Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 - Rabbitohs vs Storm. Friday 3rd of August 7:55pm

Itsamansgame

I lost my voice at the first half officiating and then yelling at the refs to sin bin a Parra player which finally happened thank God after an age....

When it looked like Hayne had gone the field I was so pissed off..... I yelled out..
I've given up on the ref's Rabs,they're a lost cause!

southsport

What about Hunt indeed. He's had three shockers in a row against weak sides and now he fronts up again against these blokes.

A real liability and is Norths standard personified.
Well it looks like Seibs is going to persevere with him until GI returns.

callmack1

I'm expecting everyone to lift this week, Hunt included. This is a huge game so our intensity is gonna need to be high.

Reynolds unconcerned by Storm record: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2018/08/01/adam-reynolds-full-conference/

'There will be some big collisions out there' - Clark: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2018/08/01/jason-clark-media-full-conference/

'We've got to match them up front' - Tatola: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2018/08/01/junior-tatola-full-conference/

'They've been the benchmark for a long time' - Murray: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2018/08/01/cameron-murray-full-conference/

@callmack1 @southsport @Souths Till I Die @CliveC @Stan Dabovetherest

Evening lads just letting you guys know we've taken a big blow with Robert Jennings being ruled out. Must be due to last week where he copped a head knock but also seemed to hurt his leg. It's a big loss as he bring heaps of energy and workload with the shit work coming out of trouble!

They're saying Douiehi to wing but I reckon Hunt shifts to left wing and Douiehi to left centre..

We are taking a bit of a blow with GI still out plus Nicholls out 4-6 weeks now so we didn't want anymore injuries. Fui has just come back at Norths last week and is finding his feet in what has been such a disruptive season!

For the Storm Vunivalu is out with Olam coming in....

Ain't gonna be easy now boys.. I expect Gagai to lift with the shit work but we really need Hymel Hunt to lift big time this week... he's very capable of doing it too.... well considering he isn't signed for next year with any club yet he'd wanna play well otherwise his player value goes down..... I expect a much better performance from Hunt tomorrow...

Braidon Burns now onto the bench now lads in jersey 21.

Glory Glory big one tomorrow.... I do expect the boys to lift..... not sure if it'll be enough though...

callmack1

Updated 19-Man Squad: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2018/08/02/rabbitohs-make-changes-in-19-man-squad-reveal/

Shit, Jennings is a massive blow with the hamstring injury and that's gonna make it even tougher now because he provides so much not just with scoring tries but also his hit ups coming out of trouble.

I'm not a fan of Doueihi on the wing, it should either be Hunt on the wing with Doueihi at left centre or Burns comes into that left wing spot, Hunt at cantre and Doueihi stays on the bench. In saying that, I have full trust in Seibs and I will run with whatever call he makes.

Evening lads just letting you guys know we've taken a big blow with Robert Jennings being ruled out. Must be due to last week where he copped a head knock but also seemed to hurt his leg. It's a big loss as he bring heaps of energy and workload with the shit work coming out of trouble!

They're saying Douiehi to wing but I reckon Hunt shifts to left wing and Douiehi to left centre..

We are taking a bit of a blow with GI still out plus Nicholls out 4-6 weeks now so we didn't want anymore injuries. Fui has just come back at Norths last week and is finding his feet in what has been such a disruptive season!

Ain't gonna be easy now boys.. I expect Gagai to lift with the shit work but we really need Hymel Hunt to lift big time this week... he's very capable of doing it too.... well considering he isn't signed for next year with any club yet he'd wanna play well otherwise his player value goes down..... I expect a much better performance from Hunt tomorrow...

Glory Glory big one tomorrow.... I do expect the boys to lift..... not sure if it'll be enough though...
Okay, that's not so bad with Vunivalu out, that somewhat cancels out the loss of Jennings for us.

Yep, this is gonna be so, so tough! The toughest test we've faced this year by a mine. We're gonna have to be so onto it and find our form again if we want to give ourselves a chance. It's gonne be a big one!

That is a big blow with Jennings out.

I find it hard to believe that we will start as named, I don't know how much experience Doeuihi has on the wing and I think it would be a big risk to play him there. Although I absolutely rate him as a player I'm not sure that he is ready to start in the centres against the Storm yet either.

