Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 vs Warriors

dungay dragon

If we are any chance this year, it's gotta be on the back of winning the next 4 straight against 4 bottom 8 teams.

If Vaughan is out I reckon Friz probably has to go to prop.

Sims to the right edge and Luc to the left.
Bennett, Demetriou or both w Bennett first 12 months then Demetriou w Bennett Coaching Director for 2 years later...that should be the plan....we need some innovation as the present lot of coaches is an old boys club..
Only problem with that scenario Mickey is that we would have to find a new half back as Bennett prefers to play Hunt at Hooker .
I Guess Brooks is an option esp as Father and Son appear certain to be reunited at the Tigers
All hypotheticals on a most disappointing day
Bennett, Demetriou or both w Bennett first 12 months then Demetriou w Bennett Coaching Director for 2 years later...that should be the plan....we need some innovation as the present lot of coaches is an old boys club..

dungay dragon

Bennett had Hunt playing at Hooker at the Broncs....
Would have to find another 7 ..Perhaps Brooks if Nathan is coming "Home"

Dragon Blood

Mate they are all protected , too many mates mates and more mates .....
I decided to do a bit of work and not to watch the game but recorded it. Had the radio on and was listening though....turned it off after 25 mins I couldn't listen to the crap anymore.

I think I might even deleted the recording without even watching it and wasting another 90 minutes of my life like I have done so far since early May

getsmarty

I agree with everthing you say re the coach.....I could tell after 3 mins that we wernt prepared for this game..........but as for some individuals like Lafai and Aitken I can blame them.....the piss poor attempt by Lafai to ground the ball for the no try, instead of trying to push away the defender he only had to dive low and away from fullback to score...for Aitken he cant even play the ball properly not to mention his turnstile defence.....and lastly as much as ive loved and supported Nightie Surely he must know its time for him to fall on his sword...its obvious the coach is not going to push him so its up to Jason to relegate himself imo

Agree...but doesn't the above also fall under coaching ??? A good coach would tell the player to dive low..alternately Lafai could have attempted to spin around...Aitken has had defensive issues ever since he has been in 1st grade...its up to the coaching staff to address this or again drop him...

For mine the buck lies fair and square with the coaching staff and even more-so on the board who put him there in the 1st place.
Look at the Roosters...robinson was a "Rookie " coach when he started but the difference being the staff they surround him with....Our board has a lot to answer for...They go from Failure to failure with No accountability to anyone but themselves....

Gomarchin

Mary continues to prove (year in, year out) that he cannot get the team to perform when it matters.

Cast your mind back to round 26 last year against the Dogs. We win that game and play finals. We end up losing and the Cowboys jump into 8 and make the GF.

Mary is an imposter...

aquiin

I respectfully disagree. The game wasn’t lost on account of slow play the balls & Pereira not scoring.
Lafai dropping it over the line(a junior footy player knows to go low), Hunt with a miserable kicking game(again) & poor support play(a consistent occurrence)is where it was lost.
To suggest otherwise is to absolve the coach & main players of any blame.

There is no absolution. The refereeing is not a valid argument for the coach or team, but this game was officiated differently and full of mistakes. The game has been about the play the ball speed for 20 plus years. The consistency is what is being questioned here.

I do not disagree with the points made, as I made some previously but it is not the whole story to the days game. I don’t particularly believe the prism of this isn’t a top 8 team, this isn’t a top 4 team changes because we win some games to start the season. I do get that it is very hard for most people to always comment within what they believed the team was likely to do. Not something I like to do.

I don’t rate the coach but neither is the team at a point where he has an abundance of talent. This is a team that might have been a chance for the top 8, with a relatively easy draw due to missing last year. The draw next year will be harder, but I think the team will be stronger. The focus should be strengthen the interchange, build the forwards depth (some changes necessary with Vaughn) and need the two wingers in. A couple of games experience in the finals would do us well.

ALSGI

FMD.

We should have won that in the second half. Had enough penalties to kick our way to a win.
Had enough ball to put 40 on them.

Warriors up in our face every tackle, always with numbers in tackles, and plenty off side which went unchecked.

Widdop has ice skates on again, how many times does he fall or slip when nobody else does? Anyway, I thought he and Hunt had a dig, just didn’t work today.

I thought Pereria played well and has forced Nighty out if Nene is fit, Dufty played well but didn’t have enough support - they all just watch him and hope for the best instead of following him. LL should have come on earlier, Mann later. LAM did well.

f**kc I hate that red strip with a white semi V.

I’m not giving up yet, limping into the finals is better than not playing in finals, as Scumulla and Cowgirls have demonstrated in the past.

We can still win the grand prize, need to seriously recallibrate and get behind the boys.

Go Dragons.

Blood Shot Eyes

Agree...but doesn't the above also fall under coaching ??? A good coach would tell the player to dive low..alternately Lafai could have attempted to spin around...Aitken has had defensive issues ever since he has been in 1st grade...its up to the coaching staff to address this or again drop him...

