Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 25 V Knights

BLM01

You can add
8. Our roster is not nearly as good as
we think it is.
9. Our forwards are not nearly as fearsome as we think they are.
10. We have no proper development programme for young players.
11. Our recruitment & retention department is over rated.
Out of all the 11 suggestions above I only disagree with 2,3 & 9. Tiredness, busted is an excuse for mediocrity. So dont buy that. Besides Mcgregor lets the players decide who plays and if they feel allright. So 2 & 3 is the coaches fault. No 9.. we have a great forward back revered by most clubs.

dannyt

You can add
8. Our roster is not nearly as good as
we think it is.
9. Our forwards are not nearly as fearsome as we think they are.
10. We have no proper development programme for young players.
11. Our recruitment & retention department is over rated.
Hmm- only 11.

I'm sure we can add to this during the day.

dannyt

Out of all the 11 suggestions above I only disagree with 2,3 & 9. Tiredness, busted is an excuse for mediocrity. So dont buy that. Besides Mcgregor lets the players decide who plays and if they feel allright. So 2 & 3 is the coaches fault. No 9.. we have a great forward back revered by most clubs.
I'm sure the reasons can be refined.

I thought up those 7 off the top of my head.

BLM01

In regards to sat arvo..with exception for Pearce Knights have a reserve grade spine and a lot of good players injured. Surely to god...Dragons win that one..and by plenty.

dannyt

In regards to sat arvo..with exception for Pearce Knights have a reserve grade spine and a lot of good players injured. Surely to god...Dragons win that one..and by plenty.
So did the dogs.

But I must admit, I'd prefer a win rather than a loss.

Our forward pack has been dominated for 10 weeks and has hardly made a yard in anger in that time and exactly the same thing happened last year
IMO we scare nobody up front once the season reaches the halfway point and we struggle to get out of our own end.
A few good individual runs and a few good individual hits but as a pack we offer little and it is reflected in how bad our half back is going.

BLM01

At start of the season they won 6 in a row, please explain why they cannot finish the season winning 5 in a row and becoming premiers, why such a dramatic change in form?
I'll give you 1. Most teams dont hit peak form in the first half of the year. Now most of them are even most of the bottom 8...except for the Dragons, Manly and Panthers.

BLM01

Our forward pack has been dominated for 10 weeks and has hardly made a yard in anger in that time and exactly the same thing happened last year
IMO we scare nobody up front once the season reaches the halfway point and we struggle to get out of our own end.
A few good individual runs and a few good individual hits but as a pack we offer little and it is reflected in how bad our half back is going.
Your missing the point. That is coaching, game plans, playing busted whatever you want to call it..not the individual players. A well coached and drilled forward pack and our pack would be wanted by most coaches and still revered by others at full strength. Basically there aint that many better forward packs in the comp..on paper. Just need a master to lead them.

Not sure what you have been watching but what I see is a forward pack that only dominates early season games due to higher fitness levels and that doesn’t last all season long
A moment ago you said you didn’t accept tired or busted as a true excuse but you considered it an excuse for mediocrity.

hazzbeen

Not sure what you have been watching but what I see is a forward pack that only dominates early season games due to higher fitness levels and that doesn’t last all season long
A moment ago you said you didn’t accept tired or busted as a true excuse but you considered it an excuse for mediocrity.
Its a fact look at season's gone by under Mary , the team comes out of the boxes the fittest team in the Comp. Their preseason training is gruelling , The are playing their best football they can , but at the wrong end of the season . For me the season was over 7 weeks ago .....

BLM01

Again missing the point. I dont accept fatigue as a reason as I blame the coaching staff for the teams and our forward packs demise in the back half, not the individuals, who as individuals most are still trying their guts out. The team as a whole are in freefall and thats the coach.
A good coach will make that forward pack hum all year (and yeh maybe start a fraction slower) but all I am saying is on paper at full strength we have one of the best packs in the comp..playing to their potential. We are in the Top 3 starting packs as individuals on paper. No's 8-13. The only one that would be ahead would be Souths, maybe Roosters & Melb name for name on par.

6 and 7 I reckon are the most relevant. Other sides eventually work out our one dimensional play and the weak spots in our backline. Mary as the coach should have plans to correct this. Mary as the coach should develop plans and strategies to target other teams weaknesses. Sadly there is no evidence that Mary has any sort of plan.

