Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2

The_Wookie

why do the crowds need to average over 40K ?

AFL crowds drop like a rock during the Easter long weekend, pretty much always have.

Crowds this weekend finished at 311,000 with a 34k average - marginally higher than the same round last year.

CyberKev

Ripper of a game today. Gutsy win by Geelong.

Yes, they got the job done, again.

Bartel is some kind of player.

Hawthorn shot themselves in the foot yesterday, as much for its selection table decisions, as for some of its general play.

Plenty of work to do, but its a long season.

CyberKev

Geez, the AFLs alleged 'head is sancrosanct' policy becomes even more shambolic.

Beau Waters lines up his Melbourne opponent and hits him hard enough to knock him in to the year 3000, but apparently it was not only unintentional, it was also low impact??!!

They've got some players being outed for tapping blokes to the head; they've got others let off after breaking an opponent's jaw; they've got players taking out teammates with headshots that would mhave them sidelined if they'd been unlucky enough to hit an opponent instead; they've got a high profile player laughing it up about his tactic of deliberately drawing frees by milking head shots...

But, yeah, the head is totally sancrosanct. :crazy:

BTW. Things don't get any poorer than the decision to give Whitecross 2 weeks (reduced to one for an early plea). The poor bugger was picking himself off the ground after making a tackle when Selwood barrelled into him head first. Insanity. As a general rule I don't encourage challenges, but will be furious with the club if they don't take this one on.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nq0BvzidpYE

meltiger

^^^

Well, Richmond need to get a win up somewhere.

FMD, Am I again to fall victim to your penchant for hi-jacking threads with your overt tiger-centric ramblings?

Computer says yes...

You're like that Tiger tragic on the Marngrook ads with his Richmond car that looks for all the world like a Flintstones vehicle.

Sheesh.

Typical personal abuse being levied toward me aside. Are you ready to concede yet?

Adelaide are rubbish and no where near Hawthorn's class, Sydney struggled to beat Port!

You sir, are the one guilty of having blinkers. Not me.

CyberKev

^^^

Fugruonabowt??!!

Melbourne are nowhere near St Kevin's Old Boys class, Richmond doesn't have to play the Eagles in Perth, and gets to play Geelong after they've been softened-up.

Richmond could well win this week.

If it wasn't for the fact that he has kids that he doesn't feed when Tiger matches are on, I'd be certain you're that guy from the Marngrook ads, seriously!

meltiger

Richmond gets to play Geelong at a ground they have one at twice in 25 seasons, which just happens to be the toughest place to travel at the present time.

Statement corrected for accuracy.

& leave the personal abuse out of it FFS. I know the West Coast Eagles organisation gives you movement in the pants, for some odd reason that's been the case for 10 years, but they aren't as good as you think they are, nor are they currently as hard to beat at home as Geelong.

We have 4 of the top 5, and one rubbish team.

You have 3 of the top 5, and two rubbish teams. Richmond beat them both last year for gods sake.

Both have extremely hard road trips.

Richmond's draw is harder, whether you are prepared for the first time in 10 years to concede defeat or not. Throw whatever abuse you like at me. It doesn't change the cold hard facts.

As for Geelong being "softened up" ...... Here's some homework for the self professed AFL guru who is never wrong ..... What did Geelong do the week following the last time North Melbourne beat them?

Game was in Melbourne too for that matter, not down at the hick shithole................

CyberKev

I can't even recall the last time North beat them.

Irrelevant.

That was then, this is now.

West Coast will be unbeaten at home in 2012, as much as I loathe the bastards.

And where are you getting this tosh that I've been blowing smoke up their butts for a decade? I was dismissing West Coast roundly in 2007, saying they were heading for the exit door, when every cat and his dog was talking up a dynasty.

meltiger

I can't even recall the last time North beat them.

Did I suggest you remember, I said 'homework'

The last time Nth Melbourne 'softened Geelong up', at the Cattery nonetheless, Richmond were pummelled into submission as Geelong started their dynasty run the following week...

That was then, this is now.

& they are still a far better side than you Hawthorn flogs wish to admit.hey built a dynasty, Hawthorn ejaculated too early and haven't been able to replicate it. You lot envy them, I get it. But to suggest anything other than that Geelong is the hardest road trip in the game? You are again letting your blinkers shroud the facts.

West Coast will be unbeaten at home in 2012

Because Tasmaniathorn may be too shit to take 'em? Doesn't mean other teams won't...

& what is to suggest Geelong won't be unbeaten down the hwy?

And where are you getting this tosh that I've been blowing smoke up their butts for a decade? I was dismissing West Coast roundly in 2007, saying they were heading for the exit door, when every cat and his dog was talking up a dynasty.

You once stated you would rather Hawthorn win in Perth against the Eagles than beat a Collingwood, or Essendon or Carlton. Yes, either West Coast gives you that slight movement in your pants, or well, typical Tassie flog wanting to pretend the big Melbourne clubs mean nothing compared to the pretenders ;)

You finally let it go in that last post to your credit, but what's with this rubbish suggesting that I am biased? You are sitting their stoutly defending the claim that your own team has had the toughest opening rounds you have ever seen. FFS you senile old git, I simply claimed Richmond's draw is harder than Tassie's (Which it is), not making these wild and ludicrous claims that you are about it being the toughest ever.

The bias and blinkers sit in your own backyard.

You could of course tell the truth, it's simply laying the foundation for excuse giving should Hawthorn lose a few games along the way.