Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Signings and General Dribble XIII

how many games have parra won with Hayne in the side over the same period?
is that really a fair comparison with the crap team has had to carry the last 3 seasons??? Dugan is a very good fullback but Hayne is at a different level altogether.

Still astounds me NSW's best player of the last 6 yrs is continually kept away from his favourite spot by inferior footballers.

Joely01

We all know the only game Dugan does have a good game in is the all stars game where most players are jogging around for 80mins. That one game a year gets him a shot, but he doesn't have that game next year so he won't be near the NSW team.

Joshuatheeel

Hayne can use his running game in any position but fullback is the only spot he is also able to use his play making skills like his kicking and passing game - other fullback contenders like Stewart / Dugan may go close to matching Haynes running game at the back but they are no where near the class of Hayne when it comes to kicking /passing etc. On top of that Hayne is a bloody good defender at the back

Dugan played ok for NSW this year .... i too think hayne is a better player - but i think people get a bit carried away hanging shit on others who get a look in at fullback - they are good players also

Agreed. Surely it is not too much to ask for a bit of balance?

Yeh, that was exactly my point.

@Hiney.....I was just pointing out that trying to assess the Dugan /Hayne thing by counting the number of SoO victories when one was in the team doesn't produce the most persuasive evidence.

Yeh, that was exactly my point.

@Hiney.....I was just pointing out that trying to assess the Dugan /Hayne thing by counting the number of SoO victories when one was in the team doesn't produce the most persuasive evidence.
Idon't think anyone here was really bagging Dugan as a player, i know i wasn't. He's a very good one. But not in Haynes class IMO. And if i'm not mistaken Hayne has only played 3 games at fullback for NSW, we have won 2 of them and narrowly went down in the 3rd. not bad considering QLD's dominance and the idiot coaches and selections in those games.

Mate, my point is simply that counting the number of victories/losses that a team has when a particular player plays (or plays at fullback) is not a super convincing form of evidence for that players superiority....particularly when we are talking about a tiny sample.....and partic when the position we are talking about is fullback. There'd be slightly more sense if we were talking about halfbacks, because they touch ball lots more and have a more direct impact on the flow of the game but even then they play behind and against whatever forward packs are picked on the day. I also reckon that Hayne is a better player, but I'm not sure I'd say that Dugan is not in his class (unless we are talking about non-footballing qualities).

Fair enough Baz, but IMO Dugan does not have the kicking or passing game Hayne does nor is he as good defensively. Besides Dugan being a colossal douche i think people's main problem with him he has not done anywhere enough to waltz straight into the NSW number 1 jersey.

B Stewart when fit is also a superior fullback, i have no doubt that gimp Daley will have Dugan at 1 and Hayne and 4 and think it will be best for NSW. He will be wrong, especially considering NSW have great centre options with Jennings,Morris and Hoppa Jr on the way back.

Fair enough Baz, but IMO Dugan does not have the kicking or passing game Hayne does nor is he as good defensively. Besides Dugan being a colossal douche i think people's main problem with him he has not done anywhere enough to waltz straight into the NSW number 1 jersey.

Yep. I think they very different types of player, despite the fact that they both play fullback. Dugan certainly plays a more limited role, but where I disagree I guess is in their relative influence of a game/team. The importance of Hayne's broader set of abilities reduces (IMHO) at the rep level because that range of skills is more likely to be found across the rest of the team too. This is why I don't think that it is necessarily a bad selection to play Dugan at No. 1 in SoO (obviously contingent on form/fitness etc). I've seen a lot of Dugan play, and while he's a complete f**khead he is a remarkably good and consistent footballer.

Pazza

I think that the best back line NSW has fielded in recent times was game 1 2013.

The forgotten man in this discussion is josh Morris! I think he did an excellent job up against Inglis this series and I don't how Dugan is that good of a football player to displace NSW's best back and push J Morris out of the team completely?

I think that the best back line NSW has fielded in recent times was game 1 2013.

The forgotten man in this discussion is josh Morris! I think he did an excellent job up against Inglis this series and I don't how Dugan is that good of a football player to displace NSW's best back and push J Morris out of the team completely?
Agreed, and this was my point, not that Dugan can't play because he can. But i just don't understand how superior footy players are moved for him. He showed how committed he was to the cause when he got on the turps before Fergo in game II.

Either selectors insist on moving 'better' players to accommodate him or they have been able to separate Dugan "The Man" from Dugan "The Footballer".

I'd say selectors are just picking their best 17 and worrying about the numbers on their backs later.

It works for Queensland (Inglis, Boyd, Tate, et al all playing different positions at club level).