Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ROUND 9 v MANLY

Scoopdog

Fui i
Burns played most of his Jnr footy on the wing he played in the centres for the panthers but he is originally a centre, Fui is a forward so replacing one guy who should play in the forwards for another you will have the same problems in defence. Goodwin is a better centre then on the wing. Same goes for Hunt.

Anyway side is out and looks like I was right Reynolds in George out.
fui is 15mts fsster over 100 than talakai!thats why you wont have the same problems in defence.he also can move laterally and has longer arms.give him a shot!he cant be worse

greg jay

Maguire is stubborn He continually picks a team that cannot win. Talakai is NOT an outside back. There is simply NO PENETRATION OR TD SCORING OUT WIDE WITH TALAKAI AS A CENTRE. Gosh how much EVIDENCE does this Imbecile Coach need. Go 1-6 or 1-7 then realise its hopeless???

CAFPOW

I think you're right!!!

Oi CAFPOW how can Travitoh have Kelly on standby???? Does he want to lose!!!!!!!!!!

Sutto is way way way way way way way better in the halves if AR is out over Kelly.

I got the team right but I am still hoping Madge would replace Talakai at the last minute with Fuimaono.

alien

Even on the Rabbitohs website it says Burns is a centre, not a winger. It's obvious he isn't good under the high ball, therefor he definitely shouldn't be on the wing.

Fuimaono can play centre and second row. He even played in the centres for the Under 20's Australia Kangaroos.

We know Goodwin can play wing and centre. I prefer him a bit more in the centres but he is mostly doing fine on the wing.

Hunt can play centre and wing, and he did fine on the wing last game.

What I can see is Talakai is an awful defender and is pretty slow, and Jennings' defense isn't very good either. I can also see that Burns isn't good under the high ball, so he shouldn't be on the wing.

greg jay

The team Maguire has selected has only proven that it CANNOT WIN and CANNOT pile points on the board.

Souths Till I Die

Burns is a natural winger played most of his footy on the wing

Burns receives a lot of unwarranted hate tbh. It's not like many of our players have been setting the world on fire and it was only 2 months ago he destroyed it at Charity Shield. Burns is less of a defensive liability than talakai it also seems.

Rsag85

Burns receives a lot of unwarranted hate tbh. It's not like many of our players have been setting the world on fire and it was only 2 months ago he destroyed it at Charity Shield. Burns is less of a defensive liability than talakai it also seems.

True and this thing about him not being good under the high balls is a bit harsh to be honest, yes he had one bad day under the high bombs against the panthers but I bet you most of the nrl wingers in the nrl would of had the same issues. In my opinion he is part of our best backline available at the moment

callmack1

True and this thing about him not being good under the high balls is a bit harsh to be honest, yes he had one bad day under the high bombs against the panthers but I bet you most of the nrl wingers in the nrl would of had the same issues. In my opinion he is part of our best backline available at the moment
Agreed. I still reckon the kid is a freak.

DiegoNT

It's a problem when a player drops a lot of high balls. But it's to be expected from time to time especially from younger players. Vatuvei had a lot of problems when he was younger, Goodwin was a shocker last stint he had at wing and even the best wingers go through a game or 2 where they suffer.

The thing that will definitely get a young player dropped is when they don't even go for the ball. And that's what happened to burns. In the bulldogs game he was still refusing to make a play at the ball. It wasn't so much the dropped bombs that would have got him dropped, it would have been when he stopped going for the ball. He is only young, and could possibly have a long career, but to keep pushing him when he has that confidence problem could possibly have irreversible effects on him. I think the long game is in play with burns

Souths Till I Die

Burns will be great. 20 years of age and his already got a decent experience of first grade. We've already seen jennings is a pure centre and Talakai is more of a front rower, burns looks to be the man best suited to the wing. Let him build his confidence again. ive seen greats like brett stewart have much worse games under the high ball but theyre still praised constantly.

Rsag85

It's a problem when a player drops a lot of high balls. But it's to be expected from time to time especially from younger players. Vatuvei had a lot of problems when he was younger, Goodwin was a shocker last stint he had at wing and even the best wingers go through a game or 2 where they suffer.

The thing that will definitely get a young player dropped is when they don't even go for the ball. And that's what happened to burns. In the bulldogs game he was still refusing to make a play at the ball. It wasn't so much the dropped bombs that would have got him dropped, it would have been when he stopped going for the ball. He is only young, and could possibly have a long career, but to keep pushing him when he has that confidence problem could possibly have irreversible effects on him. I think the long game is in play with burns

Aj had issues in the dogs game I find it harsh when fans bag out these young kids for one bad performance but guys like Goodwin or Sam are safe from harsh comments even when they perform bad as well

doyen

I have a gut feeling Reynolds will get injured against Seagulls.

In that case,mate,we'll have to disembowel you!!!

AR has missed a lot of footy in the past 2 yrs ,& I for one,am always holding my breath & expecting the worst!!