Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 18 v Broncos

Munky

I think tonight showed the value of having a 14 on the bench as insurance for an injury in the backs. Again, Ivan proves the doubters wrong.

Weirdly Kevvie didn't put his nepo baby in the halves when Madden went off despite having another hooker on the bench.

I did enjoy watching Walsh derp it up in the second half at first receiver.

Such bizarre coaching from the other side in a similar situation.

Iamback

WTF are you talking about?

Cole: very good game, scored a try with his first touch. Solid in defence.
Smith: very good game, laid on a crucial try assist and threatened the line. Made 30 tackles.
Henry: good game, looked threatening. Made 28 tackles.
Eisenhuth: was fine in limited minutes.

Also not forgetting you ragging on Kenny for seemingly no reason, then he scores the game winning try.

Cole - Doesn't get on the field if Laurie doesn't get hurt. The 14 is barely used this year. The one week he got used.

When/If we tactically use the 14 then I will count it in my bench assessment

notice how you only listed their defensive effort and not the other side of the ball? Isn't that what a plodder is?

Fish had more hitups, Run metres then the 3 bench props combined. And only missed a tackle. Fish also threw the cut out pass for our 1st try

Smith for example for the year has 5 offloads, 5 tackle breaks.

Kenny has 4 career tries in 93 games. 3 of them against the Broncos.

So while you are right all had good moments tonight, It needs to be backed up again more regularly to be bench impact guys.

The pack as a whole often steps up in big games

Girds89

All the ppl hating on tago again...

Yes he had a bad read which lead to a try. Of walsh albeit who is probably the most lethal ball runner in the game.

Other than that i thought he was really solid. Nothing amazing but he seemed to be better tonight. I thought him and Alamonti combined well in defence for the most part and showed the sideline well all night.

To only concede 6 points in a brutally tough game in brissie when they were massively up for it.... walsh back firing on all cylinders is pretty damn good.

Lets not forget walsh is a left side attack specialist.. him an mam love sweeping plays on the left. Walsh is deadly at origin level.

So i thought other then the one rush by tago that side as a whole did really admirable against a left broncos edge which can be lethal with mam and walsh.

Walsh generally doesnt go out the back to the right so cole didmt have to really do much one on one centre defence. Had one miss in his one on one there at the end but he was good otherwise..hes definitely a strong defender closer in to the middle. Makes me think more and more that 14 role is great for him next year.

So i thought there was huge positives out of tonight.

1. Luai continuing his great form

2. The effort and tenacity the boys showed. Looks like the fire is back. Havent seen that much commitment in ages.

3. Tago was much improved. Still plenty to work on to get back to his best but tonight was a small step and to keep brisbanes lethal left of walsh and mam to 6 points is impressive.

4. Alamonti was strong

5. Martin had his best game for us probably of the season

6. Fish is getting bacj to his best and leota looked fired up

7. Henry and smith are growing perfectly into there role. We dont lose much when they come on.

8. Kennys little runs and darts have been good this year and it was an important try tonight.

Overall i thought it wasnt clinical but our effort was A+. Hard to be too disappointed when you play the majority of the game with 16 and without nath garner etc.

Going into the bye i couldnt be happier about where we are sitting. Plenty to work on but we are looking on. Just need to get through origin 3 unscathed.

Yes he had a bad read which lead to a try. Of walsh albeit who is probably the most lethal ball runner in the game.

Other than that i thought he was really solid. Nothing amazing but he seemed to be better tonight. I thought him and Alamonti combined well in defence for the most part and showed the sideline well all night.

To only concede 6 points in a brutally tough game in brissie when they were massively up for it.... walsh back firing on all cylinders is pretty damn good.

Lets not forget walsh is a left side attack specialist.. him an mam love sweeping plays on the left. Walsh is deadly at origin level.

So i thought other then the one rush by tago that side as a whole did really admirable against a left broncos edge which can be lethal with mam and walsh.

Walsh generally doesnt go out the back to the right so cole didmt have to really do much one on one centre defence. Had one miss in his one on one there at the end but he was good otherwise..hes definitely a strong defender closer in to the middle. Makes me think more and more that 14 role is great for him next year.

2. The effort and tenacity the boys showed. Looks like the fire is back. Havent seen that much commitment in ages.

3. Tago was much improved. Still plenty to work on to get back to his best but tonight was a small step and to keep brisbanes lethal left of walsh and mam to 6 points is impressive.

4. Alamonti was strong

7. Henry and smith are growing perfectly into there role. We dont lose much when they come on.

8. Kennys little runs and darts have been good this year and it was an important try tonight.

Overall i thought it wasnt clinical but our effort was A+. Hard to be too disappointed when you play the majority of the game with 16 and without nath garner etc.