From the squad we have available I would start Burns in the centres and Hunt on the wing, and keep Doeuihi on the bench. I know that you're not a big fan of Braidon R20, but I believe he is going to be an absolute gun centre, this is his true position and given the chance I reckon he will really excel.

I'm not completely sold on Hunt as a winger either and am almost regretting that Kennar wasn't in the 21, as of all the available options he is the only true winger IMO.

Anyway whoever Seibs chooses to run out, I've got faith in him and the boys to get the job done.

On another note R20, I'm not a big fan of being tagged into posts. I know your intentions with this are good and am not having a go at you. When I get time I read pretty much all posts anyway, so it's just kind of a bit unnecessary. Hope you understand.

Cheers Stan

That is a big blow with Jennings out.

I find it hard to believe that we will start as named, I don't know how much experience Doeuihi has on the wing and I think it would be a big risk to play him there. Although I absolutely rate him as a player I'm not sure that he is ready to start in the centres against the Storm yet either.

From the squad we have available I would start Burns in the centres and Hunt on the wing, and keep Doeuihi on the bench. I know that you're not a big fan of Braidon R20, but I believe he is going to be an absolute gun centre, this is his true position and given the chance I reckon he will really excel.

I'm not completely sold on Hunt as a winger either and am almost regretting that Kennar wasn't in the 21, as of all the available options he is the only true winger IMO.

Anyway whoever Seibs chooses to run out, I've got faith in him and the boys to get the job done.

On another note R20, I'm not a big fan of being tagged into posts. I know your intentions with this are good and am not having a go at you. When I get time I read pretty much all posts anyway, so it's just kind of a bit unnecessary. Hope you understand.

Cheers Stan
Evening Stan yes it's a big blow!

I can see what you mean with Douiehi. Yep mate I do not mind if Braidon plays left centre but please for the love of God don't play him on the wing where he's just not as confident and struggles under the high ball and positioning! Also Stan re Douiehi in his last game at centre for us against Titans up there he only had 4 carries and that disappointed me mate that on that night he just wasn't too good with the shit work! I believe he could the job tomorrow but is he physically ready for that challenge. I also think being a bit older Braidon is more physically ready. I'm just waiting for Braidon to get his chance at centre and get through and 80mins and let's see what he's got.... apparently he's coming on in leaps and bounds these past couple of weeks for Norths... hopefully he's starting to come of age and he plays more first grade next year and that his body holds up ok!

Mate I was actually just about to start typing about Kennar and say how no one had mentioned him yet... he's had his first week back with Norths last week and his stats were good mate and he had 13 carries for 131m blowing the cobwebs out. I've no doubts if he gets through unscathed for Norths this week that'll be two weeks back under his belt and I'd put him straight in for next week. Get him to play outside GI on that left wing. I have a memory Stan from round 2 out at Penrith earlier this season where one on one Kennar manhandled Mansour coming at pace over the touch in goal line plus in another game earlier this season he did it to another player as well. So he's solid under the high ball, can stop a try with last ditch defence and gets through loads of the shit work with energy coming out of trouble. Kennar brings what Jennings brings in that regard maybe not quite as good as Jennings is but still gets the job done pretty well... surely Seibs brings him in next week as he's a specialist winger too! I know he's going to Mormon mission after this season but that shouldn't count against him and he should surely be welcomed back to us if he decides to come back to NRL in his future.

Sorry I didn't mean to piss you off..... there are just certain posters who don't like talking to me so I enjoy tagging the ones I wanna talk too you know the gang and I forgot @Itsamansgame sorry mate ... evening mate and I'm firing the hell up............. ooppppeeennnn your eyes Klein............. Smith ya dirty grub....... cmmooonnnnn fooorrrccceee em back @Itsamansgame and again foorrrccceee em back............ Im getting pumped over here........... don't let em offload DONt LET EM PASS.........

If that's your wish mate then no worries I won't tag you in stuff in the future...

Evening Stan yes it's a big blow!