BLM01

Its a fact look at season's gone by under Mary , the team comes out of the boxes the fittest team in the Comp. Their preseason training is gruelling , The are playing their best football they can , but at the wrong end of the season . For me the season was over 7 weeks ago .....
Yes and who is to blame. Mary, Young , HPU..but not the individual forwards who have been coached the same way for 4 years. Why did we have one of the best packs at the start of the year and lauded by the media. Because we are and were good. Players dont forget how to play. Other factors for their demise are out of their control is all I am saying.

getsmarty

grahamj_2nh_6552.jpg

DRAGONS

Under siege Dragons hope honesty session can revive season
Author
Brad Walter Senior Reporter
Timestamp
Tue 28 Aug 2018, 06:43 PM

St George Illawarra players were asked at an honesty session after last Sunday’s 38-0 capitulation to Canterbury to put themselves in Jason Nightingale’s shoes and consider whether they’d be satisfied if that was their final game.

As expected, the answer was a resounding “no”, following a performance described as the worst by any NRL team this season and one which cost the Dragons a top-four finish.

As they returned to training on Tuesday, the players were still stinging from the defeat and felt they had let down Nightingale, who was making his farewell at Kogarah and will not play again unless the Dragons advance deep into the finals.

“We’ve had a few honest conversations already so it is how we respond,” second-rower Tariq Sims said.

The NSW Origin forward said the theme of the discussion had been: “Was that your best effort?”

“Gypsy [Nightingale], that was his last game playing there in a regular round, Jubilee [Oval] is part of the furniture and with Lance [Thompson’s] passing, if that was the last game you ever played would you be happy with that,” Sims said.

“Across the board, it was pretty much ‘no’, so we have got a lot of areas that we need to address.”

Dragons remain stoic despite upset fans

Nightingale will continue training in the hope that his career is not over after being told he would be sidelined for two-to-four weeks with a dislocated elbow.

Centre Euan Aitken hopes to return for the finals after suffering a low-grade hamstring tear against the Bulldogs, while captain Gareth Widdop is also due back from a dislocated shoulder in the play-offs.

The Dragons remain confident they can still be a force in the finals and believe they need to revert to the playing style which saw them lead the Telstra Premiership for the first 16 rounds of the season.

Discipline has become a problem for the team and they were forced to make a mammoth 449 tackles last Sunday, compared to 314 by Canterbury.

“I think we clocked in another record for the most tackles on the weekend so for us to get that is obviously disappointing, but the penalties we are giving away are just childish, schoolboy penalties,” Sims said.

Lock Jack de Belin added: "When you never have any ball and all you are doing is tackling it is pretty hard to find the energy to run hard. When we finally do get it we are gassed and fatigued and can't get a roll on".

He also revealed the Dragons had changed their game plan and defensive structure.

nightingalej_1nh_3718.jpg

Dragons winger Jason Nightingale farewells the Kogarah faithful. :copyright:Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos
“I think we are just playing edge to edge football, whereas we need to go back to playing power,” Sims said. “Our strength is our forward pack. That’s what got us the wins earlier in the season.”

De Belin said some players were trying to do too much on their own and admitted his form had been down since Origin after losing 5kg and suffering a sternum injury.

“I haven’t been playing my best footy, and the rest of the team would have to put their hand up to say the same thing,” de Belin said.

However, the Blues stars insisted they had not felt the need for a rest after Origin and told coach Paul McGregor they wanted to continue playing for their club.

“As players. we took it out of ‘Mary’s’ hands and said we wanted to play. I think to a person we just haven’t played up to our standards as representative players.”

De Belin and Sims defended McGregor and halfback Ben Hunt, who have borne the brunt of most criticism for their team’s poor performances since Origin.

“I feel he has done a great job for us and he is in the same boat as me and half the side, we aren’t playing our best and I suppose it is hard when you are the halfback and the focal point of the side and you are obviously not performing, then you cop a lot of criticism,” de Belin said of Hunt.

Sims, who has been defending next to Hunt on the right edge since NSW prop Paul Vaughan was injured four weeks ago, added: “As a back-rower I didn’t do my job on the weekend so to be honest I am pretty dirty on myself."

He also rejected criticism of McGregor.

“He’s one of those coaches who as a player makes you want to play for him,” Sims said. “I’ve got a lot of respect for Mary, he was pretty much the reason I came here. To play for a coach such as Mary was too good to knock back.”

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...agons-hope-honesty-session-can-revive-season/

St Georgio

grahamj_2nh_6552.jpg

DRAGONS

Author
Timestamp

St George Illawarra players were asked at an honesty session after last Sunday’s 38-0 capitulation to Canterbury to put themselves in Jason Nightingale’s shoes and consider whether they’d be satisfied if that was their final game.