Going into the bye i couldnt be happier about where we are sitting. Plenty to work on but we are looking on. Just need to get through origin 3 unscathed.
Great comment. Lots to be positive about.

Schneider’s last plays let him down a bit, but his defence was excellent.

snickers007

Tago's first contact isn't good enough at the moment.

He's a very upright tackler, and just continually eats the palm. Makes him look like a shirt grabber. And when his opponent is already on his outside and palms him off, they either slice straight through, or they're on the off shoulder of the winger.

You say that they did well to keep them to 6, but are forgetting to mention that Oates was a few millimetres away from scoring in the first half, and Martin's last ditch effort in the second half.

On any other night, those 2 opportunities are iced, and he's conceded 3 tries (again).

I'm hesitant to compare him to Cole as there are so many factors in play, but just look at the difference in technique. Cole consistently gets under the arm, and doesn't get bumped off. And it makes a huge difference. Izack just needs to bend his back.

Yes, he looked much better in attack, especially with those early shifts. And there were no dumb penalties either. But I still want more.

Hopefully Tito being dropped is a wake-up call for everyone. And hopefully having Nathan back will provide some consistency on that edge. And hopefully he throws his smart phone in the Nepean and blocks his buddy YAM.

Girds89

He's a very upright tackler, and just continually eats the palm. Makes him look like a shirt grabber. And when his opponent is already on his outside and palms him off, they either slice straight through, or they're on the off shoulder of the winger.

You say that they did well to keep them to 6, but are forgetting to mention that Oates was a few millimetres away from scoring in the first half, and Martin's last ditch effort in the second half.

On any other night, those 2 opportunities are iced, and he's conceded 3 tries (again).

I'm hesitant to compare him to Cole as there are so many factors in play, but just look at the difference in technique. Cole consistently gets under the arm, and doesn't get bumped off. And it makes a huge difference. Izack just needs to bend his back.

Yes, he looked much better in attack, especially with those early shifts. And there were no dumb penalties either. But I still want more.

Hopefully Tito being dropped is a wake-up call for everyone. And hopefully having Nathan back will provide some consistency on that edge. And hopefully he throws his smart phone in the Nepean and blocks his buddy YAM.

Much easier to get up an under a bloke thats coming at you front on when youre playing in the middle. Cole has made some great tackles on bigger 2nd rowers etc that have targetted him when hes been in the 6. Hes got great fromt on defence. Its a different beast out in the centres.

Yes im not saying he doesmt have a lot to work on but last night was an improvement.

You can look at the negatives or you can take the positives out of it.

It was a much improved performance by him. I think he will be even better when nath is back.

We need tago back to his best or close to kt if we are to challenge at the back end of the year.

I think he wouldve got a bit of confidence out of last night..

Oates almost try in the first half was because Alamonti was to far in. But as i said i think as a whole compared to the previous 8 or so weeks it was a big improvement on that side.

Brisbane with walsh and mam firing are lethal so you can put whatever spin on it you want but we kept them to 6 points.

Theres a lot to work on but we are heading in the right direction. Nath hopefully comes back 100% and we get through origin period ok and thinks will click at the business end of the season i reckon.

Girds89

Overall we are sitting well in second place minus the world best player and we have seen huge leaps in some of the young guys .The standard of this years comp is way down on previous years

Probably due to major injuries to key players. Nath
Ponga
Munster
Turbo
Moses
Etc etc

A lot of big name stars have been out this year. I think the comps just a bit more even. Not sure the standard is worse..

Wizardman

4. Alamonti was strong

They are an underrated key to winning the title again. I think there is a future rep player in Liam Henry. Smith played out of his skin....which he can do.

Iamback

Good post. Sums it up well

Iamback

It is pretty funny most football fans are pointing out tago's issues it's a few on here who are doing their best to ignore it and downplay it to the point they'll throw other Panthers players under the bus.

You want a positive they beat their biggest opponent of the last 3 years at suncorp. The Rain.

Yep the one constant on that side has been Tago... Yet apparently it is everyone else's fault

They miss Reynolds badly probably more than we miss Cleary. Did anybody listen to 9’s call I lasted about 3 minutes and then switched it back to 9 with 2 minutes to go. The Queensland crew (Vautan, Smith, Lockyer) having a pity party best tele I watched all week.
Ginnane and Ennis on foxtel are no better. I saw Mamm get bounced off at least 3 times and Ennis in the call says he's been strong defensively.
Ginnane is the same every time the Broncos touch the ball he says Walsh or Mamm's name.

The Courier Mail really needs to do an article for the Broncos supporters to explain some of the rules, because those moron Queenslanders have no clue how the surrender tackle is policed.

Plus they could possibly tell the idiot Broncos fans that the other team is allowed to tackle Walsh and it is him, Walsh that is, that makes those five crucial mistakes every week.

When the love affair with him is finally over, footy might be pleasing to watch again...