Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 9 | Roosters 24-6 Knights @ Allianz | Sunday 3pm

R9 result :: Roosters vs Knights

TooheysNew

Did Uate even play - if ever there has been a dissapointment this year it's HIM - I know he's a winger and all but fair dinkum he is a GHOST this year - hope he don't even get picked for origin cause his form sure dont rate it. - and DONT get me started on some of the other shit we have - and NO - this is NOT an OVEREACTION - WE f**kING SUCK !
Bhaha f**k you crack me up.

Alex28

Aku needs a bit of structure and needs to stick to his wing more. If Bennett is telling him to do that it is for his own good. Aku did far too much pointless running in the past which ultimately got in the road of others. Aku getting out of position and trying to do it all ultimately helps no one...

shane1970

Picking on spelling mistakes obvious trait of a man confident in his argument. If you know of wingers of can score from anywhere on the park at will feel free to give the club a call but considering Uate is regarded as the best in his position I think you will find they are more then happy with him. :lol:
What has my post, in reference to yours, got to do with spelling mistakes genius - I dunno but I reckon you may have to repeat kindy now little fella !:D Oh but if we are gonna go down the spelling track - perhaps we could also go down the grammar track - and spelling again !

Nuffy

I am absolutely stunned at how sh*t we are in so many of the basic areas of the game. We aren't playing like a Bennett team.

Dropped balls, multiple penalties on the 5th tackle and really poor decision making with pushed passes and the like.

The pack is soft and every other club knows it, we are too small and too lazy to make a game of it with other packs who want to have a dig.

Coupled with the fact that we are utterly useless inside 20M, we just dont look like threatening consistently, its amazing but we seem to have actually regressed in this aspect.

I think its now reaching a point where big changes need to be made and Bennett needs to wield the axe. We are no chance of winning this year so its now time to actually see what the youngsters can do.

Additionally, we need to clean out all the off contract players, none look like they are actually capable of maintaining a consistent standard.

We need to hit the market really hard or as RABK has rightly said, we aren't likely to challenge for the entire period of Bennett's contract.

Once criticism of Bennett, his selection of Costigan was plain dumb, he looked totally clueless, we mustn't have a single decent hooker option in the entire club if that was the best option.

Bennett might not want to spend big money on props (or forwards for that matter) but he is going to need to relax that rule, it probably works when the junior production line is churning out quality forwards constantly (like Broncs and Saints) but our system isn't and doesn't look likely anytime soon. Edwards was the last and he is utter sh*te.

I think Bennett would be starting to wonder what he's got himself into, he'll need all his magic to rebuild this situation.

PS Can someone please tell Mullen that his regular article about "stepping up" just makes him look foolish. He wasnt the worst on the field but this type of statement just makes him look stupid when its followed by such an impotent effort such as today.

Rod

Positives
- The first 30 minutes we defended like champions.
- Mullen and Mason.

Negatives
- The whole second half we completely dropped our bundle defensively and went back to the Knights of old. Feeble shirt-grabbing shit.
- Surely that Costigan-to-hooker experiment is over. Absolutely woeful.
- Our forward pack got ripped to shreds. Not only this but we failed to counterract it with any sort of expansive play. Uate must have touched the ball maybe 5 times all game?
- I have been patient with Boyd up until now. I'm not expecting miracles behind a beaten forward pack but what is he trying to achieve with those ridiculously slow play-the balls?
- Considering we have a coach the quality of Bennett we are unbelievably dumb. Penalties on the fifth tackle, forward passes. It seems like we barely got to our kick all game.
- Many more I can't think of right now because I'm still so angry.

IanG

We were terrible today simple as that. Too much dropped ball, we shot ourselves in the foot big time. We've been our own worst enemy.

Just frustrating that our season gradually starting to go to custard

Wato

What has my post, in reference to yours, got to do with spelling mistakes genius - I dunno but I reckon you may have to repeat kindy now little fella !:D Oh but if we are gonna go down the spelling track - perhaps we could also go down the grammar track - and spelling again !

You quoted me and mentioned my spelling, that's why genius. Honestly how many beers have you had before you came on here?

IanG

Positives
- The first 30 minutes we defended like champions.
- Mullen and Mason.
Yeah that was brilliant having to contantly defend back to back sets of 6 by the Roosters

Negatives
- The whole second half we completely dropped our bundle defensively and went back to the Knights of old. Feeble shirt-grabbing shit.
- Surely that Costigan-to-hooker experiment is over. Absolutely woeful.
- Our forward pack got ripped to shreds. Not only this but we failed to counterract it with any sort of expansive play. Uate must have touched the ball maybe 5 times all game?
- I have been patient with Boyd up until now. I'm not expecting miracles behind a beaten forward pack but what is he trying to achieve with those ridiculously slow play-the balls?
- Considering we have a coach the quality of Bennett we are unbelievably dumb. Penalties on the fifth tackle, forward passes. It seems like we barely got to our kick all game.
- Many more I can't think of right now because I'm still so angry.