As expected, the answer was a resounding “no”, following a performance described as the worst by any NRL team this season and one which cost the Dragons a top-four finish.

As they returned to training on Tuesday, the players were still stinging from the defeat and felt they had let down Nightingale, who was making his farewell at Kogarah and will not play again unless the Dragons advance deep into the finals.

“We’ve had a few honest conversations already so it is how we respond,” second-rower Tariq Sims said.

The NSW Origin forward said the theme of the discussion had been: “Was that your best effort?”

“Gypsy [Nightingale], that was his last game playing there in a regular round, Jubilee [Oval] is part of the furniture and with Lance [Thompson’s] passing, if that was the last game you ever played would you be happy with that,” Sims said.

“Across the board, it was pretty much ‘no’, so we have got a lot of areas that we need to address.”

Nightingale will continue training in the hope that his career is not over after being told he would be sidelined for two-to-four weeks with a dislocated elbow.

Centre Euan Aitken hopes to return for the finals after suffering a low-grade hamstring tear against the Bulldogs, while captain Gareth Widdop is also due back from a dislocated shoulder in the play-offs.

The Dragons remain confident they can still be a force in the finals and believe they need to revert to the playing style which saw them lead the Telstra Premiership for the first 16 rounds of the season.

Discipline has become a problem for the team and they were forced to make a mammoth 449 tackles last Sunday, compared to 314 by Canterbury.

“I think we clocked in another record for the most tackles on the weekend so for us to get that is obviously disappointing, but the penalties we are giving away are just childish, schoolboy penalties,” Sims said.

Lock Jack de Belin added: "When you never have any ball and all you are doing is tackling it is pretty hard to find the energy to run hard. When we finally do get it we are gassed and fatigued and can't get a roll on".

He also revealed the Dragons had changed their game plan and defensive structure.

Dragons winger Jason Nightingale farewells the Kogarah faithful. :copyright:Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos
“I think we are just playing edge to edge football, whereas we need to go back to playing power,” Sims said. “Our strength is our forward pack. That’s what got us the wins earlier in the season.”

De Belin said some players were trying to do too much on their own and admitted his form had been down since Origin after losing 5kg and suffering a sternum injury.

“I haven’t been playing my best footy, and the rest of the team would have to put their hand up to say the same thing,” de Belin said.

However, the Blues stars insisted they had not felt the need for a rest after Origin and told coach Paul McGregor they wanted to continue playing for their club.

“As players. we took it out of ‘Mary’s’ hands and said we wanted to play. I think to a person we just haven’t played up to our standards as representative players.”

De Belin and Sims defended McGregor and halfback Ben Hunt, who have borne the brunt of most criticism for their team’s poor performances since Origin.

“I feel he has done a great job for us and he is in the same boat as me and half the side, we aren’t playing our best and I suppose it is hard when you are the halfback and the focal point of the side and you are obviously not performing, then you cop a lot of criticism,” de Belin said of Hunt.

Sims, who has been defending next to Hunt on the right edge since NSW prop Paul Vaughan was injured four weeks ago, added: “As a back-rower I didn’t do my job on the weekend so to be honest I am pretty dirty on myself."

“He’s one of those coaches who as a player makes you want to play for him,” Sims said. “I’ve got a lot of respect for Mary, he was pretty much the reason I came here. To play for a coach such as Mary was too good to knock back.”

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/201...agons-hope-honesty-session-can-revive-season/
This is why i ask can they turn it around!

grahamj_2nh_6552.jpg

DRAGONS

Author
Timestamp

Well there it is.
Two of our best forwards analyzing what has happened.
McGregor's done a great job and is the sort of Coach that players love to play for.
Regardless of results, it's never because McGregor is coach.

Dragonslayer

Our spread of the ball is akin to watching u10's. Everytime we hit the player behind the ad line this obviously gives defense plenty of time to jam up any attack which makes a further spread of the ball impossible. When we get it right like Leilua's bust and JP try against the Tigers it looks sweet.

The other point is when we are deep in attack, its almost just one out drive to the line. Just about every set you can defend us vecause you know its a one out attempt. Its really like watching Rugby, drivevto the line followed by another drive to the line. When we do pass it out to a back it looks like "wtf do i do with it"?

DRAGONS

Author
Timestamp

If ever there was a quote that tells you all you need to know about why Paul McGregor will never be a up to standard as a first grade coach, this is it.