I can see what you mean with Douiehi. Yep mate I do not mind if Braidon plays left centre but please for the love of God don't play him on the wing where he's just not as confident and struggles under the high ball and positioning! Also Stan re Douiehi in his last game at centre for us against Titans up there he only had 4 carries and that disappointed me mate that on that night he just wasn't too good with the shit work! I believe he could the job tomorrow but is he physically ready for that challenge. I also think being a bit older Braidon is more physically ready. I'm just waiting for Braidon to get his chance at centre and get through and 80mins and let's see what he's got.... apparently he's coming on in leaps and bounds these past couple of weeks for Norths... hopefully he's starting to come of age and he plays more first grade next year and that his body holds up ok!

Mate I was actually just about to start typing about Kennar and say how no one had mentioned him yet... he's had his first week back with Norths last week and his stats were good mate and he had 13 carries for 131m blowing the cobwebs out. I've no doubts if he gets through unscathed for Norths this week that'll be two weeks back under his belt and I'd put him straight in for next week. Get him to play outside GI on that left wing. I have a memory Stan from round 2 out at Penrith earlier this season where one on one Kennar manhandled Mansour coming at pace over the touch in goal line plus in another game earlier this season he did it to another player as well. So he's solid under the high ball, can stop a try with last ditch defence and gets through loads of the shit work with energy coming out of trouble. Kennar brings what Jennings brings in that regard maybe not quite as good as Jennings is but still gets the job done pretty well... surely Seibs brings him in next week as he's a specialist winger too! I know he's going to Mormon mission after this season but that shouldn't count against him and he should surely be welcomed back to us if he decides to come back to NRL in his future.

Sorry I didn't mean to piss you off..... there are just certain posters who don't like talking to me so I enjoy tagging the ones I wanna talk too you know the gang and I forgot @Itsamansgame sorry mate ... evening mate and I'm firing the hell up............. ooppppeeennnn your eyes Klein............. Smith ya dirty grub....... cmmooonnnnn fooorrrccceee em back @Itsamansgame and again foorrrccceee em back............ Im getting pumped over here........... don't let em offload DONt LET EM PASS.........

If that's your wish mate then no worries I won't tag you in stuff in the future...

Thanks R20,

No need to apologise, it doesn't piss me off it just clutters the notifications a bit. Plus I end up reading pretty much everything anyway, when I get time.

On Kennar, I rate him very highly, but I can't see him getting a starting spot unless either Jennings or Graham is unavailable. I think he's behind both of them in the pecking order now. Perhaps if Jennings is still out next week he might get a run, but I'm hoping he'll be back fit, rested and ready to take on the Roosters.

Thanks R20,

No need to apologise, it doesn't piss me off it just clutters the notifications a bit. Plus I end up reading pretty much everything anyway, when I get time.

On Kennar, I rate him very highly, but I can't see him getting a starting spot unless either Jennings or Graham is unavailable. I think he's behind both of them in the pecking order now. Perhaps if Jennings is still out next week he might get a run, but I'm hoping he'll be back fit, rested and ready to take on the Roosters.
Rumour on another site saying Jennings is out 4 weeks mate...

Doesn't sound too good. It's his hammy. Happened at training.

callmack1

It's Game Day!! And what a big Game Day it is!!

I agree with what you guys are saying about this situation and I'd certainly be playing Hunt on the wing and Burns in the centres with Doueihi on the bench. Even Burns on the wing would be a bit better imo. But I really rate Burns as a centre, just look at what he did in Round 13 before he got injured, he was looking great!

That's not a knock on Doueihi like I said last night, I just feel that against the Storm, we're gonna need players who are pretty comfortable in their positions and have been there before. I'm not so sure that Adam will be comfortable on the wing.

Shit, that's not good news about jennings if it is four weeks. If that proves to be the case, like you guys are saying, you'd think Kennar would slot straight into that left wing. He's been great in the games he's played this year.

Either way though, I'll back us. Gee, it's gonna be a nervous/exciting day.

Souths Till I Die

He should be back, but the number of hammy injuries at training is a concern.

I don’t claim to be a physio but I think it’s just the wear and tear of the sport especially in the outside backs position. It’s such an explosive sport and I think it’s up to the player to maintain flexibility in their body, not just the coaching staff.

southsport

I don’t claim to be a physio but I think it’s just the wear and tear of the sport especially in the outside backs position. It’s such an explosive sport and I think it’s up to the player to maintain flexibility in their body, not just the coaching staff.
You're probably right STID but it does get frustrating though.