Pommy
I reckon we're big favourites to win the flag as we are a genuine team---coach,players & the whole staff & footy community working closely together! We're SPECIALS!! Number 22 on the way!!
Win the flag?
I reckon we're big favourites to win the flag as we are a genuine team---coach,players & the whole staff & footy community working closely together! We're SPECIALS!! Number 22 on the way!!
Just gotta keep our stars on the field now Doyen!I reckon we're big favourites to win the flag as we are a genuine team---coach,players & the whole staff & footy community working closely together! We're SPECIALS!! Number 22 on the way!!
Win the flag?
I've never heard the term 'flag' used outside of AFL. If anything i would say NRL clubs play for a ring.
It's definitely an AFL thing;the FLAG!
The Poms play Soccer for a CUP???
The individual players get a p/ship ring in RL---the teams over the years have held up a cup[Winfield Cup for eg] or a shield!?
What a wondrous time that was Itsa,callmack I would give anything to experience the joy of 2014 all over again,my wife gave me leave for 3 days with the instructions to behave myself.
From the GF I made it to the Juniors for celebrations throughout the morning and next day,then headed off to Redfern for greeting the team with the trophy then off to all the local watering holes to continue with celebrations.....what a great time it was!
Just hope my dreams turn into reality mate!
I think from research that from 1908 the P/ship trophy was--
"The Royal Agricultural Society Shield or RAS Shield;as it was called!
In 1934 it became the "Labor Daily Cup."
In 1951 it evolved to the "Giltinan Shield";as it is today!
But from 1982 to 1995 it was "The Winfield Cup."
In 1996 it was "The Optus Cup."
From 1997 until today it has returned to the "Giltinan Shield" named after the man who was one of the founding members in 1907-08.
Isn't it the Provan-Summons Trophy now?
I think you're right Trav.Isn't it the Provan-Summons Trophy now?
Actually according to wiki it was awarded to the premiers up until 1996, but from 1997 onwards it has been awarded to the Minor Premiers.I think you're right Trav.
I believe the JJ Giltinan Shield is awarded to the Minor Premiers.
This year will be the first time we've won it since 1989.
True mate, that was a very special day.Stan your the man,absolutely awesome mate just raw emotion.
Stan the moment that ment so much to me was being on beloved turf at Redfern where I have so many childhood memories.
To see so many boys and girls on their parents shoulders singing our beloved Glory Glory,I knew our future would be strong and a new generation of Bunny Supporters would lead us through the years,I'm starting to tear up mate it was such a emotional time.
God I love our club!!!!!!
Actually according to wiki it was awarded to the premiers up until 1996, but from 1997 onwards it has been awarded to the Minor Premiers.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/J._J._Giltinan_Shield
True mate, that was a very special day.
The only sad part of it for me was the fact that Merro wasn't there.
He is such a legend of our club and played a huge part in our re-emergence as a Premiership contender. It just didn't sit right that he wasn't there celebrating with us.
f**k Daley for breaking him. He never recovered from that SOO debacle.
It's a funny game Stan,NateDog missed out and Kirisome and Lote picked up rings.....go figure?True mate, that was a very special day.
He is such a legend of our club and played a huge part in our re-emergence as a Premiership contender. It just didn't sit right that he wasn't there celebrating with us.
Love it bro and I couldn't agree more!! It is the best feeling, I just couldn't control my emotions that night and there were pleanty of tears of absoulute joy! I was celebrating for months afterwards!!callmack I would give anything to experience the joy of 2014 all over again,my wife gave me leave for 3 days with the instructions to behave myself.
From the GF I made it to the Juniors for celebrations throughout the morning and next day,then headed off to Redfern for greeting the team with the trophy then off to all the local watering holes to continue with celebrations.....what a great time it was!
Just hope my dreams turn into reality mate!
Great post mate!!! Great stroy and that video is crack up haha.What a wondrous time that was Itsa,
If 2012-2014 hadn't of happened I'd probably have my house paid off by now. But it was all worth it for that magical Sunday in October 2014.
I bought 4 Platinum tickets to the GF three years in a row as soon as they went on sale. I couldn't bring myself to attend in 2012 and 2013, and couldn't sell them for anywhere near what I paid, so there was close to $3000 down the drain. I hit a roo driving down for the Canberra semi in 2012 and almost wrote off my ute. Had to borrow a mates car and got to the game anyway. I remember having a ciggie at halftime in the smoking area at ANZ in the Prelim against the Bulldogs. I was talking to a couple of young Bunnies fans who were still optimistic about our chances, but I had a hollow feeling in my gut, knowing that with Reyno out we were done.
In 2013 I came down for the Qualifier against Melbourne, but decided to skip the Prelim against Manly as I was very confident of the win. I remember ringing my old man at halftime from the pub I was watching the game. We agreed that he could shout the accommodation as I'd got the tickets. How wrong we were. I was absolutely gutted. I woke up the next day sick as a dog and it took me 6 weeks to get over it. I honestly believe the main cause was my devastation. I even tried unsuccessfully to claim insurance on the tickets to no avail.
Then came 2014, I flew down for the Manly game and drove down for the Roosters. I went to both games with Manly and Roosters mates and was absolutely living the dream. I flew down to Sydney for the GF and went to the game with 3 Doggies friends from my home town, did a pub crawl through Redfern before catching a train to the game.
After the game I got the train and joined the street party in Redfern until the early hours of the morning, it was magical. After a couple of hours sleep I backed up at Redfern Oval to see the boys with the trophy and lined up for hours for merchandise. We may have even crossed paths.
After this I headed to the Woolpack Hotel for a few beers. The atmosphere was so awesome, just unbridled joy everywhere. I even shouted a beer and had a good yarn with the big guy with the beard that they often show on tele at our games. I think it was Channel 9 that had a camera crew there and were having a live cross to us on the 6pm news. I texted a heap of friends and family to make sure they were watching. There was a heap of us that rushed the camera when they crossed and within 30 seconds my phone went red hot. Texts like "It was pretty hard to watch you, when the guy behind you was waving his c**k around". I had no idea but one excited punter had pulled his c**k out and waved it around. Anyway, the cops shut the pub down within about 15 mins, which was a complete overreaction.
Anyway, it made the moment more memorable and has now been viewed more than half a million times on youtube.
I'm the fat dude with the black shirt with the white rabbit on it, next to the pot plant on the far left of picture. I sometimes watch this when I need a laugh.
What an amazing time that was.
Cheers Stan.
True mate, that was a very special day.