, was trying to create, didn’t manage the game at all though like we needed I thought he wasn’t great in that aspect. He needed to run the ball more too but he didn’t take the line on. He was solid I guess but we needed a bit more on last tackle a few times I wanted him to put a grubber in but he just passed to someone to get tackled.

Tatola: Poor effort on that Dragons try he just stood and watched. Did take solid hit ups through for solid metres he tried hard.

Cook, I thought he was our best player gave good service overall. Made 51 tackles, ran the ball when he could made a couple of really big runs. Dived on a loose ball too defending our try line. I thought he led from the front. Did let in a soft try though in the second half that was poor from him.

Sele: Also let in a soft try. He was very good though making 15 runs for 155 metres very busy.

Host: Very poor workrate well done 3 hit ups I think, lazy in defence as well some poor reads.

Chee Kam: Piss poor effort in lead up to Dragons first try. Gave an uncecessary 6th tackle penalty with a stupid lifting of the legs tackle. His worst game of the season.

Keaon: Gave it his best mainly playing middle. Made some very strong runs defended solidly but got caught out a couple of times in defence and let a try in. Scored a nice try. We much rather him on an edge but even in the middle I thought he was one of our best.

Jed: Not much to say didn’t notice him much.

Shaq: Played limited mins but made some good metres tried hard.

DSF: A bit off the pace with his hit ups. Gave a couple of silly penalties away too.

Havili: What a strong first game back he added impact I felt. I thought he was rusty and a bit off the pace as expected but his carries were strong and some good offloads. Welcome back Liva we have missed you mate.

All in all I’m most disappointed in desire and attitude we lost on those two things yesterday the Dragons wanted it more than us. At times we looked disinterested. I don’t care how many guys we had out we still need to turn up with a good attitude and work hard and we still had a team that shouldn’t have leaked 36 points, we showed no defensive resolve at all we were soft.

Biggest work on for us is our defence we need to find it again. The bye will be good but we need a change in attitude as well.

Steenson123

Not at all.
Take a chill pill!

10-5 would have been comfortable. Losing to IRRELEVANT dopes like St George is simply not good enough irrespective of the absentees. The OTHERS/BACK-UPS should have shown much more emergency and intensity but they failed.

Steenson123

And one of th
Well I’m proud of the effort that the side put in never say die I went to game not expecting to win only hoping they would with the players sitting in the stands to blame certain players for different things in that game is nonsense they had a red hot crack against a nearly full strength dragons they had a big crowd cause they knew we were under strength give them 20 start next game
And one of those sitting was the Captain and leader. Yet on ABC Radio shortly prior to kick-off guess what? They [Mick Karyannis?] stated that "I spoke to Murray... he told me he ran ok this morning and he will test run for BRAD ON MONDAY". So preference is for BRAD and NOT the club!!! F.... OFF!!!
What type of message does this end to the OTHER critical personnel Burgess, Mitchell, Walker et al??? Ok you have a rest too. Get on the Banana Chair whilst the team plummets.
Demetriou has allowed the PLAYERS to run the squad and it has backfired to the poing where it could all collapse. I mean do you believe Bennett would allow Burgess to take 6-7 weeks off, Mitchell over a month and also allow the other key players to rest as well with THREE BYES Up coming??? NO!!! Rest some of them for two weeks during the BYE do NOT allow them disappear mid-season the Table is simply too congested. And, Graham he needed weeks off NOT Mitchell and BURGESS!!!!

Thumper

Not at all.

10-5 would have been comfortable. Losing to IRRELEVANT dopes like St George is simply not good enough irrespective of the absentees. The OTHERS/BACK-UPS should have shown much more emergency and intensity but they failed.
It’s not just any players missing.
cody- form half in the league.
cam- best lock in the league.
trell- top 3 players in the league.
Jai- origin forward
Tom- best metre eater in our side.

take that talent out if any side and they will struggle.
They can’t be flying for 27 rounds then finals. It doesn’t happen.
accept the dip being mid year.
they regroup and go again.

Thumper

And one of th

And one of those sitting was the Captain and leader. Yet on ABC Radio shortly prior to kick-off guess what? They [Mick Karyannis?] stated that "I spoke to Murray... he told me he ran ok this morning and he will test run for BRAD ON MONDAY". So preference is for BRAD and NOT the club!!! F.... OFF!!!
What type of message does this end to the OTHER critical personnel Burgess, Mitchell, Walker et al??? Ok you have a rest too. Get on the Banana Chair whilst the team plummets.
Demetriou has allowed the PLAYERS to run the squad and it has backfired to the poing where it could all collapse. I mean do you believe Bennett would allow Burgess to take 6-7 weeks off, Mitchell over a month and also allow the other key players to rest as well with THREE BYES Up coming??? NO!!! Rest some of them for two weeks during the BYE do NOT allow them disappear mid-season the Table is simply too congested. And, Graham he needed weeks off NOT Mitchell and BURGESS!!!!
Calm down champ.
why take the risk with any of them in round 15. Finals footy I’m sure they would have played. Not worth the risk.
whoever told you Tom is “resting” is a clown. You’re a bigger clown for believing him.

Steenson123

Well C
Who gives a flying %%%% about SOO.
I care about state of origin.
Well Captain Murray, he is infatuated with Brad and his garbage. Could not play Saturday BUT saving himself to run for... BRAD on Monday!!!
This is going to sink the team there will be scraps left when all these dudes return to the field. It will already be futility.

Steenson123

Attention.
Calm down champ.
why take the risk with any of them in round 15. Finals footy I’m sure they would have played. Not worth the risk.
whoever told you Tom is “resting” is a clown. You’re a bigger clown for believing him.
Whenever Tom's "injury" is discussed its a murky response by both coach and Jounalists. In the dark. Similar for Mitchell and Walker. Too little comment. Graham has needed the spell much more he is physically knackered. And what about the Captain prioritising ...BRAD??? Any more of this and I will offload what seemed promising futures tickets into Space!!

Steenson123

It’s not just any players missing.
cody- form half in the league.
cam- best lock in the league.
trell- top 3 players in the league.
Jai- origin forward
Tom- best metre eater in our side.

take that talent out if any side and they will struggle.
They can’t be flying for 27 rounds then finals. It doesn’t happen.
accept the dip being mid year.
they regroup and go again.
Lets see if this "go again" ever happens. I am dubious the squad appears to have hibernated mid-term BUT they have three Byes upcoming. Players who need resting, rest then there are not many contests remaining!!!