All these points are why I'm bashing my head against the wall

Tinkler's patience must now be under serious tension now. A few more losses and who knows what will happen. The club is safe. The rest.......... He is unpredictable.

aqua_duck

Last week we set about setting a new record for 1st tackle knock ons, this week we had about 5 of them but decided since we couldn't reach the lofty heights of last weeks 8 knock ons on the 1st tackle we'd try to compensate by setting a new record for 5th tackle penalties, I can't 4 which is absolutely disgusting. I can tolerate a penalty on the 1st but a penalty on the last is absolutely criminal and we managed to achieve it 4 times today.
Honestly we don't deserve to make the 8, we have absolutely no respect for the ball, the roosters were offloading like the Harlem Globetrotters yet still managed to complete 76% of their sets, we play boring one out football yet can't even complete 70% of our sets, that's just not good enough. Wayne has a reputation for being a very fundamentals orientated coach, well our fundamentals are disgraceful, errors in the play the ball, forward passes from dummy half, not holding the ball in the tackle, seriously these things are basics of the game.
We desperate need some changes. Cuthberson is still shit, Edwards offers nothing, Taia's defence is about as good as Chris Sandow and Naiqama bitched it hard today and made Tagive look like Wendell Sailor in his prime.
All need a week in NSW cup IMO, I don't care who we bring up but they couldn't be any worse

Alex28

Throwing a bunch of juniors into first grade is pointless. Identify the deadwood, get rid of them and get aggressive in the player market.

Apey

Very rarely has Uate been given good ball at all this year - we are missing Mad Dog in the department. My criticisms of Uate would be that he can be lacklustre in defence, worrying at times under the high ball, and for some reason the rare times this year when he has got into space he's f**ked it up by running straight at the fullback. You've got to be joking though if you're blaming him for not getting enough ball.

Anyway... some thoughts...

I disagree with JM (I think) who was saying Mullen's defence is overrated. He has improved so much in that department.

McManus was a bit shaky today.

The majority of our team is geniused when it comes to ball control.

We missed Buderus big time.

K-Man

It might be just me... But do we look like a worse team than last year? I know we are missing Kurt and Bedsy, but we have not looked outstanding at any point this year, and we were deadset awful today.

There are a number of players out there phoning it in. None of them deserve Origin selection - not even Aku. The master coach isn't having much effect on them and it is worrying...

I completely agree.

While I don't enjoy being so negative all the time, the fact is we actually look like a worse team than when Stone had them at least playing some good attacking footy at times and giving teams a scare.

The 4-5 record doesn't really bother me (there's always time to string wins together and finish top 6) - what I find frustrating is that almost every single part of our game except scrambling defence is utterly crap.

I'm underwhelmed by Bennett's influence. The only player I think has genuinely improved since last season is Mullen.

Everybody else - especially Boyd, Uate, Naiqama, Taia, Edwards, Fa'aoso, Cuthbertson, Snowden, Hilder - have gone backwards.

I'm not sure that our forward pack can ever work with Wayne's style of coaching. We aren't big enough to muscle up, so we have to play with a bit more finesse around the ruck than other teams, a bit like the Bulldogs forwards do.

But at the moment we are playing boring and slow football, yet still making the kind of errors we used to when we played with flair.

I don't even rate the roosters. Cowboys will smash on that form.

shane1970

Yep - enough said - wingers cant score blah blah blah - you do spell well for a kindergarten kid though - now go and wash your hands for tea little one..
Yep I quoted you albert - but please outline to me where I criticise your spelling - it was a 'tongue in cheek' comment - NOT a criticism - but you'll get used to it - much like something else that obviously touches the inside of your cheek - oh - and as for the beers - obviously NOT enough because I can still recall that disgracefull second half from a supposed football team.

aqua_duck

Throwing a bunch of juniors into first grade is pointless. Identify the deadwood, get rid of them and get aggressive in the player market.

Half the team is deadwood ATM. I'm not talking about chucking NYC players in there besides maybe Korbin Sims but surely Likiliki, Mata'utia, Filipo, Tetevano and Daine Laurie have to come into consideration soon.

Yosh

Near the end of the game, Mullen threw a cut out to Wes who got Aku into a halfgap. Sure Aku threw ot forward but we need to see more of that. Against the Storm we threw the ball out to Tahu early and we had great success. If our forwards are crap, surely we should play it wide early to Tahu and Wes.

I wonder what we'd look like if we had managed to sign Civo and Ryles this year. They wouldn't have been asking for too much and a pack with Snowden, Civo, Ryles and Mason as front row rotation would have gone much better.

aqua_duck

BTW deadset why are people crucifying Aku and Boyd? They really are the least of our worries, we could have Billy Slater and Jonah Lomu in there spots and it wouldn't make much of a difference really when the forwards are bitching as hard as they are

Nuffy

It might be just me... But do we look like a worse team than last year? I know we are missing Kurt and Bedsy, but we have not looked outstanding at any point this year, and we were deadset awful today.

There are a number of players out there phoning it in. None of them deserve Origin selection - not even Aku. The master coach isn't having much effect on them and it is worrying...

Agreed, its always been a club where the playing group has wielded way too much influence and i just hope that we aren't seeing a group of players who are dragging their heels because they don't like the direction and expectations of the coach.

aqua_duck

Agree that we have some NRL experience in the lower grades that we should consider using...

When it comes to a point where the top 17 guys are playing as badly as they are in this situation we really need to make some changes