Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 19 - Tigers vs Rabbitohs, Saturday, 21st of July 5:30pm @ ANZ Stadium - John Sutton's 300th

doyen

Rabbits won the penalty count 12-6. Just saying

I don't think the refs were against us------generally I think they have no idea of how to keep on top of the "bung rules" they're expected to adjudicate!!!
That penalty count is 2 to 1 so we can hardly complain!!
The Tiges were terrific & were easily the better side!

The refs could have, should have sent a tiger to the sin bin at least twice in the last 10 minutes. Any other game they would have, this is where the NRL and refs get it wrong.

As a tiger supporter, happy that they didn't but that doesn't make it right.

Travitoh

I don't know if any of you have seen Tag yet but i recommend it.
Plenty of laughs and some quality tunes on the soundtrack too.

callmack1

Well that was really disappointing lads and I feel a little shattered after that. Such a massive game in the history of the club and such a big celebration and we produce a really poor performance like that, I kind of don't know what to say. The Tigers deserve credit, they were really good and frustrated the hell out of us but we had almost nothing in reply, absoulutely nothing. We didn't adjust to the way the Tigers were defending and I had a terrible feeling early in the second half that the game wasn't gonna end well. It kind of looked like we played a different style tonight and we weren't patient, that's not the 2018 Rabbitoh way. I knew a loss would come eventually but to have it in that fashion in such a big game really sucks.

In attack we had almost nothing tonight. This is largely due to the Tigers good defence but then our boys just looked really off. There was almost no power through the middle and the ball movement just didn't look as slick as it has for most of this year. It was all quite slow really and in the end, the Tigers were able to cover us easy. It really sucked to see us attack like that, it was kind of like we went away from the game plan a bit.

Defence was also not at it's usual standard. A lot of missed tackles and we were really struggling to wrap up the ball for a lot of that game. Goal line defence was off tonight too and all their tries came with relative ease from poor tackle attempts and defensive reads. I think we got absoulutely screwed over by the refs in the first half but I still wasn't happy with our dicipline as there were just way too many cheap penalties conceded.

Johnston: Very limited opportunities tonight. His kick returns weren't bad and he was good under the high ball but he just couldn't do much in attack. Almost everytime we went wide, the Tigers were up in our faces or the ball movement was clunky which meant he really couldn't do much.

Graham: Pretty quiet tbh. Had some good runs and a decent work rate coming out of trouble. His kick chase was awesome too but other than that, there isn't really much to talk about with Graham which is a shame.

Hunt; Pretty quiet too. I feel like he wasn't involved enough and didn't do enough work to help the forwards. When he did run, they were strong, there just wasn't enough of them. Marsters outplayed him tonight and Hunt did make some poor defensive reads, especially where he got stood up for that second try.

Gagai: A bit of a rocks and diamonds night for Gags. Looked really, really dangerous a few times but then he came up with some really poor desisions in attack with forced passes and he came up with a few errors too.

Jennings: I actually thought Jennings was pretty good. Didn't see much quality ball down that left edge tonight but he still went hunting for if for much of the game. Almost every hit up he took was outstanding and very determined which was good to see.

Walker: I actually thought Walker was quite poor tonight but in saying that, that is mainly because the Tigers did a great job at containing him. They were up in his face all the time which meant he had to stop and check himself, thus, haulting the backline sweep. However, even with a bit of space, he just looked a tad slower than usual. he left a gaping hole for Chee-Kam to go through to set up Moses' try too which wasn't good to see.

Reynolds: Came up with a couple of absoulute beauty kicks which really pressured the back three and/or got repeat sets but then as the game went on, he seemed to just get worse and worse. Towards the end he was coming up with some really poor, panicky, un-needed kicks and this is so unlike Reyno.

T.Burgess: The Tigers did a good job at containing him tonight as he only had a few really good runs the whole game. Tom's impact wasn't as great tonight.

Cook: Was also a little quiet. He did have some really nice darts from dummy half as always but then the Tigers were really alert to this and Cookie was stopped before he could really get going. Had a high defensive work rate once again which was good to see.

G.Burgess: Was good I thought. Hard aggressive running and he was really physicl all night in contact. He ran with intent and purpose on almost ever time and I thought his work rate was really good.

Sutton: Not a bad game from the 300 gamer. Looked dangerous on the edge with that late footwork and then cut back to the inside and this caused the Tigers some problems. Sutto gave his all tonight and everything he did was done with intent. It's a real shame we turned out a performance like that in his big game, it hurts.

Crichton: A bit rocks and diamonds tbh. Did have some good runs that troubled Brooks a bit and he made a few little half breaks and then that full on break which was really nice work. However, he had a lot of errors and pushed passes in him tonight which pissed me off. Especially that pass for Brooks try, that was just awful.

