Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 16 - Eels vs Rabbitohs: Thursday 27th August 7:50pm @Bankwest Stadium

callmack1

Time to shift focus and look forward towards Parra on Thursday night at Bankwest. For different reasons to last week, this is another massive game for us. We go up against a top four side and an already established Premiership contender. This week will be a real test but it's a chance to prove our Premiership credentials. Last week was a statement and this week is a chance to put an exclamation mark on it. This game will really show us where we are at and I hope the boys are up to the challenge.

We all know that the Eels are an extremely quality side. They're in the top four and fighting for a minor Premiership for a reason so Thursday night is certainly a tough game and a big challenge for us. Yes, Parra are lacking a bit of zing in their attack at the moment but we can't just expect that to continue this week as the Eels will want to turn it around and be much better against us. In saying that, their defence is still as good as ever and holding the Storm to nil last week is no mean feat so our attack will have to be brilliant again if we're going to crack them. I feel like I say this every week but once again, the forward pack is the key. Their pack is exceptional and stopping the likes of Campbell-Gillard, Paulo, Matterson and Nathan Brown is not going to be easy but it's an area we must focus on to nullify their impact. Our farwards really stood up last Round and we need to maintain that rage for this one. They have a star-studded backline with strike across the park and you only have to rattle off the names Gutherson, Sivo, Jennings, Blake, Ferguson, Moses, Brown, to realise that we'll certainly have our hands full out wide on Thursday night. That's why the forward battle is key because we want to limit their go forward so that their backs have less space to work in. That is certainly easier said than done.

For us, we'll take a lot of confidence out of last Round and I'm really hoping that performance is a big shot in the arm heading into these tough next two weeks. We'll find out this week where we are at. In this game, we simply must back up that performance if we want to be any chance of defeating a side like Parra. As I said, the forward battle will be key, as will our completion rate. That needs to be high once again to give ourselves a chance. I'd like to see us back up that attacking performance and hopefully the defence is on song too, it'll need to be. We should hopefully get some guys back this week which will be a boost. I'm hoping all of Gags, AJ, Knight and Sele all can return because we'll need them.

So yea, another really big game this week. It's a short turnaround so we need to get that right and ensure we're ready to go on Thursday night. I know we can do this!!

NovoBunny94

Time to shift focus and look forward towards Parra on Thursday night at Bankwest. For different reasons to last week, this is another massive game for us. We go up against a top four side and an already established Premiership contender. This week will be a real test but it's a chance to prove our Premiership credentials. Last week was a statement and this week is a chance to put an exclamation mark on it. This game will really show us where we are at and I hope the boys are up to the challenge.

We all know that the Eels are an extremely quality side. They're in the top four and fighting for a minor Premiership for a reason so Thursday night is certainly a tough game and a big challenge for us. Yes, Parra are lacking a bit of zing in their attack at the moment but we can't just expect that to continue this week as the Eels will want to turn it around and be much better against us. In saying that, their defence is still as good as ever and holding the Storm to nil last week is no mean feat so our attack will have to be brilliant again if we're going to crack them. I feel like I say this every week but once again, the forward pack is the key. Their pack is exceptional and stopping the likes of Campbell-Gillard, Paulo, Matterson and Nathan Brown is not going to be easy but it's an area we must focus on to nullify their impact. Our farwards really stood up last Round and we need to maintain that rage for this one. They have a star-studded backline with strike across the park and you only have to rattle off the names Gutherson, Sivo, Jennings, Blake, Ferguson, Moses, Brown, to realise that we'll certainly have our hands full out wide on Thursday night. That's why the forward battle is key because we want to limit their go forward so that their backs have less space to work in. That is certainly easier said than done.

For us, we'll take a lot of confidence out of last Round and I'm really hoping that performance is a big shot in the arm heading into these tough next two weeks. We'll find out this week where we are at. In this game, we simply must back up that performance if we want to be any chance of defeating a side like Parra. As I said, the forward battle will be key, as will our completion rate. That needs to be high once again to give ourselves a chance. I'd like to see us back up that attacking performance and hopefully the defence is on song too, it'll need to be. We should hopefully get some guys back this week which will be a boost. I'm hoping all of Gags, AJ, Knight and Sele all can return because we'll need them.

