Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 23 vs Tigers.

Warabrook saint

Tigpies blew many chances in the 1st 20 minutes and we scored against the run of play so it would have been interesting if they hadn’t blown their chances.
Individual efforts again got us over the line so I still have no confidence against anyone and you need to remember
at times were a complete rabble
Considering the semis are around the corner we need huge improvements in almost all aspects.
I dread to think if they took 70 percent of their chances in the first half

True_Believer

By no means a perfect performance, but it exuded determination and grit.

I wonder if anyone noticed the pre match warm up session. It had an air of purpose behind it, and the players were definitely pumped up compared to the past six-weeks.

They looked like a team which had been frustrated by its recent efforts but cared about the slump which threatened to wreck its season.

These sentiments were mirrored by the way they all ‘put in’,

Next week is an entirely different week and opposition, however it wouldn’t surprise if a resurgence happens before the semis.

Let’s wait and find out.

Mate, I often don't agree with you, but I reckon you've hit the nail on the head.

Great effort tonight that exudes frustration - but by no mean indicates a resurgence. Only the next 2 games will determine where we fit in the grand scheme of things

Warabrook saint

Mate seriously, if you can't see we are getting penalised out of the game in the first half, then you are willing us to lose. You are talking about individual efforts. The first try was a great effort considering we were one again on an unfounded lopsided penalty count. Same thing happened at the start of last week. For some reason we are getting called out instantly compared to the opposition. It's blatant. I'm not sure what we can do to counter that other than Mary blowing up deluxe at the presser.
The reason is the small minded weasels with a whistle

True_Believer

The issue re penalties is a completely separate issue to how we would have responded if the Tigpies didn’t blow the obvious chances they had early on.
If we had of been down by 2 tries which we could have quite easily could we have come back from that?
Marvellous how many people after posting despairingly with all sorts of criticism are now happy to fall for the 3 card Monte after a struggling win against a team that played poorly considering what they had at stake
Some would think that our win tonight was the 2nd coming.

Why is it separate? I mean, if the refs didn't give those soft penalties away, then the tigers wouldn't have had those opportunities. That fact we kept them out shows we had a different attitude tonight.

epDragon62

To all who bagged Mann during the week saying he’s not a 5/8
Etc
You may now eat humble pie
He’s a very capable player in many positions
We should stick with him at 5/8 and i think he will prove to be a better option than Widdop
Put Widdop at fullback
It might be the way to go if Dufty doesn’t spring back. But, will Mann be consistent?

Sat in front of the Tele this arvo hoping the team would click.

Low expectations.

It was great to see an uplift in team effort and intensity.

Tremendous collective effort in defence.

Mann and Leilua take a bow.

Mann showed us he can play very well as a 6.

Luc has grown in confidence. Great to see him smash through defenders like a bowling ball.

Frizz & Sims & Nene McDonald all played very well.

We were far from perfect. Tigers failed to convert their chances.

Guess what ? That’s footy.

Don’t believe any forum members think we are premiership contenders, but that won’t stop us from supporting our team.

Next few weeks are going to be very interesting!!

LINESPEED

We just need someone to spark the halves who will in turn get the backs moving , as someone said earlier, get the ball out to the speed merchants such as Duffey and Field when comings off the bench against tired legs in the latter part of the half’s.
Yes we need centres who can make a break, not make up the numbers.
So glad Jai's got his crack.
Lomax to the centres and we have a real chance.
Widdop to fullback, Hunt to 9.
We have attacking weapons all over the park if we get the selections right Mary, so build on tonight. Then there's Herbert & Robson who would not disappoint

Overseas dragon

1 Herbert 2 Periera 3 Lomax 4 Lafai 5 McDonald 6 Mann 7 Hunt 8 Vaughan 9 McInnes 10 Graham 11 Frizzell 12 Sims 13 De Belin 14 Au Mau 15 Luiliua 16 Latimore 17 Robson well there you go just thought i would pretend i was the coach .as we have 2 winnable games why not trying something different YES Jai field might also be a possibility ........for the bullgrubs game

getsmarty

Dragons grind way back into top four
Local Sport
r0_0_2837_1891_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

HOW GOOD: Dragons players celebrate Luciano Leilua's try in their win over the Tigers on Saturday. Picture. AAP Image

ONLY the coldest of hearts couldn't find sympathy for Dragons halfback Ben Hunt when he spilled the second-half kickoff cold against the Tigers on Saturday night.

You'd need a heart of pure cold hard stone to not feel for him when he was dispatched to the sin-bin 12 minutes later – the fourth Dragons player to earn a 10-minute spell in their past five outings.

Luckily his teammates found something for their No. 7, proving they had his back in eking out a 20-10 win that sees them climb back into the top four after Penrith's limp display against Newcastle hours earlier.

The win didn't see an end to the poor habits that have plagued Paul McGregor's men through their recent slump – making five errors and conceding six straight penalties in the opening 20 minutes alone.

The Tigers helped them out on that score, spilling the ball inside the Dragons 20-metre zone on no less than five occasions in the opening 24 minutes.

They also took a page out if the Dragons book, conceding four straight penalties in the final 15 minutes of the opening stanza and finished the match with 15 errors.

It allowed Jordan Pereira to claim the only try of the first half to lead 6-0 at halftime against the run of play. Hunt paid the price for his side's ill-discipline in the second half but, Luciano Leilua – who also laid on Pereira's four-pointer – provided the telling moment with a solo try with 18 minutes to play.

It gave his side a 14-6 lead before Tyson Frizell sealed the win with a determined try five minutes from time. It was enough to snap a three-game losing streak and put a top-four finish back within their grasp with two games to play.

After a week in which even his own job security was questioned, McGregor went as far as to label it the most satisfying win of his coaching career in the aftermath.

