Craig Johnston
Would be ideal for us for one season whilst our back row stocks are raw inexperienced and lacking mongrel.
Ideal for a year? Why?
Unless we can win the comp next year it would just be a waste of money.Same reason Gould cleared out guys who wouldn't be there when penrith are actualy ready to submit a genuine threat on the comp
Ideal for a year? Why?
Unless we can win the comp next year it would just be a waste of money.Same reason Gould cleared out guys who wouldn't be there when penrith are actualy ready to submit a genuine threat on the comp
Might teach some of our younger players to play with a bit of fire and passion for starters, which could be especially useful for a pack like ours which is lacking a bit of experience and an enforcer. Which older players did Gould clear out? He just got rid of Jennings, Lewis and Coote because they were taking up way to much salary cap space for what he deemed they were worth.
or he might teach them to put cheap shots on people during games then claim the nrl is trying to rub them out of the game when they get sighted for their actions (all while crying foul play when a fly lands on him).Might teach some of our younger players to play with a bit of fire and passion for starters, which could be especially useful for a pack like ours which is lacking a bit of experience and an enforcer. Which older players did Gould clear out? He just got rid of Jennings, Lewis and Coote because they were taking up way to much salary cap space for what he deemed they were worth.
because there's no one better available and we are thin in the forwards
We've got heaps of depth in the forwards, especially in the middle where O'Donnell plays.
We already have to fit these guys into the top 17:
Mannah
Lussick
Mossop
Allgood
Moimoi
Terepo
Paulo
Paulo
Whichever of those miss out will be in Wenty with:
Ualesi
Santi
Alvaro
Ryan
Harrison
If O'Donnell could still play effectively on the edge (like Gareth Hock) then he would be a good signing, but we already have enough props/locks competing for the five or six spots in the top 17.
and signed up brent kite for exactly the same reason
Brent Kite has won two premierships as a key member of the squad and has never played less than 21 games in a season. He represents good value.
Luke O'Donnell has only twice played more than 20 games (2004-05) and is known for injuries and suspensions. He went alright this year (19 games) but compared to previous years it looks like a bit of a flash in the pan. There's a reason the Chooks didn't want to keep him.
a good example of where club supporters over-rate their own players.
i'm a massive fan of our next crop but lussick still has a ways to go before he's at rep level. terepo and tanginoa aren't established first graders yet. FF is on the decline and the rest (paulo santi etc) are either developing squad players that don't need the expectations we're lumping on them or just useless hence why we're getting rid of them.
LOD can still play on the edges, he's not visibily slower than any other chooks forward.
he simply filled a role in their premiership side thanks to the derth of ESTABLISHED backrow options that they already have. he can play both roles and with mongrel.
it's too much to expect our young forwards to "learn the ropes" on their own
who gives a shit about 10 years ago, he played as much as brent kite did last season, and is equally as decorated at representative level if not more respected.
the chooks do want him,....on the chump change left over by SBW and minichello resigning. that says nothing about his ability, as neither does brent kite being "pushed" out of manly.
Well mate, it's just as easy to overrate the players in other squads, especially when they win all the time. Look how we all overrate Justin Horo now that he's in a strong squad. At Parra he was gash.
We're not getting rid of guys because they're useless; we're getting rid of them because we have too many fringe players competing for spots when a better balanced squad has a clear separation between first graders and backups. We have a lot of guys who are too good to be backups but not good enough to be first graders. Luke O'Donnell will soon be in this category if he's not already.
The edges aren't so much about speed as lateral movement, and LOD has been goneskis in that area for years. He hasn't played out wide since about 2009. Everyone would get past him just like they get past Fui (still a very quick forward) when he plays on the edges.
We have a few experienced forwards: Moimoi and Smith have been around forever, and Mannah and Mossop have both played 100+ games. The only thing O'Donnell could teach them is how to be a merkin, and it (aggression) is not really something that can be taught to adults. Most of our young forwards are church boys. They just don't have it in them.
Nobody seems to have noticed last time I posted the question....so I'll ask again....from where are we getting the cap space required to (potentially) sign O'Donnell? Without offloading contracted players....aren't we right on the cap (or a touch over)?
Mate i don't think we are potentially signing LOD.
It's only forumites wishing we would that is driving this thread.
![]()
Nobody seems to have noticed last time I posted the question....so I'll ask again....from where are we getting the cap space required to (potentially) sign O'Donnell? Without offloading contracted players....aren't we right on the cap (or a touch over)?
In conclusion, I think we need a merkin or two.