So yea, another really big game this week. It's a short turnaround so we need to get that right and ensure we're ready to go on Thursday night. I know we can do this!!

We need to contain Nathan Brown. That guy is a unit, I'm sure we could have kept him. Hes a weapon now lol

BotanyBorn&Bred

Also I believe the powers that be will help the Eels win this one, even if we are on top.. seems its the West Sydney teams turn to be top dog this year lol
yeah I feel the post COVID draw was definitely designed to get these two in the GF. Theyve had a pretty easy run, I dont think either has to play Melbourne, Canberra, Roosters or us twice

callmack1

"If we do the simple things right, the rewards will come." - Cook: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/08/24/damien-cook-round-16-media/

"There's a good feeling amongst the boys." - Nicholls: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/08/24/mark-nicholls-round-16-media/

"We're going to really have to match it with them up front." - Tatola: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/08/24/junior-tatola-round-16-media/

From the Daily Telegraph,

Monday Buzz: South Sydney back in NRL premiership race after belting Manly

All year the Rabbitohs have been flying under the radar but their record-breaking win against Manly has put their rivals on notice that they are still a serious contender for this year’s title.

All season the Panthers, Roosters, Storm and Eels have dominated the back pages with the big and bold headlines. Souths have hardly rated a mention, apparently not in the same league.

Yet their performance against the Sea Eagles was near enough to perfect, completing 42 of 45 sets.

It was a wake-up call for the rest of the competition that there is another player in town.

Souths led 38-0 at half-time after the most spectacular 40 minutes of football dominance.

Sure Manly was dreadful but the Rabbitohs still capitalised.

Cook will be the key to the Rabbitohs’ chances for the rest of the year. When he runs the rest of the team follows and the Manly game was easily his best for the year.

His blinder coincided with all the talk about Penrith’s Api Koroisau gunning for his State of Origin jersey with the Blues.

The Rabbitohs have six players with State of Origin experience …. Mitchell, Dane Gagai, Walker, Reynolds, Cook and Cameron Murray.

Throw in Great Britain Test front-rower Tom Burgess and it’s great football side.

As Wayne Bennett says, it’s time we showed them more respect.

From Fox Sports,

RABBITOHS SPINE STARTING TO CLICK IN TIME FOR FINALS

It was always going to take time for the Rabbitohs to integrate Latrell Mitchell into their attacking system, especially as he was shifting to a ne new position in 2020.

However five weeks out from the finals and it appears Wayne Bennett’s one, six, seven and nine are blossoming into a cohesive attacking unit.

The Rabbitohs dominated the Sea Eagles in a 56-16 rout at ANZ Stadium and yet none of their key playmakers overplayed their hand.

Mitchell had a linebreak, three linebreak assists, three try assists and two tries in a brilliantly understated display at the back.

Damien Cook ran for 79 metres and had two linebreak assists and two try assists of his own, while Cody Walker was happy to facilitate and give his outside backs good clean early ball.

Skipper Adam Reynolds was crook all week, but managed to ice nine conversions from as many attempts, which epitomised the Rabbitohs approach with everyone doing their jobs.

The win moved the Rabbitohs to sixth on the ladder pending the result of the Knights clash with the Cowboys.

If the Rabbitohs forwards can hold their own in the finals then Souths have the attacking spine to mix it with any team in the competition and a second premiership in seven years is not beyond the realms of possibility.

callmack1

Here's my predicted Line Up for Round 16,

1. Mitchell
2. Johnston
3. Graham
4. Gagai
5. Paulo
6. Walker
7. Reynolds (C)
8. Tatola
9. Cook
10. Burgess
11. Su'A
12. Murray
13. Knight

14. Nicholls
15. Sironen
16. Mago
17. Koloamatangi

This is how I think we may be named tomorrow night but if I'm right, it'll probably change before kick off. Obviously AJ and Gags are in some doubt, especially with the five day turnaround but I think they'll both be named and given up until Thursday to prove their fitness. If either one of them is out, Marsters would most likely take their spot. If both end up being ruled out then we'd see something similar to what we had last Saturday with Allan coming in onto the wing.