“It's been a different week so to get a nice result that we did, under the circumstances, I can nearly say it's the best win I've had as a coach since I've been at the club,” McGregor said.

“With the penalty count, we had one in the bin, they were playing for their season, the scrutiny that players and staff have been under, to come out and have the resolve we had today shows what we've built our year on since round one.

“It was about knowing what worked for us and getting back to that. We were very big on effort and pressure areas and tonight we found it again, and when we needed to find it, we found it more and more.

“It typified it how we played that first 20 minutes defending our try-line and forcing errors. We've still got a bit of discipline to pick up but, all year our vision's been team first, but our purpose has been top four.

“We've been out of it one week, and everyone came at us, so now it's about being disciplined around staying there for the rest of the year. We've got to back up what we dod today next week against Canterbury.”

Hunt has copped so much flak of late that his wife Bridget felt compelled to leap to his defence on social media earlier this week. The criticism's unlikely to quieten after another tough night for the Dragons’ six-million-dollar man,

He put a kick out on the full and dropped the ball over the try-line after making a jinking run midway through the first 40, and his fumble of the second-half restart allowed Chris Lawrence to cross in the ensuing set to cut the Dragons 6-0 halftime lead back to two.

It only got worse when he was sent to the sin-bin 12 minutes later, with Esan Marsters nailing the penalty goal to draw his side level at 6-0. Returning to steer his side home will mercifully take some sting out of the criticism, and McGregor emphatically backed his man despite the rough night.

"Ben's a part of our 17, he's our No. 7 and he'll always be a part of 17 while I'm coach,” McGregor said.

“He's in there next door and he's not happy with his performance but that's OK because he's got next week. I said through the week, if criticism wants to come to the team it should come to coach so leave my players alone.

“I understand the criticism because it goes with my role. The players get 80 minutes every week to go and protect their character. Benny will be out next week protecting his.”

Lafai re-took the lead with a penalty of his own after Marsters leveled up before Leilua, who's fast emerging as the Dragons most lethal attacking weapon, brushed off Benji Marshall and Michael Chee Kam to score in the 63rd minute.

Lafai converted for a 14-6 lead with 14 minutes to play. Frizell's try sealed the result with Kevin Naiqama's 78th minute consolation try coming with most of the Tigers faithful already heading for the exits.

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5593340/dragons-grind-way-back-into-top-four/?cs=302

Warabrook saint

Yes we need centres who can make a break, not make up the numbers.
So glad Jai's got his crack.
Lomax to the centres and we have a real chance.
Widdop to fullback, Hunt to 9.
We have attacking weapons all over the park if we get the selections right Mary, so build on tonight. Then there's Herbert & Robson who would not disappoint
There's that dreaded speed bump again.....M

giboz71

Hunt and Widdop are the key now.

They’ve effectively been missing the last 6 weeks and yesterday, Widdop wasn’t there and Hunt’s mind was elsewhere yet we still won purely on grit.

If we can get them firing for the semis like they started the year, we can go deep.

Saint_JimmyG

Mate, I often don't agree with you, but I reckon you've hit the nail on the head.

Great effort tonight that exudes frustration - but by no mean indicates a resurgence. Only the next 2 games will determine where we fit in the grand scheme of things

I didn’t guarantee that a resurgence will transpire as a result of this game.

Saint_JimmyG

Tigpies blew many chances in the 1st 20 minutes and we scored against the run of play so it would have been interesting if they hadn’t blown their chances.
Individual efforts again got us over the line so I still have no confidence against anyone and you need to remember
at times were a complete rabble
Considering the semis are around the corner we need huge improvements in almost all aspects.

Definitely agree with many elements contained within here, but the first thing Saints had to do was recalibrate its mindset, This determination, positivity, attitude readjustment (or whatever the hell you want to describe) was clearly palpable during the pre match warm up and didn’t dwindle despite a large number of unforced errors during the game.

Sure, if the side plays in the same error riddled manner against the title heavyweights (Storm, Souths and Chooks), it’ll get flogged, however sometimes a far more valuable boon Is simply collecting the two competitors points and not worrying about HOW you got them.

(Particularly when a side had been bereft of success over a prolonged period)

Victory does wonders for a club’s general well-being,

nontime111

Id go with this backline for the rest of the year when Widdops fit again ( with LUC always being in the 17!)

Widdop
Periera
Mann
Lafai
Nene
Field
Hunt

ALSGI

The issue re penalties is a completely separate issue to how we would have responded if the Tigpies didn’t blow the obvious chances they had early on.
If we had of been down by 2 tries which we could have quite easily could we have come back from that?
Marvellous how many people after posting despairingly with all sorts of criticism are now happy to fall for the 3 card Monte after a struggling win against a team that played poorly considering what they had at stake
Some would think that our win tonight was the 2nd coming.
OT, you’re right about the chances Tigers blew early and I agree that if we had to come back from a couple try’s down it would have been difficult however you’re not giving enough credit for the great defence that caused their errors and all in the face of lop sided refereeing.

You’re also right about some of our plays being best described as a rable, especially in the first half. You’re right about the individual brilliance however again you’re not giving enough credit to the lead up work. I was impressed with the way all of our backs brought the ball back and our entire pack really got us rolling.

Mary now has something to build from.

Dufty’s droped ball was bad, but it happens to the best FB’s. I was glad he attacked it tbh. Hunt’s droped ball, FMD. I felt sorry for him. I reckon there’s plenty that would completely lose the plot in his position. He put in some good kicks and defended well mostly. He’s a little champion and will bounce back.

Graham has to be Captain if we’re to address the refereeing.

Glad I polished my Dragons plates yesterday. Time for you to get rid of the spider webs of yours mate.