Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby league in dire straits in NSW as Queensland leads the way

Slackboy72

Don't forget that the Victorian Government are spending ~$270 million on a dedicated rectangular ground for the Storm to play out of.

That's because the Victorian government have always believed sport is a vital part of the culture of Melbourne.

In NSW the governement thinks that sport is just something that clogs up traffic and public transport around suburban grounds, causes disturbances in nightclubs and something that can be bled dry as a source of revenue from taxing gambling.

League is going under in Sydney because of Sydney itself.

Roosterphin1

Whilst Coleman is an idiot (and not even a Queenslander anyway) in essence what he is saying is true. And for those that think we can still keep going with this many Sydney teams....that is what will make the game die!

gregstar

as soon as coleman's moniker is attached to something, it becomes puke.

put "written by mike coleman" on the end of the declaration of independence, & suddenly it reads as an infantile tantrum appealing to cretins.

he is on par with peter fitzf*ckins as a contemptible slither of slug sh*t.

maple_69

I don't know how you can make the argument based on the composition of the Australian team.
10 and 7. Brett Stewart could easily have been fullback and Williams/Robertson/Monaghan could easily have been winger in place of Boyd. That would make 8 and 9 in NSW's favour with a NSW coach. There's nothing in it.

I stopped reading after the part that said "By Mike Coleman". Perhaps I will go and buy a copy of the Courier Mail and use his article as it is supposed to be: toilet paper.

In-goal

That's because the Victorian government have always believed sport is a vital part of the culture of Melbourne.

In NSW the governement thinks that sport is just something that clogs up traffic and public transport around suburban grounds, causes disturbances in nightclubs and something that can be bled dry as a source of revenue from taxing gambling.

League is going under in Sydney because of Sydney itself.

Short and simple

KHunt

Mike Colman is an arrogant wanker. No doubt he was the last kid picked at lunchtime back in his primary school days. He claims to be a supporter of Norths/Souths (one of them) yet backed Super league and still craps on about news ltd stumper league concept. Isn't the bloke from Sydney?

North Sydney is proof kicking out Sydney teams don't solve anything.

Coaster

Couldnt make it past the first couple of posts, more fu*king whinging Mexicans crying over Queensland, yeah we are definitely the jealous ones.

If you lot cant see your all playing within a stones throw of each other, and need to spread out more, then you really are more stupid than even we think you are.

I'm afraid "Mexicans" is the term for Victorians. By all means call us cockroaches, NSF**kWits... but we are not mexicans.

The problem isn't the number of people attending games, it's the amount of clubs in concentration in one area. And that's only really a problem if you perceive it to be. NSW still draws more people through stadium gates than QLD. And so they should, 102 games per year compared to just 24.

MrBubbles

I'm afraid "Mexicans" is the term for Victorians. By all means call us cockroaches, NSF**kWits... but we are not mexicans.

The problem isn't the number of people attending games, it's the amount of clubs in concentration in one area. And that's only really a problem if you perceive it to be. NSW still draws more people through stadium gates than QLD. And so they should, 102 games per year compared to just 24.
Timmah, you said something sensible!

Coaster

all he did was point out how stupid the current set up is in NSW. 102 games of footy so close to each other, in some cases the same stadium. When will you realize that you are too close?

Some people actually think the better idea is to saturate the Brisbane market also, so they can experience the same stupidity as NSW.

alexc

Typical Queensland parachioalism at its finest. I'm sure they'd be more than happy to watch Broncos vs Titans or Broncos vs Cowboys or Titans vs Cowboys derbys every week (with the third team having the bye). Actually, as I've said previously, the Broncos are so convinced they own the game they'd probably be happy to be the only team in the comp (they've never been happy to share Queensland with any other team). Intra-club matches every week! Imagine the spectacle! They'd probably have the first team wearing Queensland jerseys and the second team wearing New South Wales jerseys. Would no doubt keep them perpetually happy.
I like it!

