Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured / Confirmed Signings

Inferno

Didn't Reuben Wiki also start as a winger and worked his way in?

Taniela Tiuaki a few years ago for the Tigers was billed as a winger/prop. Real shame that injuries cut short his career, he was a frightening winger.

imageMain_10_66.jpg

If I recall correctly.
I beleive he was fastest in the squad over 25 metres from standing start .... Way fastest. Not hard to imagine him starting in the halves. Especially if his dad told the coach" He will play 5/8!"!! Intimidating Man his Dad!

Just read in Buzz tribute to Johnny Raper, that his grandson, Aaron's son Kai plays SG Ball for us

All the articles I read said JR was succeeded by Carol, Aaron and Stuart. No mention of Kurt. Anyone know if Kurt is still with us or the journos got it wrong.

Geez I hope not!! I worked with Kurt for a while at the Suss Club at Sutho. Champion bloke.

*Just did a search online and found his FB page, he's alive and well and lives just down the road from me. haha

Chimp

So… Jack Bird for 2023, what we saying?

Would need to be at the right price, but it’s certainly not a ‘no’ from me. Wade’s replacement, on much lower coin….?

Cheese sandwich

Would need to be at the right price, but it’s certainly not a ‘no’ from me. Wade’s replacement, on much lower coin….?
Nah, very much doubt he'd get anywhere near the level of 2015-16 again. Lots of injuries since too.

Nellshark

Big no from me.
Love the nostalgic thought but we have heaps better back rowers and we need a stroke centre

Special K

I can't see where Bird would fit in? I'd say it his manager trying to drum up interest. I did laugh when I read him say "I don't care where I play". Reality check from a few years ago when he was demanding to play 6 or 1.

Special K

He is trying to get a new deal there and they do not want to pay him any more than they currently are (500k of his 900k deal). So they went to Buzz and said the dolphins (wayne) and sharks are interested I am guessing

Bird and Bennett, it was not a great relationship last time, from time he arrived, but if that's where the money is.
I would not be surprised to see Knights make a play for him

2012....Sharks Year

Huge pass on Bird. He pissed and moaned about what position he wants to play and he's now playing his best footy at the same position we were going to use him at.

For the money he wants, which seems in excess of 500k also a hard pass.
Yeah reckon Fitz would have bigger fish to fry than Bird. If him and Mooney can recruit as well for next year as they did for this year he'll be getting closer to the side he wants.

I would say Fitz would be looking potentially another half depending on this year.
But for sure centres need to be strengthened