Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XVI

oldmancraigy

I don't see the problem. If we're paying players to play elsewhere it's because we had younger cheaper options coming through the 'academy'. If they had been coming through two or three years earlier we wouldn't have needed to overpay merkins to fill in at those positions.

Penrith paid a few merkins to play for other clubs (Gordon, Lewis, Jennings) and they're currently top four. It helps that they never let their 'academy' fall to shit.

You need to look at the big picture. If we hadn't arseholed a bunch of contracted players we would have 25 in the top 25 and we wouldn't be paying three quarters of a million dollars to merkins at other clubs. But we also wouldn't have been able to blood so many youngsters out of the 'academy'.

You've actually pointed this out above, but in your rush to be a smartarse and put shit on people you were obviously too distracted to make the connection.

#'academy'

The only reason we wouldn't have blooded them would be because we wouldn't have needed to blood them - we would have had capable players in the top 25 who we could play instead.

Or, if the young guys were good enough to play firsts this year, we could simply have upped them to $80k, and had them as part of the top 25.

Throwing 3/4s of a million away is never a good use of the salary cap. Fortunately a lot of the young guys who Anderson found back in '09/'10 are starting to come good this year, and have saved some embarrassment. Sadly we got rid of a bunch of them in 2011/12 who went on to play rep footy, but thankfully not all of them.
I can't really give Anderson credit though, it should go to Smithy for setting up the junior pathways system all those years before.
I know we had a couple of blokes come along and stuff it all up, trying to rename things, but good to see it's all back on track and working well these days!

Maroubra Eel

The only reason we wouldn't have blooded them would be because we wouldn't have needed to blood them - we would have had capable players in the top 25 who we could play instead.

Or, if the young guys were good enough to play firsts this year, we could simply have upped them to $80k, and had them as part of the top 25.

Throwing 3/4s of a million away is never a good use of the salary cap. Fortunately a lot of the young guys who Anderson found back in '09/'10 are starting to come good this year, and have saved some embarrassment. Sadly we got rid of a bunch of them in 2011/12 who went on to play rep footy, but thankfully not all of them.
I can't really give Anderson credit though, it should go to Smithy for setting up the junior pathways system all those years before.
I know we had a couple of blokes come along and stuff it all up, trying to rename things, but good to see it's all back on track and working well these days!

Good post. You've nailed it.

But after 2010 we didn't have enough of them, and so had to sign them from outside the club on overs. We lost most of our three quarter line and after his feats of late 2009 Hayne could no longer carry the rest of our spine. Then we had to replace Hindmarsh, Poore and Shackleton, and probably should have let go of Smith and/or Moimoi (though I understand we had no other merkin qualify for the long service discount).

You're right, it's good to have options.

So the worst we did was to let a winger go to play reserve grade for someone else? Good on Tupou for eventually edging into the Blues side three years later. That's what happens when you play in a strong club side outside a genuine rep centre.

But wingers are easy to come by (allowing us to let Sio go, for example) and we already have a big money winger in Semi Radradra, who is a better player than Tupou and younger. But it was good that we were able to keep Tupou through to the end of his NYC eligibility, where we could make the decision on whether to retain him. But we obviously had enough reserve grade wingers. In fact in 2011 we had far more reserve graders than we needed. There just wasn't room for Tupou.

Meanwhile nobody bothered to retain Mitchell Moses within our junior system in 2010, but apparently nobody in the NRL staff was communicating with the volunteers running the junior rep teams.

Having understudied Smith you'd think Anderson would have understood the importance of junior retention, but it's a fact that no NRL club has made the finals within three years of Daniel Anderson's ousting. He hasn't exactly left them in better shape than he found them.

Hagan and Anderson did stuff it up but they didn't rename anything. I don't know what you mean by that.

#'academy'

Oh right? Now we're pretending Kearney invented the entire NYC concept as well????

Of course he did.

Mate, you undervalue his expertise ! :crazy:

ATM there are up to 7 First Grade coaching positions available for 2015 and beyond. I bet Kearney has f**king offers from them all and he's wading through them now.

eel speel

An easy way to beat the cap is to get a rich supporter to play a game of golf with who ever you want to sign for $10k or $20k per hole to the winner. The supporter proceeds to lose each hole.

I have it from a good sauce that a wealthy benefactor from the latte set used to play tennis with players ...the winner would get 10k. This benefactor seemed to lose many games and had players lining up to play him....

carson

Of course he did.

Mate, you undervalue his expertise ! :crazy:

ATM there are up to 7 First Grade coaching positions available for 2015 and beyond. I bet Kearney has f**king offers from them all and he's wading through them now.

He'll need another 33 to keep centrelink happy!!!!

This Sunday at Ringrose from 12pm.

Smith street Wentworthville.

Thanks mate, sounds a lot easier to find than the only address I had:

0 Storybrooke Lane
Fantasia, 0000,
Oz

Can't wait to hear them sing the academy anthem. I'm told it's to the tune of Elvis' Only Fools Rush In

Oh, Kear-ney
Your big face has gone
But please don't fret
We're still in love with you

I'll leave now.