Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 V Roosters

I'm Hornby

Mbye was brilliant at the back today. So safe under the high ball, attacked every high kick and looked like he wanted to get underneath it and catch it. Made some crucial try saving tackles and undoubtedly had some involvement in organising the 12 blokes in front of him in their sturdy defence as well.

Haven't seen a number one with that type of defensive prowess for us since dare I say my namesake.

I hope he can keep it up and play a big part in our win against his former side this weekend.

redandwhite4evr

Played fourteen today (including referee A Gee Up)- Holbrook and Peyton got it absolutely right when they said they're is a bias towards the successful teams- how Tupou didn't even get binned for a stiff arm to the jaw/head should be the subject of a Royal Commission into official ...........(the word I'd like to use is probably libellous)

It was gritty Anzac spirit in the second half- we were the Anzacs in our entrenched lead but facing a full frontal assault from the numerically superior Turks (Roosters). It was mistake ridden and not one for the purists but we'll take the two points.

While it is sad to hear of Bird's injury, one door opens when another closes. Amone has been OK from the bench, but I'd be inclined to go with Sullivan as his replacement based on his scintillating KOE form and his solid defence.

kit66

To be fair Kit66 Hook and Hunt explained it in the press conference, they just didnt want to give the chooks the ball from unstructured play, worked in the first half and didnt work in the second, then again you cant say we had any share of penalties , 6 agains or anything, so that made it look even worse than what it was.

Yeah, obviously part of the game plan but like I said we are the worst defensive team so it was a massive risk and as Belta just said counter productive. I think a very high percentage of tries are scored on the back of repeat sets, so to throw away any opportunity to earn a repeat set is foolish in the extreme.

Great win though and a great spectacle, worthy of the occasion.

Blood Shot Eyes

Two points

1. Where's that Roosters troll who was on last week telling us Knights were dudded?

2. The tackle of Tupou on Ravalawa makes a MOCKERY of this sport given some of the suspensions and bins we've received over the last year. I think back to Vaughan on a sharks player for accidentally brushing his nose, Pereira on Tedesco and some of the hip high tackle suspensions given to the rava himself.

Just heard Abdo even said it should have been a bin.

Appalling officiating.
I distinctly heard the ref on Fox when Rava copped it say, to I presume the bunker have a look at the high shot but it looks worse than what it is.....I thought FMD is he kidding himself...listen to the replay but Im sure thats what he said....actualy Tupou was the one that caused the injury to SuA...Warea Hargreaves grabbed his leg and dropped on it but Tupou drove him backwards over himself which caused his leg to bend under imo

Ghostrider22

Yes we are mate, we now have long term injuries, should be an interesting team selection this week, it wont be easy playing WT , they have found some form and are playing a good brand of footy.
It’s going to be bloody hard against WT who have found their feet. Where are our points going to come from, after today, things will have to change massively for the WT. What you have stated so true.

justadragon

I distinctly heard the ref on Fox when Rava copped it say, to I presume the bunker have a look at the high shot but it looks worse than what it is.....I thought FMD is he kidding himself...listen to the replay but Im sure thats what he said....actualy Tupou was the one that caused the injury to SuA...Warea Hargreaves grabbed his leg and dropped on it but Tupou drove him backwards over himself which caused his leg to bend under imo
Agree with you BSE, but JWH was the one that initiated the tackle and Tupou finished it off

HenryTatana

Had Rava stayed down, sin bin minimum. However we would have lost him for 10 minutes in the head bin. This would have posed even more of a dilemma.