Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 23 V Souths

Girds89

What an utter load of crap!!! Watch it again and you will see two players coming at him, one to the left one to his right (Topou). He tried to cover for both, but last minute Topou got the ball. He had a fraction of a second to act, he tried to tackle Topou, but missed, just.

See from 3.25 on.
Not a load of crap at all mate.

Id expect any above average defensive winger in the nrl to make that tackle. Wasnt like topou was steaming on to it. Staines got his shoulder in, both arms around but couldnt bring him down.

We want to win the comp we need to compare ourselves to the best. Topou makes that tackle. Ado carr makes thst tackle etc etc.

Imo i think that tackle along with his low out put in attack the last few months might have been the reason for getting dropped.

If you dont think that no worries. Charlie was dropped on form so had to be something!

mxlegend99

Not a load of crap at all mate.

Id expect any above average defensive winger in the nrl to make that tackle. Wasnt like topou was steaming on to it. Staines got his shoulder in, both arms around but couldnt bring him down.

We want to win the comp we need to compare ourselves to the best. Topou makes that tackle. Ado carr makes thst tackle etc etc.

Imo i think that tackle along with his low out put in attack the last few months might have been the reason for getting dropped.

If you dont think that no worries. Charlie was dropped on form so had to be something!
His wing has conceded less tries than any other right wing in the competition. That puts him above average defensively. That's a fact.

It's your opinion that other wingers could have saved a try in that instance. Yet they concede them more regularly than Charlie does so your opinion is not backed up by fact.

Fangs

I'll call the Staines miss on Crichton poor. But that is because he sets a high standard, he is usually pretty safe and makes sound decisions. He certainly isn't a liability in defence.

The bigger issue is his workload and weakness on kick returns. It is particularly hurting us with To'o out. I sense he won't be named this afternoon either.

Girds89

His wing has conceded less tries than any other right wing in the competition. That puts him above average. That's a fact.

It's your opinion that other wingers coukd have saved a try in that instance. Yet they concede them more regularly than Charlie does so your opinion is not backed up by fact.
Mate do you honestly think topou doesnt make that tackle or ado carr lol?

Get a grip haha.

We have brilliant defensive structures thanks to ciraldo amd the boys work hard for each other especially on the inside making it easier for the outside players.

Charlies been good in defence and he makes good decisions but he struggles to stop offloads or bring his man down at times.

Hes been good for a rookie but certainly not elite. Elite wingers dont miss tackles like the other week. He got a straight up shot on him and missed. It was a tough tackle against a bigger man but "elite" wingers make them all the time!

Ive said multiple times i think hes been good in defence this year but as pointed out in an earlier post he misses 25% of tackles compared to to'os 15%. Our left gets more tries score down it though? So your facts and stats dont really mean much

Girds89

Any posting in here ive always tried to be unbiased as a panthers fan. Tried to see it from an neutral position and just call things as i see it, not with pennies goggles on.

Ive never outright bagged staines in here. Ive always said the things hes done well or parts of his game hes improved slightly. Always tried to offer up a bit of the good with the bad.

As i have with all our players. Ive called momo out but praised him after good performances. I bagged our signing of eiso but after half a dozen rounds called him out for being good. Im a big edwards fan but have called him out after average games.

Some on here seem prepared to defend charlie no matter what, yet other players like momo etc have a decent game yet still get bagged for maybe one mistake in 80mins of football. Critta makes a mistake and its ok but if its edwards or momo they are shit house.

Anything i post on here i try be as unbiased as possible. Im sure if you asked 100 fans from other nrl clubs who they thought elite defensive wingers were not including anyone from there own club, youd be lucky to find one say charlie.

Saying his elite is pretty biased imo. Brett morris was an elite defensive winger. Charlies a long way of his level if you want to say thats the gold standard. Hes been good but!! Really not trying to bag him but gosh some on here are so biased to some players yet love to stick the boot in others even though they are all wearing panthers jerseys.

Just to clarify.. i think one of the biggest reasons our defense has been so good this year on the right is capewell. It really all starts with him.. hes so mobile, makes brilliant decisions and really helps out the outside men. Cleary is a great defender and critta on the right has been incredible in defence. Staines has been good!! But imo it all starts at capewell who really makes brilliant reads, knows when to jam in, slide,push up.. and hes cover from the inside is 1st rate.

Im not sure who our best winger is for the run home on that side. I guess when too is back it will be a fight out between staines, naden, maybe critta if ivan is crazy enough to keep him there and taylan. May the best man win.. competition for spots is great.

Im sure charlie getting dropped will have fire in hes belly. He should be desperate for his spot back and that will hopefully bring put more enthuasiastic performances from all!!

martielang

the dribble is you offering no counter just say f**k me, f**k you is right!

Mate I genuinely have no idea what you're going on about. I said I think we're trying to get Crichton more involved by playing him on the wing ala Manu at the Roosters which has worked, and you started arguing a point I wasn't even arguing. But at the same time you were also agreeing with me by saying Crichton doesn't involve himself which I think is the point of the move.

I reckon either you or Betcats are my mrs in disguise. You both argue like it.

Girds89

Pros vs cons of our right wing options-

Staines-
Pros- good finisher. High strike rate. Solid defensivley and has great speed for 40/20 coverage, run away breaks etc.