S.Burgess: One of our best. I think it's absoulute BS he got put on report as the tackle really wasn't that bad, typicla Cecchin I suppose. This seemed to really fire him up and he tried to absoulutely kill anything that moved in from of him. he did come up with a few missed tackles because of this but you could see he was trying to inspire the rest of the boys. Sam did make less meters tonight but I think his intimidation factor really lifted and he tried his heart out.

Doueihi: Not really much to say as he came on late and had litle impact because by then, the game was over.

Murray: Outstanding, another one of our best. An amazing running game tonight, he just kept going and going. Every run was determined and he made a lot of meters post contact straight through the middle. That 30 meter run he had was brilliant and at one stage, I thought he was gonna go all the way. What's more, Cam had a high defensive workload a always.

Clark: Made minimal impact tonight if I'm being brutally honest. His attempted tackle (along with a few of the other boys) on Mbye leading up to his try was really poor and I was expecting better.

Tatola: Was it just me or did he get less game time tonight? I don't feel as though he made as big of an impact on the game as usual despite the odd good run.

Sorry this is a bit more brief than usual, I'm just feeling quite deflated and shattered after that. Forgot waht a loss felt like, it hurts man.

I'm just so gutted we turned up and played like that on Sutto's big day, it shoul've been the exact opposite. Like I said, we just played impatient footy that went away from the game plan and we went away from what had been working so damn well for a long time.

Credit goes to the Tigers though, they were good.

Anyway, that brings us back down to earth which isn't exactly a bad thing. While it would've been nice to get ten in a row and tonight was really disappointing, I think this game shows the boys that we're not invincible. I feel we've been in cruise control the last couple of games and I'm hoping some valuable lessons will be learnt from this one. I really hope this now fires the boys up for a big run home because tonight wasn't us, it wasn't waht we're about and it wasn't how we play. We now know we can be defeated and it'll put the boys on notice and hopefully make them work even harder. Hopefully this was just a wake up call and a little bump in the road.

We will most likey lose first spot this week but we can get it back.

Go Bunnies

Well that was really disappointing lads and I feel a little shattered after that. Such a massive game in the history of the club and such a big celebration and we produce a really poor performance like that, I kind of don't know what to say. The Tigers deserve credit, they were really good and frustrated the hell out of us but we had almost nothing in reply, absoulutely nothing. We didn't adjust to the way the Tigers were defending and I had a terrible feeling early in the second half that the game wasn't gonna end well. It kind of looked like we played a different style tonight and we weren't patient, that's not the 2018 Rabbitoh way. I knew a loss would come eventually but to have it in that fashion in such a big game really sucks.

In attack we had almost nothing tonight. This is largely due to the Tigers good defence but then our boys just looked really off. There was almost no power through the middle and the ball movement just didn't look as slick as it has for most of this year. It was all quite slow really and in the end, the Tigers were able to cover us easy. It really sucked to see us attack like that, it was kind of like we went away from the game plan a bit.

Defence was also not at it's usual standard. A lot of missed tackles and we were really struggling to wrap up the ball for a lot of that game. Goal line defence was off tonight too and all their tries came with relative ease from poor tackle attempts and defensive reads. I think we got absoulutely screwed over by the refs in the first half but I still wasn't happy with our dicipline as there were just way too many cheap penalties conceded.

Johnston: Very limited opportunities tonight. His kick returns weren't bad and he was good under the high ball but he just couldn't do much in attack. Almost everytime we went wide, the Tigers were up in our faces or the ball movement was clunky which meant he really couldn't do much.

Graham: Pretty quiet tbh. Had some good runs and a decent work rate coming out of trouble. His kick chase was awesome too but other than that, there isn't really much to talk about with Graham which is a shame.

Hunt; Pretty quiet too. I feel like he wasn't involved enough and didn't do enough work to help the forwards. When he did run, they were strong, there just wasn't enough of them. Marsters outplayed him tonight and Hunt did make some poor defensive reads, especially where he got stood up for that second try.

Gagai: A bit of a rocks and diamonds night for Gags. Looked really, really dangerous a few times but then he came up with some really poor desisions in attack with forced passes and he came up with a few errors too.

Jennings: I actually thought Jennings was pretty good. Didn't see much quality ball down that left edge tonight but he still went hunting for if for much of the game. Almost every hit up he took was outstanding and very determined which was good to see.

Walker: I actually thought Walker was quite poor tonight but in saying that, that is mainly because the Tigers did a great job at containing him. They were up in his face all the time which meant he had to stop and check himself, thus, haulting the backline sweep. However, even with a bit of space, he just looked a tad slower than usual. he left a gaping hole for Chee-Kam to go through to set up Moses' try too which wasn't good to see.