Coaster, what you're suggesting is less teams, less games, less opportunities for people to attend games and in the case of culling teams, less incentives for current fans to attend. How the hell does that enhance leagues profile?

The problem with Queensland interests is that they think the fix is so simple. It isn't.

So because the ideal scenario in Brisbane works we should bury our heads in the sand and say well lets crowd the market to bring Qld down to our level, instead of saying well its obvious that there is over crowding in Sydney...maybe we should follow Qlds lead and have less teams in one area and spread them out.

No lets all feel sorry for Sydneys situation instead of doing something about it.

The idea scenario in Brisbane is one team per 1.6 million people.

Great lets have a 6 team comp. One from Brisbane, 4 from Sydney and once combined Melbourne/Canberra/NZ ffs....

all he did was point out how stupid the current set up is in NSW. 102 games of footy so close to each other, in some cases the same stadium. When will you realize that you are too close?

Some people actually think the better idea is to saturate the Brisbane market also, so they can experience the same stupidity as NSW.

SATURATE????? :lol:

Brisbane actually starves the ,market. Didn't your once have 2 teams before the Broncos threw a tanty? Didn't Brisbane even demand no Gold Coast team for 5 years?

Tell me, if Brisbane is the massive all conquering heartland of RL, how come you only get about 2 games per year more than Melbourne?

Coaster

Ill cut and paste what i wrote from another thread.

Doesnt matter how many adverts they show during a AFL game if nobody is watching, the simple fact is that in Queensland and NSW AFL rates so poorly they would need 10 times the amount of adverts to reach the same amount of viewers.

The problem lies that TV stations dont price that way, it seems there are major sponsers of the RL game, and they get time every add break, over and over, instead of increasing the customer base of business willing to advertise.

The whole strategy by the NRL is flawed, we have for years had the need to play defense, Gallop has IMO been quiet good at it. But the times have changed, we need Offense, we need someone like Crow, or Searle, or someone with some guts to take us to the next level.

The comp itself needs to be shortened by 4 weeks to 22, we need a Challenge Cup style format, with 64 teams competing in a knock out stlye comp, when 16 remain, we bring in the NRL sides, (4 weeks to finish it, sold seperatly to current deal) this would create another stream of income, increase awarness of the brand, spread the game to the bush.

Australia chosen vs Aboriginal side - sold as a stand alone game, markee player from each side would increase there salary, keeping players and clubs happy.

Tri-Nations. each year except world cup year, pumped into homes around the country, build the Kangaroo brand to that of the wallibies.

World Cup final, between the above Challenge cup winner, and there Cup winner, not the GF winners

We need a bigger audience, that means teams in Sydney need to spread out, you cant have Sydney City and the Rabbits so close, or STG and Cronulla, not saying cut or cull, just spread out, Sharks to Gosford, Roosters to Redcliff or Sunshine coast.

Go head to head with the AFL in Melbourne, Slam tests, state of origins, Storm home games down there throat till they puke, we are not after the dumb AFL merkins, we are after there kids, demand prime time viewing 4pm and 7.30 slots. With a new stadium and a team to be proud of, they will fill there new stadium every time.

Not all will agree, who cares, you dont have to please everyone, the object is to build a sport and momentum to take us where we need to be, not to please

Sam I Am

Coaster, what you're suggesting is less teams, less games, less opportunities for people to attend games and in the case of culling teams, less incentives for current fans to attend. How the hell does that enhance leagues profile?

The problem with Queensland interests is that they think the fix is so simple. It isn't.

Queensland interests? Mate we are just loving this, since our interests have been screwed over by your guys for the last century. :lol:

Your logic is so wacky that you could be the CEO of Parramatta. Less opportunities for people to attend games? Mate, there are plenty of opportunities in Sydney granted. The bad news is that very few people use the opportunity to visit a clapped out old ground for some reason.