Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings - XXV

lingard

<rant>

MG and Matty Johns this morning talking about the epidemic of prescription use drugs in the NRL and how players are walking the tight rope and that it's just a matter of time before a kid dies. They both say how they know how wide spread this is.

These NRL shock jocks make me sick. If the really knew shit and had any dirt they'd have said something before this. Sick of them bandwagoning and acting as authorities with the inside word.

</rant>

That's why I used to love the indigenous rugby league show on NITV. None of this shock-jock bullshit. Just grass-roots footy and good sensible discussion. Brilliant show! Wish they'd bring it back.

Bigfella

Good question, but I guess we will never know the ins and outs till, or if the details are released.

Meanwhile the haters will no doubt continue to speculate.

And the four year olds will continue to call anyone who disagrees with them a "hater".

lingard

For next year:

Worse

Dragons - can't score points
Tigers - to young
Titans - spine is poor

On par

Knights - no better then us, we have better spine
Penrith - we have better halves
Warriors - to hot and cold, we have better spine
Souths - showed how poor they were with a firing pack.

Better

Roosters - could drop back to on par with new halves / fullback
Cowboys - it's all Thurston
Manly - still very good
Broncos - great spine
Dogs - could drop down to on par if halves fail
Sharks - potentially very good next year with new halves combo

1. I agree with your overall point (that we won't have the worst backline in the comp).
2. I still think that the concept of a 'spine' is a bit over-rated, and I think if you have other areas of excellence you can still do well with only a mediocre 'spine' (like the Bulldogs, for example).
3. I think the Cowboys spine is excellent - Morgan, Thurston, and Coote are pretty damn good - and their hookers alright, too. maybe the best balanced spine in the NRL. I think the Bulldogs have one of the weakest halves pairings in the NRL. Souths - Inglis is over-rated, and they'll struggle next year without Luke. And I reckon that Cronulla may well have the second best spine in the comp next year (or close to it). I tip a big year for them.
And then there's us: Gordon, Norman, Foran, Peats. Good forward pack. (Maybe even very good.) One incredible winger, one pretty good and might get better (Fairaimo). One average to pretty good centre (Taka) and one yet to be decided upon. Looks alright to me. Looks like a TOP EIGHT FINISH TO ME - AND A GOOD PLATFORM FOR AIMING AT THE TOP FOUR IN 2017.

lingard

The Warriors spine next year is:

1. RTS
7. Shaun Johnson
9. Isaac Luke

No idea who they will put in the 6, but for arguments sake you could put Luke Kelly there and they'd still have a top 2 or 3 spine in the comp

Nah, Luke Kelly would bring them down to 4th.

oldmancraigy

1. When did left wing become part of the spine?

2. If we hadnt signed Gordon he'd be off to England I reckon. I agree with everything else you say though. although Robinson was decent in attack from the back.

If a team has bad scoliosis??
Ok, sorry mate, was too caught up in the outside back whingefest. My bad!!

Do we have proof Gordon was off to England?

And the four year olds will continue to call anyone who disagrees with them a "hater".

I doubt you need any more reasons to hate but no doubt you will find some.

Do you pretend to know the ins and outs and the reasons why you hate the club so much ??

emjaycee

I reckon we will announce a new centre signing before the end of the month.

And if Robbo stays our worst backline in the NRL may just be fast enough and good enough.

Bigfella

If a team has bad scoliosis??
Ok, sorry mate, was too caught up in the outside back whingefest. My bad!!

Do we have proof Gordon was off to England?

Of course not. Which is why I put "I reckon" at the end of he sentence to clearly indicate it was speculation.

Maybe have a little lie down.

You are sounding like twizzle. And that's somewhere north of Hindy 111 after a week long bender with Casper.