Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 vs Souths

LINESPEED

This is a man who kicked 3 field goals in a semi final to end our season in 2018.
We couldn't do it in that game with everything on the line.
What makes you think we can do it tomorrow night?
The only way to beat Souths and Reynolds is to starve them of possession.
If we don't at least match their forwards, that is going to be very difficult.

Winning is about scoring points too

And our best chances of that are

in Reggies
or warming the bench
or somewhere in between FFS?

You can throw the ball around till the cows come home, but without finishers with true pace, & Xfactors ....nothing happens - and that’s where our team’s at atm?

getsmarty

graham-j-20190316-867.jpg

TEAM LISTS

24-hour warning: Round 2 v Rabbitohs
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Wed 20 Mar 2019, 07:50 PM
l
St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has amended his Round 2 squad to 19 ahead of the Dragons' clash against the South Sydney Rabbitohs at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium this Thursday evening.

Reece Robson and Jonus Pearson are the two players to drop out of the squad, leaving Mitch Allgood and Zac Lomax as the shadow players to the named 17.

NRL squad for Round 2 v South Sydney Rabbitohs

1. Gareth Widdop – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
2. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Tosich Group
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Mikaele Ravalawa – sponsored by SMAI
6. Corey Norman – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
7. Ben Hunt – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Jacob Host – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski

Interchange:
14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Dincel Construction System
15. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
16. Josh Kerr – sponsored by Professionals Padstow
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Zac Lomax – sponsored by Tosich Group
20. Mitch Allgood

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/03/20/24-hour-warning-round-2-v-rabbitohs/

getsmarty

Paul McGregor confident Dragons will bounce back against South Sydney
Dragons Den
r0_293_3752_2544_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Charging forward: Tariq Sims. Picture: AAP Image/Michael Chambers.

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor is looking forward to seeing his team bounce back from last week's round one defeat when they take on South Sydney on Thursday night.

The odds are stacked against the Dragons, with the side coming off a five-day turnaround and star forward Tyson Frizell absent through injury.

Compounding the challenge for St George Illawarra is the fact South Sydney claimed a dominant victory over defending premiers the Roosters last weekend, a match in which the Rabbitohs pack rolled through their opposition.

Given the way the Cowboys ran rampant against the Dragons, Souths are sure to stick to what worked so well for them last week. McGregor, however, is confident his pack is up to the task.

"They [South Sydney] rely a lot around their play-the-ball speed and on the other side rely on their ruck control," McGregor said.

"They just build pressure on you from working up the field, generating play-the-ball speed for a nice kicking game with [Adam] Reynolds.

"It's important we embrace that and enjoy that, make sure we get consistent line speed, get our legs fast with attitude, to win collisions, to then dominate field position a bit more. The last couple of times they've played, it's been all them, just on the front foot."

While confident his pack can match it with the Sam Burgess-led Rabbitohs pack, McGregor recognises his team must eliminate the errors that plagued the Dragons last week if they are to defeat South Sydney.

That lack of possession, he believes, was the key reason the Cowboys ran over the top of St George Illawarra in the second half and he said the players are focused on avoiding a repeat.

"I thought the first 30 minutes for us was very professional, we had really good intent with attitude and energy with what we did.

"What happened on the back of that was a nine to three error count, and a couple of kicks that were a metre too long, or a metre too wide. That then put us under fatigue in the second half and that's when you become vulnerable.

"The most important thing for us to learn from last week is you've got to hold the footy at important times and put the opposition under pressure.

"We did that for 15 to 20 minutes last week and looked really strong. This time of year that's what it's about, we've got to stress their defensive line a little bit more than we did last week and get excited when we have the ball."

With Tyson Frizell injured, 23-year-old forward Josh Kerr is set to make his NRL debut off the bench. After a pre-season that involved his representative debut for the Indigenous All Stars, McGregor is looking forward to watching Kerr feature on Thursday night.

"It's always a young man's dream to be able to play at home when they make their debut and make their debut after a very long journey so he's very excited.

"He's very confident in his belief of what he can do now, where that wasn't there in the past. He's a big boy, he's our quickest forward over 20 metres, weighs 116 kilos, but you still need confidence and belief in your game, what you need to do.

"He's got that out of a tough pre-season and knowing he competes against a formidable forward pack at training and now it's just another pack in a different jumper."

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...ill-bounce-back-against-south-sydney/?cs=3713

getsmarty

St George Illawarra's Lawrie to fill void left by Frizell NRL absence
  • Local Sport
    r0_265_4412_2755_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Fighting for more: Blake Lawrie is the leading contender to replace Tyson Frziell on Thursday nigh. Picture: NRL Imagery/Greg Porteous.

• Emerging St George Illawarra forward Blake Lawrie has vowed he is ready to step into the Dragons starting lineup on Thursday night.

With NSW and Australian star Tyson Frizell likely out for 4-6 weeks after undergoing testicle surgery on Saturday night, Lawrie is the leading contender to fill the number 13 jersey for the clash with South Sydney.

He credits a conversation over coffee with James Graham at the conclusion of last season with helping prepare him for this moment.

While not willing to go into too much detail about the contents of the chat, the 22-year-old said Graham let him know exactly what needed to be done over the pre-season if he was to become a permanent fixture in the Dragons lineup.

