Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 5 Results

MR KNIGHT

Still not getting it Cat,

We play players who come to training and want to learn. You talk about the size of NYC and our player pool. Most people get out of NYC in the summer, especially any decent union players from the super league. We had 4 starters against you guys in their first year of league ( 2 of them first year in any sort of rugby), a 17 year old and three more under 23.

A good exampl is this. If we wanted to win we would trot out Adam Nable each week who played more than 70 first grade games in Australia. He came off the bench for half a game so we could start some American kids. When we played you at your home ground he dressed but let the younger Americans get on the field. Same with Matt Astill. And Scott Roskell didn't play at all(record try scorer of the London Broncos)Thats what it is about. They would rather Americans learn to play.
Maybe we should dedicate a game next year with no import rule so we could really unleash some hell on your young guys learning the game. That might be fun!
Oh yeah, last year we had three American born Tomahawks, Joe Hughes, Ryan Mulligan and Tom Scneizbach.

stevet

I am worried what i have got myself into ,with this rugby scene in america, the bullsh*t to play this game and enjoy it is incredible guys,when are we going to get a controling body that works and development officers to oversee and encourage refs ,players ,and dont use theres no money to do it,i have raised $4000 in 2 months ,make your mind up AMRLFC BUILD IT AND THEY WILL COME

stevet

mr knight , i guess there is more to this sledging than meets the eye, but it doesnt help the development if young americans read your comments mate ,take it to the field ,it doesnt harm to have rivalry ,and refs have always been hard to find because of these situations teams create,no ref can help you win a rugby game period!

Play some footy

you hit the nail on the head!!

these two sound like a couple of gooses - name dropping, allegations, whinging - get with the program.

we're supposed to be promoting the game -

Playoffs in two weeks - lets start talking about that!

mr knight , i guess there is more to this sledging than meets the eye, but it doesnt help the development if young americans read your comments mate ,take it to the field ,it doesnt harm to have rivalry ,and refs have always been hard to find because of these situations teams create,no ref can help you win a rugby game period!

RhinoCats

You know what the Wildcats are always at the recieving end of everyones abuse and complaints, we have had the comp against us for years. We have been badgered about imports year after year, and for the last two seasons from what i understand we have bought in no more that 2 players from overseas each year, yet we get called the "Australia Cats". Because we have some guys from Australia who live and work in the area, no different from all the other clubs, we are the ones who dont follow import rules.

MR KNIGHT

I wont continue this debate anymore because obviously, we are missing the point. It turned into a slanging match and obviously I am half to blame.

It started with me standing up for one of our officials because the wildcats begged him to ref it because no one else could and then more than complain about his perfomance, question the integrity of some of his descisions. My main point is everyone has to help with the development of referes over here, if you read my original posts, this is what I am on about.

The name dropping was to prove a point that winning a comp is not our main goal, but developing the platers and the comp.

Regards

Mister Knight

PS Don't worry about it - New York and Connecticut have hated each other since the end of 2002 when the cats formed. i think it is by and large a healthy hatred, that is pretty common in sport!

roopy

The name dropping was to prove a point that winning a comp is not our main goal, but developing the platers and the comp.
If it's worth anything, as a Newcastle Knights fan i've always wanted to be a NY Knights fan, but got the impression they were a team of old union players doing little for development, and your posts in this thread have convinced me i got it wrong and the Knights are a team i can follow.

deluded pom?

Iwhen are we going to get a controling body that works and development officers to oversee and encourage refs ,players ,and dont use theres no money to do it,

I think you've hit the nail on the head there Steve. I wouldn't want to throw the baby out with the bath water but what is it exactly that the AMNRL do to promote Rugby League in America? David Niu might be doing heaps behind the scenes that no-one overseas ever witnesses but I struggle to see any tangible benefits from it. If anything the comp appears to be going backwards with regard to the standards that should be set. Strict rules need to be put in place and adhered to . As has been discussed elsewhere in this thread development work needs to be done not just of players but also officials. I don't claim to have any answers it's just that the AMNRL COULD be so much better than it actually is. Who exactly sits on the board of the AMNRL? One man can't possibly cope with all the relevant things needed to run a sporting body. This post is by no way meant to undrvalue David Niu's input into American Rugby League but maybe it's time he accepted that he can't do everything singlehandedly.

stevet

hello to all, if we all contribute to the sleeping giant,surely someone is going to say ,hang on a minute there is real business to be had with this rugby game in the us ,and the final piece MONEY TO BE MADE! this is the usa guys not aus or uk nz were 90% play for the love of the game ,then and only then will we have powers to be covering all the aspects of taking us into pro rugby league,im 100% we are all after the same thing ,we have to start with Mr niu and people like spinner ,but we need help from the aus and uk powers to be ,to educate the authoritys on the values of our game and structure it brings to young people being part of a club with code of conduct and values needed,apparantly there is something about rugby team values on espn or msn but i merkin find it guys,but finally its great to have these debates it means we care,and we all have our opinions,i am taking our young team to jacksonville on august 2nd ,and i will maintain our league interest ,doing what we can ,thanks to all steve@bradenton bulldogs

Play some footy

some may say - the proof is in the pudding.

no imports = average team (like this year)

w/ imports = GF appearance (as in years past)

in any event - lets start talking about the finals

You know what the Wildcats are always at the recieving end of everyones abuse and complaints, we have had the comp against us for years. We have been badgered about imports year after year, and for the last two seasons from what i understand we have bought in no more that 2 players from overseas each year, yet we get called the "Australia Cats". Because we have some guys from Australia who live and work in the area, no different from all the other clubs, we are the ones who dont follow import rules.

RhinoCats

some may say - the proof is in the pudding.

no imports = average team (like this year)

w/ imports = GF appearance (as in years past)

in any event - lets start talking about the finals

Like I said the team won the comp last year with just two players bought in for the season. The others were here permanently. Same as this year, except a number of long standing players left for one reason or another, imports have nothing to do with it. Finals - Cats will be cannon fodder, gone in week 1 unless something dramatic happens in CT.