Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 Vs The Roosters

Kilkenny

Dropping Garner haha why?
As I have said mate, I don’t think wholesale sackings are the answer.

If we want wholesale sackings to shake things up, then perhaps bring in Kepaoa, Patea, Geyer, Toulau I’m not sure who else is viable.

Most have made there mind up about Maverick Geyer, not being up to NRL, but I wouldn’t be disappointed if he got a run of games of the bench in place of Garner or Sorenson. He’s younger , fit, has been going well in Cup maybe just give him a crack. Just give him the licence to rip in and if he sees an offload let him play heads up.

Luke Bowden

As I have said mate, I don’t think wholesale sackings are the answer.

If we want wholesale sackings to shake things up, then perhaps bring in Kepaoa, Patea, Geyer, Toulau I’m not sure who else is viable.

Most have made there mind up about Maverick Geyer, not being up to NRL, but I wouldn’t be disappointed if he got a run of games of the bench in place of Garner or Sorenson. He’s younger , fit, has been going well in Cup maybe just give him a crack. Just give him the licence to rip in and if he sees an offload let him play heads up.
Mav is now consistently playing well in cup, I’d probably like to see another month of solid footy and he’d certainly be in mix.

Murraymob1

Our depth is bad .Not sure how a development club can slide so bad .But the reserves need to be rewarded .Even if it’s just a few at a time..The current 17 are so far off the mark .Picking the same 17 each week will get you the same result

Same team till Magic Round for me. Bring back in Cole for Blaize and run with our best 17.

If I had to make a change, it would be Mav or Patea for Sorro (on the basis that Sorro has looked a little cooked) and some of the guys watching reserve grade have suggested Mav is doing well and I like the look of Patea.

While it might be getting towards the time to panic, I am not sure it is going to do us any good.

Goonji

We have had too many changes this year, many forced by injuries. It's time to settle on a team going forward and pick and stick to give blokes a chance to settle in. Whatever may be. Changes every week doesn't help, especially with younger / inexperienced players.

The Realist

Really unfortunate for Kenny, but probably not surprising given how he plays the game and how much of it he's had to play these past few years.

I think there is something to what you have said here. We play a highly physical style. It probably isn't conducive to longevity. Over the last 5 years we have had a relatively young squad (average age) so they had less 'wear and tear' and were younger and more supple so got injured less and recovered quicker when they did.

Now that most of our core is more mature they have not only accumulated damage but will be more likely to get injured and recover slower.

One of the biggest examples is probably Brian To'o. His style is crazy physical and IMO he is already in decline. You can see he is not as quick or dynamic as he was back in say 2022. And he is only 26. I just hope and pray that this decline is as gradual as possible.

The Realist

Don't mind Jack in Centre, but Tago can't stay where he is

Cole has been just as big a liability. You should have seen him close up at the ground getting carved by the Cowboys. It was painful to watch. I don't want to write him off as some others have, but he is not the answer at centre.

Tago looks like he has either lost all confidence or that he is deeply unhappy. Just look at his body language over the last year - it's not good. It is somewhat emblematic of the malaise that has now struck the entire squad. My personal hope is that he has a breakout game that gets his mojo back.

I just don't see anyone in our squad who could adequately replace him, the only 'reliable' option I see is shifting Garner into being a defensive centre but Garner struggles with fitness playing most of a game.

Fangs

This should be the furthest thing from the team's mind but...

Payback match this one. Easily the most surprising victory by a team this year in round 2. All time upset. We should have toweled them.

Deep down I just really want to see us belt these blokes.

Kilkenny

Cole has been just as big a liability. You should have seen him close up at the ground getting carved by the Cowboys. It was painful to watch. I don't want to write him off as some others have, but he is not the answer at centre.

Tago looks like he has either lost all confidence or that he is deeply unhappy. Just look at his body language over the last year - it's not good. It is somewhat emblematic of the malaise that has now struck the entire squad. My personal hope is that he has a breakout game that gets his mojo back.

I just don't see anyone in our squad who could adequately replace him, the only 'reliable' option I see is shifting Garner into being a defensive centre but Garner struggles with fitness playing most of a game.
I will second your assessment of Jack Cole not being a centre. He offers nothing in the position that top class centres provides. It’s not a knock on him it just isn’t his position.

I think with Jack Cole he just needs to continue to work hard and try and develop his game. Tom Dearden was discarded by the Broncos but has developed into a very, very good 5/8 at the Cowboys. Jack Cole it dissimilar in style, build, he could still make it, but he has work to do.

I think Isaac Tago is clearly lacking in confidence and doubting himself. I’d like to think he can rediscover his mojo and get back to somewhere near his best. We need him to because the other options are untried commodities .

Serious question for you all. Considering the Panthers edge defenders have been caught out a lot this year, do you think your club made a wrong move in keeping Luke Garner and letting Zac Hosking go? To me, Hosking always seemed like a better defender.

You guys have seen more of them play than I, so just interested in your views. Cheers.

age.s

I'd love to have kept Hosking, but not play center. He was a very poor defender there in the few games he filled in. I'd hate to see how he'd fare there in our current funk.

Garner has performed really well for us. Better at backrow than off the bench but solid at center too. I rate Hosking a bit higher overall but not by a heap.

Frankus

do you think your club made a wrong move in keeping Luke Garner and letting Zac Hosking go?
Yes. Absolutely yes.

Although neither of them could fix our edge issues at the moment. Hell I reckon we could play both and have 14 men on the field and still be carved up with Tago rushing out of the line or just not being able to read and commit to a tackle.

Chins

Serious question for you all. Considering the Panthers edge defenders have been caught out a lot this year, do you think your club made a wrong move in keeping Luke Garner and letting Zac Hosking go? To me, Hosking always seemed like a better defender.

You guys have seen more of them play than I, so just interested in your views. Cheers.
Ivan won't play Garner despite being our best backrower last year