In regards to the pack, I think Knight will slot straight back in at lock which will see Murray return to the edge and Sironen go to the bench.

callmack1

Benny proud of Bunnies

Paul Crawley

Wayne Bennett has bristled over the lack of recognition his injury-ravaged squad is getting in the countdown to Thursday’s huge clash against Parramatta, saying it’s time to “give South Sydney a bit of credit”.

In the wake of a recordbreaking 56-16 demolition of Manly, Bennett opened up about how proud he was to see his team overcome having eight players unavailable — and then losing Alex Johnston to concussion in the first half.

While this season’s soaring injury rate has been the talk of the game in recent weeks, there hasn’t been much mention of the Rabbitohs’ problems.

Not that Bennett was looking for excuses after Souths still managed to rack up 38 firsthalf points against Manly, the most in the foundation club’s history, while the thumping win was also their biggest ever against their fierce rivals.

Now it looks like the Rabbitohs will be without Johnston and Dane Gagai (hamstring) when they take on the Eels. Others not available on the weekend included James Roberts (pectoral), Tom Amone (knee), Ethan Lowe (neck), Braidon Burns (knee), Liam Knight (suspension), Hame Sele (shoulder) and Jack Johns (dislocated finger).

Bennett made no attempt to hide how proud he was after going back over the game on Sunday morning, not just with the overall performance but the attitude to overcome adversity.

“A number of clubs at the moment are struggling with injuries and that’s fair enough,” Bennett said. “But we had nine missing. Give South Sydney a bit of credit.

“No one mentions us … we’re pulling together.”

Johnston is little chance of playing against the Eels after he copped a heavy hit off young Manly fullback Tevita Funa as the flying winger touched down for his second try in the first half.

Given the short turnaround, Corey Allan will probably get a call-up for Johnston, while young Stephen Marsters will keep his spot if Gagai isn’t right to go. Bennett hadn’t told Marsters he’d be playing until Saturday morning when he called him directly. “I did that deliberately,” Bennett said of the late call. “I didn’t want to tell him (earlier) because they worry about it too much. “So I rang him Saturday morning at 10. I just told him he’d be playing first grade.” “He teared up, I told him not to be late.” Bennett was just as happy for skipper Adam Reynolds who put on one of the great goalkicking performances.

“If we have ever seen a better display of goalkicking I’d like to know when and where,” Bennett said. “Those first six kicks were right on the sideline and every one of them went the same direction, starting outside the goalposts and swinging back in.

“It just wasn’t luck. He knew exactly where he wanted it to go.”

Bennett rated the first half in particular as the best of any team he has coached in the modern era.

BotanyBorn&Bred

Benny proud of Bunnies

Paul Crawley

Wayne Bennett has bristled over the lack of recognition his injury-ravaged squad is getting in the countdown to Thursday’s huge clash against Parramatta, saying it’s time to “give South Sydney a bit of credit”.

In the wake of a recordbreaking 56-16 demolition of Manly, Bennett opened up about how proud he was to see his team overcome having eight players unavailable — and then losing Alex Johnston to concussion in the first half.

While this season’s soaring injury rate has been the talk of the game in recent weeks, there hasn’t been much mention of the Rabbitohs’ problems.

Not that Bennett was looking for excuses after Souths still managed to rack up 38 firsthalf points against Manly, the most in the foundation club’s history, while the thumping win was also their biggest ever against their fierce rivals.

Now it looks like the Rabbitohs will be without Johnston and Dane Gagai (hamstring) when they take on the Eels. Others not available on the weekend included James Roberts (pectoral), Tom Amone (knee), Ethan Lowe (neck), Braidon Burns (knee), Liam Knight (suspension), Hame Sele (shoulder) and Jack Johns (dislocated finger).