"I went for a coffee with him at the end of last year," Lawrie said. "We had a personal conversation about where I'm at, he told me what I needed to work on in the preseason.

"I was excited to have the chat with him, I was excited for what the outcome was. Hopefully I've done the work over the pre-season on the advice he's given me to be a regular first grader and help the team to get a result each and every week."

A highly-touted Dapto junior, Lawrie has been forced to bide his time throughout the past two years, playing just 16 games for the Dragons since making his NRL debut in round 17 2017.

While many young stars can get frustrated having to spend so much time in NSW Cup, Lawrie views that time as key to his development.

"You could say I've had to be patient, but you could also say I had a couple of things to work on as an individual. I've gone back to NSW Cup over the last two seasons, sort of worked on my game and tried to improve my whole game.

"I'm looking to lock down a top 17 spot for the rest of this year, play every game, that's one of my goals for the rest of the season."

With the Dragons forward pack struck down by injury towards the back-end of last season, Lawrie was thrown into a key role in St George Illawarra's finals matches against the Broncos and Rabbitohs.

His showing at Suncorp Stadium against Brisbane was particularly impressive, with Lawrie helping the Dragons pack run rampant over the Broncos.

It was his performance in the two semi-finals, alongside his work on the training paddock, that has convinced his Dragons teammates he is capable of stepping up to the starting lineup, if given the chance by coach Paul McGregor.

"Blake is probably the best young forward we have here in the club," Paul Vaughan said. "Coming through, he's played all the junior reps, Junior 'Roos, NSW, he's a great trainer, big engine and a pretty tough front rower.

"He probably played the two best games I've seen him play in the finals last year, he had big shoes to fill and he stepped up and played really well.

"I think he's got a lot of confidence out of that and he'll be relishing the opportunity to get a start or have a bigger workload and show everyone what he can do."

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...ell-on-the-mend-after-painful-injury/?cs=3713

Wittenberg

One thing I don’t get is the argument that Widdop should be moved from 5/8 because he won’t be here next year. ???? Why didn’t Melbourne move Cronk the year before he went to the Roosters? Obviously Souths didn’t move Crichton last year when they knew he was moving on. No wonder they failed to win a GF, they didn’t allow the new combinations time to develop.

41yearsaint

Not holding much hope for this one. Just hoping its not a cricket score and the team isn't booed off at fulltime. If we somehow manage to win, I will look like Mary in the box at Suncorp.:astonished:

ALSGI

I was pretty excited and confident about the Townsville game and thought we had them covered. At half time I was still fairly confident and still believe that had Lawrie scored the game would have gone our way but it really was a great tackle that Lawrie will learn from. Bitterly disapointed I was and still am. Reading this forum hasn’t helped either.

Tonight, not excited or confident at all.

We look much weaker on paper without Frizballs and a sound beating last week. There’ll be plenty of Souffs fans there at KJO - they don’t have to work tomorrow or next week. The Refs hate us. Commentators have their money on the Wabbits so watching the game on TV will be f**kced. Missus will whinge about the volume around 15mins into the game, just as we’re looking like scoring.

Even Crush reckons we’ll lose - but we’re a chance.

Where is Mickeylane when I need him? We need him to back a Souffs/Bennett win. Does anyone know how the man is?

Anyway, Dragons by a comfortable 8 tonight I reckon. Watch that new spine click then transform when Duffman comes on.

Go the mighties!

One thing I don’t get is the argument that Widdop should be moved from 5/8 because he won’t be here next year. ???? Why didn’t Melbourne move Cronk the year before he went to the Roosters? Obviously Souths didn’t move Crichton last year when they knew he was moving on. No wonder they failed to win a GF, they didn’t allow the new combinations time to develop.

Widdop was moved to fullback because the coach did not have confidence in Dufty to do the job. Norman was signed as Widdop's replacement for 2020.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

I was pretty excited and confident about the Townsville game and thought we had them covered. At half time I was still fairly confident and still believe that had Lawrie scored the game would have gone our way but it really was a great tackle that Lawrie will learn from. Bitterly disapointed I was and still am. Reading this forum hasn’t helped either.

Tonight, not excited or confident at all.

We look much weaker on paper without Frizballs and a sound beating last week. There’ll be plenty of Souffs fans there at KJO - they don’t have to work tomorrow or next week. The Refs hate us. Commentators have their money on the Wabbits so watching the game on TV will be f**kced. Missus will whinge about the volume around 15mins into the game, just as we’re looking like scoring.

Even Crush reckons we’ll lose - but we’re a chance.

Where is Mickeylane when I need him? We need him to back a Souffs/Bennett win. Does anyone know how the man is?

Anyway, Dragons by a comfortable 8 tonight I reckon. Watch that new spine click then transform when Duffman comes on.

Go the mighties!

ALSGI,

Can't say l've seen him since some of us 'earned a weeks holiday' ............ Hope he comes back.
His track record for 'rumours' was a bit rough but he was good value and added to the forum, like we all try to do.

ALSGI

ALSGI,

Can't say l've seen him since some of us 'earned a weeks holiday' ............ Hope he comes back.
His track record for 'rumours' was a bit rough but he was good value and added to the forum, like we all try to do.
Mate, what do you mean by ‘earned a week’s holliday?