For mine the buck lies fair and square with the coaching staff and even more-so on the board who put him there in the 1st place.
Look at the Roosters...robinson was a "Rookie " coach when he started but the difference being the staff they surround him with....Our board has a lot to answer for...They go from Failure to failure with No accountability to anyone but themselves....
I totally accept what your saying re The Coach you wont get an argument from me hes bloody useless as a coach and will never change....he cant see the forest for the trees I get that....but Im simply stating Lafai attempt to score was under 8 stuff....surely with all the games hes had under his belt he doesnt need our coach to tell him how to finish...and Aitkens attempt to play the ball the same applies.....what is up to the coach is he shouldnt be picking these blokes in 1st grade week in week out when its obvious to everyone their poor form doesnt warrant automatic selection ...and Im afraid the same applies to Nightingale

rednwhites

FMD.

We should have won that in the second half. Had enough penalties to kick our way to a win.

Warriors up in our face every tackle, always with numbers in tackles, and plenty off side which went unchecked.

Widdop has ice skates on again, how many times does he fall or slip when nobody else does? Anyway, I thought he and Hunt had a dig, just didn’t work today.

I thought Pereria played well and has forced Nighty out if Nene is fit, Dufty played well but didn’t have enough support - they all just watch him and hope for the best instead of following him. LL should have come on earlier, Mann later. LAM did well.

I’m not giving up yet, limping into the finals is better than not playing in finals, as Scumulla and Cowgirls have demonstrated in the past.

We can still win the grand prize, need to seriously recallibrate and get behind the boys.

Go Dragons.
Good post as always mate, and fairly good read on the game. I am not confident Nene will be back next week but I agree Pereira needs to keep his spot over Nightingale.
Not convinced we can win the grand prize but there is no point in saying we are done for the year when this game has a way of fooling you with its many twists and turns. Fair to say we will really struggle from outside the top 4 and today we couldn't take a great opportunity to stay up in there.

Life's Good

There is no absolution. The refereeing is not a valid argument for the coach or team, but this game was officiated differently and full of mistakes. The game has been about the play the ball speed for 20 plus years. The consistency is what is being questioned here.

I do not disagree with the points made, as I made some previously but it is not the whole story to the days game. I don’t particularly believe the prism of this isn’t a top 8 team, this isn’t a top 4 team changes because we win some games to start the season. I do get that it is very hard for most people to always comment within what they believed the team was likely to do. Not something I like to do.

I don’t rate the coach but neither is the team at a point where he has an abundance of talent. This is a team that might have been a chance for the top 8, with a relatively easy draw due to missing last year. The draw next year will be harder, but I think the team will be stronger. The focus should be strengthen the interchange, build the forwards depth (some changes necessary with Vaughn) and need the two wingers in. A couple of games experience in the finals would do us well.
You make plenty of valid points, I just don’t buy into the refereeing consistency/interpretation argument for this game because it takes the focus away from where the issue really lies.
As for an ‘abundance of talent’ that’s irrelevant given SuperCoach has stated ‘I have the team I want’. He has his talent, he just can’t utilise it.
Anyway, I’m pretty sure we agree on most things so this isn’t intended to come across as argumentative just venting at what was dished up.

Blood Shot Eyes

FMD.

Go Dragons.
Yes good post mate..regarding Widdop I was getting frustrated with his constant slipping and sliding...problem is these days its all about the look...wasnt that long ago that players changed their footwear to suit the conditions...bet it doesnt happen today its all about the look...just look at his hair

Crush

FMD.

Go Dragons.
Mate, I just cannot find anything positive to say.
I appreciate you remaining optimistic but I can't do it.
We are done. Dusted. Toasted. Its over.
The Dragons of the last few weeks wouldn't have beaten any NRL team. We are going sideways. No go forward.
I honestly doubt we will win the last month of footy against the teams outside the eight, prepare yourself for a tough month of footy, hope I am wrong, I often am!

Blood Shot Eyes

The Dragons of the last few weeks wouldn't have beaten any NRL team. We are going sideways. No go forward.
I honestly doubt we will win the last month of footy against the teams outside the eight, prepare yourself for a tough month of footy, hope I am wrong, I often am!
Mate like you Im fast becoming disillusioned.....as I said just got back from England after 8 weeks on Friday and unfortunately couldnt see any full games just the odd highlight package.....and I come home to this garbage....now I can see what your comments have been stating for the passed 8 weeks...shit from the time I left till now is like 2 different teams are playing....bitterley disappointed is an understatement

hazzbeen

Crush GET OFF THAT BUS before it tips over ....;)

gonz

Mate like you Im fast becoming disillusioned.....as I said just got back from England after 8 weeks on Friday and unfortunately couldnt see any full games just the odd highlight package.....and I come home to this garbage....now I can see what your comments have been stating for the passed 8 weeks...shit from the time I left till now is like 2 different teams are playing....bitterley disappointed is an understatement
Same side same style same attitude from 2013

Old Kogarah Boy 1

I decided to do a bit of work and not to watch the game but recorded it. Had the radio on and was listening though....turned it off after 25 mins I couldn't listen to the crap anymore.

I think I might even deleted the recording without even watching it and wasting another 90 minutes of my life like I have done so far since early May

Know the feeling, mate.

After today’s effort and that of all our recent losses...... l have lost all confidence in our team for the remaining season.

Regardless of what happens now, we are not contenders ..... and we should be.

Name me one other team where all there Star Origin players turn to sh!t there after.
None!
Only at the Dragons can we flop as badly as we continue to do.

Everything points to one person, regardless of what we think of him, everything!