Reynolds: Came up with a couple of absoulute beauty kicks which really pressured the back three and/or got repeat sets but then as the game went on, he seemed to just get worse and worse. Towards the end he was coming up with some really poor, panicky, un-needed kicks and this is so unlike Reyno.

T.Burgess: The Tigers did a good job at containing him tonight as he only had a few really good runs the whole game. Tom's impact wasn't as great tonight.

Cook: Was also a little quiet. He did have some really nice darts from dummy half as always but then the Tigers were really alert to this and Cookie was stopped before he could really get going. Had a high defensive work rate once again which was good to see.

G.Burgess: Was good I thought. Hard aggressive running and he was really physicl all night in contact. He ran with intent and purpose on almost ever time and I thought his work rate was really good.

Sutton: Not a bad game from the 300 gamer. Looked dangerous on the edge with that late footwork and then cut back to the inside and this caused the Tigers some problems. Sutto gave his all tonight and everything he did was done with intent. It's a real shame we turned out a performance like that in his big game, it hurts.

Crichton: A bit rocks and diamonds tbh. Did have some good runs that troubled Brooks a bit and he made a few little half breaks and then that full on break which was really nice work. However, he had a lot of errors and pushed passes in him tonight which pissed me off. Especially that pass for Brooks try, that was just awful.

S.Burgess: One of our best. I think it's absoulute BS he got put on report as the tackle really wasn't that bad, typicla Cecchin I suppose. This seemed to really fire him up and he tried to absoulutely kill anything that moved in from of him. he did come up with a few missed tackles because of this but you could see he was trying to inspire the rest of the boys. Sam did make less meters tonight but I think his intimidation factor really lifted and he tried his heart out.

Doueihi: Not really much to say as he came on late and had litle impact because by then, the game was over.

Murray: Outstanding, another one of our best. An amazing running game tonight, he just kept going and going. Every run was determined and he made a lot of meters post contact straight through the middle. That 30 meter run he had was brilliant and at one stage, I thought he was gonna go all the way. What's more, Cam had a high defensive workload a always.

Clark: Made minimal impact tonight if I'm being brutally honest. His attempted tackle (along with a few of the other boys) on Mbye leading up to his try was really poor and I was expecting better.

Tatola: Was it just me or did he get less game time tonight? I don't feel as though he made as big of an impact on the game as usual despite the odd good run.

Sorry this is a bit more brief than usual, I'm just feeling quite deflated and shattered after that. Forgot waht a loss felt like, it hurts man.

I'm just so gutted we turned up and played like that on Sutto's big day, it shoul've been the exact opposite. Like I said, we just played impatient footy that went away from the game plan and we went away from what had been working so damn well for a long time.

Credit goes to the Tigers though, they were good.

Anyway, that brings us back down to earth which isn't exactly a bad thing. While it would've been nice to get ten in a row and tonight was really disappointing, I think this game shows the boys that we're not invincible. I feel we've been in cruise control the last couple of games and I'm hoping some valuable lessons will be learnt from this one. I really hope this now fires the boys up for a big run home because tonight wasn't us, it wasn't waht we're about and it wasn't how we play. We now know we can be defeated and it'll put the boys on notice and hopefully make them work even harder. Hopefully this was just a wake up call and a little bump in the road.

We will most likey lose first spot this week but we can get it back.
Great review as usual but I can’t agree with Crichton and Gagai. Gagai is on 700k and Angus is supposedly a 800k player next year - definitely not worth it

All my love and respect to the mighty Rabbitohs and Sutto tonight,I've been really pumped and emotional for this all week and have wisely decided to sit it out tonight,my wife knows me and doesn't think the ticker is ready for this.
She's right!
GO RABBITOHS
Didn't miss much. Credit to the Tigers as they played this perfectly as they were allowed to by poor refing... how one of them wasn't binned was beyond me.

That first half we were off but you can't do much when you get called for an obstruction 30m out that is no way an obstruction. Mal Meninga also said the Sam penalty against was a joke yep got him around the chest. They constantly had markers offside and offside in general... falling over at scrums Itsa so wes have to wait 4-5mins for a scrum to be packed... if that's the standard Ricky Stuart is right in that the game is f**ked...

We just missed too many tackles in the end and our attack was poor.. stop start stop start doesn't help us at all!!

AJ well if we wanna make the GF @callmack1 sorry bro imo he's not the fullback to get us there..... he took quite a step back tonight... tbh I've never seen him as a week in week out fullback.... defensively he's not good enough and he gets dragged back so easily!!!!! Positional play was well off too.... he's need to pick his socks up!

Gagai drops it every week and throws it over the sideline... he's been a let down... he needs to to lift and do what he does for QLD for us...

Robert Jennings hold your head up mate... great effort...

Cody too much sideways and not forwards...

We just didn't run through the middle enough... sid

Sideline to sideline ain't gonna work and we went away from what's been working!!!

