Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings and even more Crap XXI

Someone

lol, offer an alternative and people put shit on me.

Read my f**king post again.

we gain nothing in the centres by putting morgan there but by using hoppas cap space to strength another area we do in a sense 'gain' something.

its just something to consider, no need to shit the bed about it.

obviously already being skinny the centres it isn't an ideal move. Id like to see us get someone like SKD for 400k, use sandows money to lure Mann (could come cheaper) and use lussicks money plus any extra to try and lure a thaiday or myles but after upgrading some contracts i highly doubt we would have the funds.

Simona is a beast, we'd probably get him for less than we are paying Hoppa. it's a no brainer IMO.

Someone, it was the 'Thaiday or Myles' suggestion I was referring to. We've just spent a crapload on getting Watmough, who will probably need to be pensioned off somehow, and we're also getting Scott, another guy in his twilight years. We had a young up and coming forward pack but we've spent a whole heap of money to turn us into what? An older, more experienced, but less able and more expensive pack. Neither Thaiday or Myles will be cheap. Haven't we reached the cut-off point regarding experience yet? I just hope Arthur has his eye one the slightly longer term and isn't too worried about immediate success.

natheel

Id prefer we let go of Will and Chrissy and start fresh, bring in someone like Mann or Mamo, promote ryan morgan to hoppas spot and let go of lussick using any cap space left to try and lure a world class rep prop like sam thaiday or nate myles.

or would our backs be a little too thin? maybe buy a centre like SKD.

there's still quite a bit of talent left in the open market so hopefully we haven't rushed into anything.

If we let Hop go i'd want to buy a replacement and lose Morgan too. As from reports he's on a lot of money too

Simona or SKD would be good if we lost Hop and got either of them. Morgan isn't an improvement on Hoppa

If we let Hop go i'd want to buy a replacement and lose Morgan too. As from reports he's on a lot of money too

Simona or SKD would be good if we lost Hop and got either of them. Morgan isn't an improvement on Hoppa

What Morgan is on now is irrelevant. It is what he or his replacement is paid next year that matters. If other clubs don't want him, he'll be cheap. If keeping him on a depth signing at a modest salary allows us to spend more money elsewhere, then I see no problem with that. You can't have 25 outright 1st choice first graders in your squad.

If Simona is that good why would he be cheaper than Hopoate?
Mainly because Hoppa has played origin and we are paying him at what level he was at pre mormon mission. Lets say so far he hasn't lived up to the potential he was showing back then. Plus we payed him overs, thanks SK ;-) And from all reports Simona isn't on huge money at the Tigers.

Same point as above mate. What Simona and Hoppa are on in 2015 is not really relevant. It is what the market is prepared to pay them next year. And I would have thought it pretty likely that there would be just as many, probably more, potential suitors for Simona. Whether someone has played origin or not isn't a big deal in itself, and in fact a quality player who is not eligible for Origin is worth more to an NRL club, as they are available for more games.

That's true, i just think Simona is worth quite a deal more than Hoppa. Hoppa has failed at fullback this season which has probably dropped his asking price quite a bit. I reckon Simona would make quite a good fist at fullback if he was ever given the chance.

What Morgan is on now is irrelevant. It is what he or his replacement is paid next year that matters. If other clubs don't want him, he'll be cheap. If keeping him on a depth signing at a modest salary allows us to spend more money elsewhere, then I see no problem with that. You can't have 25 outright 1st choice first graders in your squad.

Yep

Yep again. Some merkins think the players decide how much they get. But in reality it is the market (i.e. the clubs) that determines how much a player can get. Players can take it or leave it, but they're not getting any more than the highest bidder is willing to pay.