Bennett made no attempt to hide how proud he was after going back over the game on Sunday morning, not just with the overall performance but the attitude to overcome adversity.

“A number of clubs at the moment are struggling with injuries and that’s fair enough,” Bennett said. “But we had nine missing. Give South Sydney a bit of credit.

“No one mentions us … we’re pulling together.”

Johnston is little chance of playing against the Eels after he copped a heavy hit off young Manly fullback Tevita Funa as the flying winger touched down for his second try in the first half.

Given the short turnaround, Corey Allan will probably get a call-up for Johnston, while young Stephen Marsters will keep his spot if Gagai isn’t right to go. Bennett hadn’t told Marsters he’d be playing until Saturday morning when he called him directly. “I did that deliberately,” Bennett said of the late call. “I didn’t want to tell him (earlier) because they worry about it too much. “So I rang him Saturday morning at 10. I just told him he’d be playing first grade.” “He teared up, I told him not to be late.” Bennett was just as happy for skipper Adam Reynolds who put on one of the great goalkicking performances.

“If we have ever seen a better display of goalkicking I’d like to know when and where,” Bennett said. “Those first six kicks were right on the sideline and every one of them went the same direction, starting outside the goalposts and swinging back in.

“It just wasn’t luck. He knew exactly where he wanted it to go.”

Bennett rated the first half in particular as the best of any team he has coached in the modern era.
Its better we don't get recognised and fly under the radar. Less pressure.
And unlike the last few years where we were struggling in the last few rounds of the season and then limping into the finals with our form way down, this time around we seem to be building and getting better. Time will tell though because there is still a month of footy before the finals start.

Having said that, footytab has Parra @ $1.45 and us @ $2.75. Might be good value bet for us.

I reckon AJ will play but Gagai won’t.

I think we can match Parra in the forwards, it’s in the backs I’m a bit concerned about with the few injuries we have.

This is gonna be a cracker and will show us where we are at.

Geez I hope the boys are up for it, we need to be right switched on from kick off.

callmack1

Round 16 Line Up vs Eels: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/08/25/round-16-line-up-vs-eels/

Pretty happy with that considering a few of the injuries we have. Pretty solid side! AJ is confirmed out with Allan stepping up to take his spot. Good to see Gags named but that could change before kick off. Also there is no re-jig of the forward pack due to Knight's return but I'm happy with that. Our starting pack remains the same with Knighty to come on from the bench. Still no Sele, no idea what's going on there.

But yea, good Line Up!

Inkers75

Tough game ahead against a good Eels team. If Bunnies play like they did against Manly then they have a great opportunity to beat them. I'm going for a close game with maybe 2 tries the difference.

Travitoh

Marsters a bit hard done by, showed more last week i thought than Allan has in 24 months.

I'm not sold on Parra as a contender. Good team but i don't believe they've got the fight in them when their backs are against the wall. If they start strong though it could be a long night.

CAFPOW

Marsters a bit hard done by, showed more last week i thought than Allan has in 24 months.

I'm not sold on Parra as a contender. Good team but i don't believe they've got the fight in them when their backs are against the wall. If they start strong though it could be a long night.

I think Benny picked Allan for speed?.

callmack1

Coaches Media - Round 16: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/08/26/wayne-bennett-media-round-16/

Another classic media session from Wayne! Haha.

So Gags has been ruled out as we take a precaution with his hammy. Good call but that's a massive blow for us heading into such a big game. Running out without Gags and AJ in a blockbuster game like this will make an already tough game a lot tougher but the boys coming in can do the job. I'm hoping that's the case tomorrow night and you only have to look at our game last week to see what we can do, even with a makeshift backline.

'Latrell thrives under pressure' - Souths boast NRL's strongest spine: https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/la...st-nrl-s-strongest-spine-20200825-p55p5a.html