Cons- poor output. Doesnt seem to want to look for work. Gets dominated in tackles. Is smaller under high ball and has high error rate.

Naden-
Pros- when his on is a real x factor. That intercept last week was a straight up 12 point turn around. He to has very high strike rate. Good target in the air. Quick enough. Strong ball carrying

Cons- misses tackles he shouldnt, good for a silly mistake once a game. Hasnt played a lot this year.

May-
Pros- good speed similar to charlie. High work rate. Very agile. Will be confident after his debut

Cons- hasnt played enough fg. Hasnt been tested yet. Is quite short like brian so weaker against high ball against tall wingers.

Critta-
Pros- probabky strongest option defensivley. Great aerial target. Playing wing can allow him to roam in field.

Cons- means momo is centre. Crittas been very strong at right centre. He hasnt played a lot of wing. He might not see as much ball outsude momo.

I dont think that ivan rested charlie last week. If anyone was in need of a rest it was edwards. Been running on empty last few weeks i think.

So ivan is clearly not sure who his best wing option is for run home and is playing with combos.

Hopefully he can get it right by week one of finals and we are ready to rock n roll

franklin2323

Kilkenny

His defence for a rookie playing out of position has been f**king fantastic. Using 1 miss to argue otherwise is very silly
Is it reasonable to conclude his defence is so fantastic across 20 games in 2021 based on a total of 59 tackles?

Three per game on average. Granted I assume most wingers may only average three or so tackles per game.

There has been numerous instances where he has come out of the defensive line to shut down attacks where overlaps were a possibility and did so very effectively. He has done very well in those instances.

Overall though he just did his job in effecting simple tackles which make up the vast majority of his total of 59.

I’m not sure he needed a rest and I’m not sure he needed to be dropped if that what it was.

It would be my preferred option to bring him back into the starting 13 and stick by him for the remainder of this season.

2022 can sort itself out next season and Charlie needs to be given a decent opportunity to show what he can do in his preferred position because in my opinion he has a limited future on the wing.

Smug Panther

Pros vs cons of our right wing options-

Staines-
Pros- good finisher. High strike rate. Solid defensivley and has great speed for 40/20 coverage, run away breaks etc.

Cons- poor output. Doesnt seem to want to look for work. Gets dominated in tackles. Is smaller under high ball and has high error rate.

Naden-
Pros- when his on is a real x factor. That intercept last week was a straight up 12 point turn around. He to has very high strike rate. Good target in the air. Quick enough. Strong ball carrying

Cons- misses tackles he shouldnt, good for a silly mistake once a game. Hasnt played a lot this year.

May-
Pros- good speed similar to charlie. High work rate. Very agile. Will be confident after his debut

Cons- hasnt played enough fg. Hasnt been tested yet. Is quite short like brian so weaker against high ball against tall wingers.

Critta-
Pros- probabky strongest option defensivley. Great aerial target. Playing wing can allow him to roam in field.

Cons- means momo is centre. Crittas been very strong at right centre. He hasnt played a lot of wing. He might not see as much ball outsude momo.

I dont think that ivan rested charlie last week. If anyone was in need of a rest it was edwards. Been running on empty last few weeks i think.

So ivan is clearly not sure who his best wing option is for run home and is playing with combos.

Hopefully he can get it right by week one of finals and we are ready to rock n roll
Dylan has had half the year off. No need to rest him

Smug Panther

Is it reasonable to conclude his defence is so fantastic across 20 games in 2021 based on a total of 59 tackles?

Three per game on average. Granted I assume most wingers may only average three or so tackles per game.

There has been numerous instances where he has come out of the defensive line to shut down attacks where overlaps were a possibility and did so very effectively. He has done very well in those instances.

Overall though he just did his job in effecting simple tackles which make up the vast majority of his total of 59.

I’m not sure he needed a rest and I’m not sure he needed to be dropped if that what it was.

It would be my preferred option to bring him back into the starting 13 and stick by him for the remainder of this season.

2022 can sort itself out next season and Charlie needs to be given a decent opportunity to show what he can do in his preferred position because in my opinion he has a limited future on the wing.
Jammed in and stopped many tries when the opposition had overlaps.

Kilkenny

Jammed in and stop many tries when the opposition had overlaps
Absolutely I said as much. Not sure how many, a handful maybe, maybe as many as ten. I’ve never bought into his miss on Tupou other than to say it happens, missed tackles happen and Tupou is one of the games best finishers and very hard to stop in the situation Charlie was faced with.

Smug Panther

Absolutely I said as much. Not sure how many, a handful maybe, maybe as many as ten. I’ve never bought into his miss on Tupou other than to say it happens, missed tackles happen and Tupou is one of the games best finishers and very hard to stop in the situation Charlie was faced with.
May might be the better choice but it's too late. Stick with the f**king side Ivan

I am not defending Charlie more broadly (for me his performances have been fine) but Tommy T missed a bad tackle on Kurt C in SOO1 that resulted in the QLD. Very few claim him as a bad defender.

Everyone misses tackles; I am sure even Ray Price and The Axe might have missed a few over their careers…

Michael Matral

Sorry, just had to post it..I hope IC shuffles things around on game day...maybe Fish and TPJ are line ball propositions this week.

1629180761852.png