Geez Angus has an error in him too!!!

Didn't miss much. Credit to the Tigers as they played this perfectly as they were allowed to by poor refing... how one of them wasn't binned was beyond me.

That first half we were off but you can't do much when you get called for an obstruction 30m out that is no way an obstruction. Mal Meninga also said the Sam penalty against was a joke yep got him around the chest. They constantly had markers offside and offside in general... falling over at scrums Itsa so wes have to wait 4-5mins for a scrum to be packed... if that's the standard Ricky Stuart is right in that the game is f**ked...

We just missed too many tackles in the end and our attack was poor.. stop start stop start doesn't help us at all!!

AJ well if we wanna make the GF @callmack1 sorry bro imo he's not the fullback to get us there..... he took quite a step back tonight... tbh I've never seen him as a week in week out fullback.... defensively he's not good enough and he gets dragged back so easily!!!!! Positional play was well off too.... he's need to pick his socks up!

Gagai drops it every week and throws it over the sideline... he's been a let down... he needs to to lift and do what he does for QLD for us...

Robert Jennings hold your head up mate... great effort...

Cody too much sideways and not forwards...

We just didn't run through the middle enough... sid

Sideline to sideline ain't gonna work and we went away from what's been working!!!

Geez Angus has an error in him too!!!
So you were robbed by the ref’s.

Lol

macnaz

Oi guys go into the Tigers forum if you want a laugh. I've sure had a chuckle.

Apparently our backs 2-5 without GI are ordinary.

Yep our wingers Campbell and Jennings are nothing special.

Apparently all Jennings does is put the ball down. Let's ignore his toughness and pace plus quick play the balls and improvement in all areas of his games:)

Apparently Campbell has lots of errors in him too:)

Bloody hell I am getting a laugh...... it's hilarious over there......
Lol

macnaz

Take the bloody game to Leichardt I say,
Wobbie can sit on the scoreboard again with a beer having a good cry.
It's a bit difficult to do that at ANZ and after all he'll be having a good cry after Sutto and the lads take this mob to the cleaners.
And to our knowledgeable Tigpies supporters,"jump on the bus,jump on the bus"well your bus is parked 4 points out of the eight and Jennings has nearly scored as many tries as your team has points......so what's new pussycats!
Bahahahaha!

So you were robbed by the ref’s.

Lol
The better team won but we had no chance in that first half with those calls.... if they charge Sam for a hard hit around the chest then the game well and truly is f**ked.... it was actually Tatola that caught Robbie flush on the nose... not too much in it!

In the second half we were our own worst enemy..... just a bit off all over the paddock!

@callmack1 @Itsamansgame @Souths Till I Die one thing that was great to see is how we had most of the crowd that was there. Bays 145-146 through 101-105 all off level 1 and 2 in those bays we filled plus level 4 bays 401-411 we filled plus a scattering around the ground. On the side where the tunnel is there wasn't actually many Tigers on that side. On the eastern side they took bays 106-111 but that's about it!

When both teams ran on at the start you could clearly see we had about 16-17k of the 26k there!

ThingFish

@callmack1 @Itsamansgame @Souths Till I Die one thing that was great to see is how we had most of the crowd that was there. Bays 145-146 through 101-105 all off level 1 and 2 in those bays we filled plus level 4 bays 401-411 we filled plus a scattering around the ground. On the side where the tunnel is there wasn't actually many Tigers on that side. On the eastern side they took bays 106-111 but that's about it!

When both teams ran on at the start you could clearly see we had about 16-17k of the 26k there!
I was in 108 and we had over 50% easy.

ThingFish

The round 25 rematch should be a cracker. We could be playing for a top 4 spot and the Tiges could be playing for a shot at September footy. Can’t wait.

Curns13

Last night I was seated in 101 and at the end of the game walked to the front rows and waited for the boys. They came over, looking sore and sorry for themselves, gave the fans a well deserved clap and turned towards the sheds.

Then over came John Sutton. He jumped 2 metal barracades and made his way over to greet fans in 105, he was posing for photos and signing autographs. He slowly started to walk towards us, greeting everyone with a smile and being the ultimate professional. He was called away for his presentation but promised he’d be back for the fans he didnt get to.

He took part in the presentation, gave an interview and started to jog over to the waiting fans, who could not have been happier to see him return. He continued to greet everyone and fulfil any request made of him. I shook his hand, congratulated him on his 300th game and he posed for a photo with me.

This absolutely made my night and the trip from Brissie well worth it. What a man. It was his night. The other 16 were in the sheds, having a laugh and a beer, but he gave his time for the fans that love him. He didnt have to do that. He didnt have to run back long after everyone else had left. He had every right to be in the sheds enjoying a beer with his family, friends and teammates. To me this just shows the character of the man. The heart and soul of Souths: John Sutton.