Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby League Live 4 confirmation

RoosTah

Are you getting tired trying to defend against so many negative comments?

Is it harder when every one of the comments is factually correct based on multiple games that are sub par in quality?

Does it become difficult to argue the 'economy of scale' argument when they sell the product for more expensive than these mass produced big company big budget products?
I'm not gonna lie - I'm pretty underwhelmed by the footage so far, but you do realise you just demonstrated you don't understand the concept behind the term "economies of scale", right?

BTown324

I'm not gonna lie - I'm pretty underwhelmed by the footage so far, but you do realise you just demonstrated you don't understand the concept behind the term "economies of scale", right?
My point is more that if the product was costing the same then the economy of scale excuse for poorer quality and lower available budgets and therefor resources is relevant. But not when BA games are priced 20-30 dollars over the others. Whilst it may still fall under the economy of scale umbrella it's not an 'ok' excuse or justification for a shitty creative product.

nöyd

19029370_1325990947496582_7685709195028482081_n.jpg

MKCS

- I think it's absolutely ridiculous that you have an English commentator with an Australian commentator. I understand in theory that people had been complaining about no British commentators but they've now got two commentators who don't work together and it just sounds odd. I'd honestly rather Vossy be in the box with himself for the NRL games and the British guy by himself for Super League rather than this weird, poorly thought out solution that makes nobody happy.

- Good to see that the props still don't do anything and more often than not get run backwards by halfbacks.

- I can see the random knock ons getting real old real fast.

TheVelourFog

On what evidence is anyone looking forward to this? The last 2 have been hot garbage and it is embarrassing that they charged money for them

Arnold

Have a read of some of the threads on the BA forum for more information on forward momentum and the Knock ons.

It won't convince any of you as you seem convinced and that's ok, you dont have to buy it.

No one is buying your lies about your crap product. Im sure you'll make enough money from young kids who don't know any better.

MKCS

Have a read of some of the threads on the BA forum for more information on forward momentum and the Knock ons.

It won't convince any of you as you seem convinced and that's ok, you dont have to buy it.

i remember last time around they promised us forward momentum and how to be successful we had to play it like a real game of Rugby League. Those promises were proven false as players could quite literally put 100 points on their opposition by just throwing it to the sides.

Forward momentum consisted of pushing up on the stick and occasionally getting to move forward. Whether the player was a forward, a back or a half was irrelevant and who the person trying to tackle the player was also irrelevant (EG Russell Packer would struggle forward the exact same against Adam Reynolds then he would Andrew Fifita). If that's what we have to look forward to then unfortunately it's not enough.

Didn't see anything about the knock ons over there but to be fair I struggle to get through that forum due to the fan boying and general "Ross is great" attitude.

Also, I will be buying the game so calm your farm, mate.

Arnold

No one is buying your lies about your crap product. Im sure you'll make enough money from young kids who don't know any better.
My lies? Me making money?
What are you on about?
i remember last time around they promised us forward momentum and how to be successful we had to play it like a real game of Rugby League. Those promises were proven false as players could quite literally put 100 points on their opposition by just throwing it to the sides.

Forward momentum consisted of pushing up on the stick and occasionally getting to move forward. Whether the player was a forward, a back or a half was irrelevant and who the person trying to tackle the player was also irrelevant (EG Russell Packer would struggle forward the exact same against Adam Reynolds then he would Andrew Fifita). If that's what we have to look forward to then unfortunately it's not enough.

Didn't see anything about the knock ons over there but to be fair I struggle to get through that forum due to the fan boying and general "Ross is great" attitude.

Also, I will be buying the game so calm your farm, mate.

I don't care if you buy it or not.

The Ross is great attitude only exists from the mods on that forum. If you read it properly it's very balanced with lots of criticism.

End of the day judge it next week and return it if you don't like it. Simples.

RoosTah

My point is more that if the product was costing the same then the economy of scale excuse for poorer quality and lower available budgets and therefor resources is relevant. But not when BA games are priced 20-30 dollars over the others. Whilst it may still fall under the economy of scale umbrella it's not an 'ok' excuse or justification for a shitty creative product.

Well, to start with I was just at EB yesterday and I see the new FIFA is being sold at $114, so RLL4 isn't actually being priced "above" the sort of new EA Sports titles everyone likes to compare them to, but anyway that's kind of beside the point.

I think you're looking at this all wrong to be honest. Pointing out that economies of scale limit what a developer can do with a tiny sport like Rugby League whilst also demanding that the price point be at the higher end for games is a simple statement of fact - it's not a value judgement on what's "ok". It's just how the economics of game development stack up - no more nor less than that.

People here like to hate on BA because their games are average and their CEO is a bit of a douchebag, but to be frank it wouldn't matter who was developing it because the market simply isn't anywhere remotely large enough to justify the investment and IP necessary to meet the standards everyone have thanks to the mega sports like soccer, Basketball or American Football.

People have short memories too - before BA, Sidhe never got much love for their work with League (in fact their CEO says he's glad never to work on another footy title ever again because of the abuse he copped), Wickedwitch did bugger all with Union and BigBen's work for the Euro union market was outright panned by fans and critics to a degree not even BigAnt have suffered.

RoosTah

I still haven't preordered RLL4 yet. Not sure what to do. Might get it for 70 from bigw
I'm not preordering, but I'll probably do the same - that or I'll just tell EB that as they generally drop the price when you tell them you can get it cheaper.

I actually got a bit of enjoyment out of RLL3, and so if this builds on that I'm sure I'll get some value from it, but I gotta admit my biggest issue in the game has long been how defence works, and that doesn't appear to have been addressed in the way I'd like (I have a massive post over on the BA forums explaining how and why it would drastically improve the game).

RoosTah

Yeah thought that might be the case. A stretch to be comparing it to a standard RLL4 price.

To be fair it wasn't that obvious that it was a special pretty boy wanker edition given they both have him on the cover.

As for it being a stretch - how? Basically all that's been shown is they retail for the same as regular editions, which is pretty well in line with what the theory behind scale would suggest.

Remember the point I was refuting was that RLL details for 20-30 bucks MORE than titles like FIFA.