Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured & Confirmed Signings - Part 5

Iamback

I don’t disagree. I do think we need someone of substance and quality. Our centre stocks are a major concern, not the only concern but definitely our biggest concern.

You won't get much quality though.
Covid has put us 12 months behind where the side should be.

There is a long term centre partner of Crichton at the club. You just need a stop gap until they are ready.

Certainly need a recognised NRL centre in the squad for 2022 and possibly 2023

Smug Panther

You won't get much quality though.
Covid has put us 12 months behind where the side should be.

There is a long term centre partner of Crichton at the club. You just need a stop gap until they are ready.

Certainly need a recognised NRL centre in the squad for 2022 and possibly 2023
I also still believe the club is paying Critter to be our future 1

Original Name

Oldfield is not worth wasting a top 30 spot on. 4 years ago in his prime footy years he wasn't worth a spot. He definitely isn't now in his 30s.

He averaged 4 missed tackles per game in his 2 games in 2021. Eels lost both by massive margins. Not entirely his fault but the bloke is not going to be some bargain depth buy.

If we had injuries and had to call up on him or a young bloke I would much rather someone gained experience for the future. I think even an average young bloke would do a similar job at worst but gain experience that could be valuable to him later on.
That's Eels dumb defensive structure of always rushing up in defence on the edges. Their edges were getting torn up for like 3 years in the majority of games without him there. I think I can safely say you can't pin it on him considering the other edge players regularly all rushed up and "missed" as in statically or literally and didn't lay a hand on the opposition in quite a lot of their games for an otherwise top 4-5 team.

We need to sign a centre 100%. We lost 3-4, God knows why we let Momo go early only to find us short in the area now. But in saying that Crichton and Tago are 1st picked, but after that we have issues.

mxlegend99

That's Eels dumb defensive structure of always rushing up in defence on the edges. Their edges were getting torn up for like 3 years in the majority of games without him there. I think I can safely say you can't pin it on him considering the other edge players regularly all rushed up and "missed" as in statically or literally and didn't lay a hand on the opposition in quite a lot of their games for an otherwise top 4-5 team.
If he was even half decent he would have been able to secure an NRL spot. But he has always had some very poor players ahead of him before he was called in. Or lost his spot in the pecking order to poor players.

At Eels they preferred guys like Dunster, Penisini and Opacic along with having Niukore move from their preferred position before going to Oldfield.

At Raiders the year before Oldfield started fairly high up the pecking order but was then dropped to a non option at all with the Raiders preferring anything to picking him. From Rapana out of position at centre, Scott who is a known defensive liability and unwanted by the club, guys like Timoko, Harley Smith-Shields and Valemei etc. it just really puts into perspective where the clubs he was at rank him.

Any time I have seen him play he looks a defensive liability to me and offers very little in attack. I mean you have no frills guys like Momirovski who can cement a place in decent teams through being reliable. But then you have guys like Oldfield where the only reason for having them is experience. But that reasoning just prevents other guys from getting more experience for the sake of having someone who is a known dud in the team.

It would be different if he somehow ended up at clubs with stacked backlines. It is possible to find a decent player in bad circumstances. But Oldfield isn't even wanted at minimum wage for his last 2 clubs. They clearly feel they can do better with that spot also. We're better than Eels and Raiders, we have better juniors than those clubs and we can definitely do better without finding a bargain on the market. If there's one to sign our club should be far more desirable than either of those teams having just won a competition and having the NSW State of Origin halves pairing.

GowersDallyM

Wonder how much Jack Bird would be worth? I know he wants to stay in Sydney and he would play backrow or centre...I'd take him over most available, unsure if Drags let him go early tho

Alintheeast

Maybe Momo never wanted to be at Penrith in the first place. Easts guaranteed 2 more years of employment on higher wage, he got a pay rise for 2022. Plus he is returning to the club where he started.
Penrith management knew their centre stocks were diminished when they let him go early. I don’t think money was an object perhaps there was a verbal PO. Historically Penrith have retained players who weren’t happy and the current attitude is “Yeah mate you can go we’ll cope, no worries”

DinkyDi

Maybe Momo never wanted to be at Penrith in the first place. Easts guaranteed 2 more years of employment on higher wage, he got a pay rise for 2022. Plus he is returning to the club where he started.
Penrith management knew their centre stocks were diminished when they let him go early. I don’t think money was an object perhaps there was a verbal PO. Historically Penrith have retained players who weren’t happy and the current attitude is “Yeah mate you can go we’ll cope, no worries”
Or Ivan, Matt, and co. has internal options, that has not been publicized. They know what they are doing.

BxTom

I actually think that team/player morale is a major factor. They don't want anyone that's not committed to the team. If a player doesn't want to be here, then goodbye. That's why RCG and DWZ went.

Smug Panther

While he was defensivley solid we'll be better off and able to score more points with a centre who knows he has a winger outside him

Iamback

While he was defensivley solid we'll be better off and able to score more points with a centre who knows he has a winger outside him

It was another option that is what the side needs. Lets look at those Brandy mentioned

Tago will be in the 17. He likely takes Kiks spot for next year if he bulks up quicker or they want him in the pack earlier.

Salmon prob takes May's spot in the 17. Due to no other options.

Throw in Edwards getting hurt and Critta moving back there and Momo could of been handy if for only depth purposes

Alintheeast

It was another option that is what the side needs. Lets look at those Brandy mentioned

Tago will be in the 17. He likely takes Kiks spot for next year if he bulks up quicker or they want him in the pack earlier.

Salmon prob takes May's spot in the 17. Due to no other options.

Throw in Edwards getting hurt and Critta moving back there and Momo could of been handy if for only depth purposes
Agree whole heartedly Momo started the year as third choice centre and ended up playing 19 games including GF, he is also a good goal kicker. He isn’t a 14 but a specialist first grade 3 or 4. He must have something Ivan and Bellamy took him on and Robbo took him back. Anyhow shame to lose him at this point.
The Brains trust on Mulgoa Road should know what they are doing but more importantly are they doing what they want to do.