Knight Vision
yeh we dodged that bullet alreadyPlease no....
Not saying we would take the deal, but he is the obvious player Brisbane would want to trade for.If going by Gardner's previous comments the Knights will no longer be recruiting players with a poor history of serious injuries such as Moga and Griffin
Ponga at 5/8th doesn't work without a fullback who can also kick and pass. Pearce's kicking game especially in the attacking 3rd is terrible, Ponga isn't much of a kicker and neither are Brailey and Allen.Not saying we would take the deal, but he is the obvious player Brisbane would want to trade for.
Reading that Corey Allen looks like might get forced out of Souths in Latrell’s new contract.
1. Allen
6. Ponga
7. Pearce
9. Brailey
?
Ponga at 5/8th doesn't work without a fullback who can also kick and pass. Pearce's kicking game especially in the attacking 3rd is terrible, Ponga isn't much of a kicker and neither are Brailey and Allen.
I think Ponga can develop abit of a short kicking game for sure but he'll never really be a primary kicking option. This year Ponga led the team in try assists, line break assists, line breaks, metres gained, tackle breaks and was also 2nd top try scorer, it illustrates the over reliance we have in him, moving him to 5/8th exacerbates that even further IMO. If I'm AOB I want Ponga to just concentrate on his greatest strength which is his ball running instead of trying to do everything including making up for inadequate halves, we're stuck with Pearce for 2021 at least and really just need to get the best 5/8th available to take the load off Ponga. At this point I wouldn't even mind Benji as a short term option, he's obviously not the ball runner he was and his defence is suspect but in my opinion he still has Pearce covered in both facets and his short kicking game and ball playing are far superiorIt's too late to teach Pearce new tricks but maybe Ponga could get off the skateboard and knuckle down to improve his all-round kicking game to transition to 5/8. Or, and it is a giant OR, we could buy a 5/8 that has all the skills we need to cover for the million dollar half and his shortcomings and allow Ponga to play the style we want and NEED from the back. Where does a 5/8 like that come from??? NFI. Milford can kick, but can't tackle and for some reason wasn't cutting teams up with running and passing.
I think Brailey may have more skill re kicking than we've seen.
We have a truckload of cash invested in Pearce, Ponga, Klemmer and now Frizzel. Pearce and Ponga need to deliver a shitload more than they have in 2021.
I think Ponga can develop abit of a short kicking game for sure but he'll never really be a primary kicking option. This year Ponga led the team in try assists, line break assists, line breaks, metres gained, tackle breaks and was also 2nd top try scorer, it illustrates the over reliance we have in him, moving him to 5/8th exacerbates that even further IMO. If I'm AOB I want Ponga to just concentrate on his greatest strength which is his ball running instead of trying to do everything including making up for inadequate halves, we're stuck with Pearce for 2021 at least and really just need to get the best 5/8th available to take the load off Ponga. At this point I wouldn't even mind Benji as a short term option, he's obviously not the ball runner he was and his defence is suspect but in my opinion he still has Pearce covered in both facets and his short kicking game and ball playing are far superior
I reckon this is more likely with Ponga needing surgery. Hoy will probably train at 1 and might get the start there.1. Hoy
6. Ponga
7. Pearce
9. Brailey
14. Watson
When you say not great from fullback do you mean not great from kick returns?Except Ponga is the best half we have by miles. His ball running is great, but not great from fullback. His passing game is also great.
We havent seen much from his kicking in general play ad its always been "give it to Pearce" on the last.
Most people are stuck in this 90s mind frame of how positions are played. Fullbacks are essentially a 2nd or 3rd receiver and play both sides as well as up the middle, it's a freedom to roam position, 5/8th generally are stuck playing one edge and have abit more responsibility in organising and kicking both things Ponga isn't known for.Fullback in the modern game is quickly becoming the most important position in the team.
So the proposal is - Take our one of the games best fullbacks and our most lethal attacking weapon and move him to another position ?
Partner him at 5/8 with our halfback who cant organise our team or produce a short kicking game
Replace his position at fullback with an untested rookie.
Ok got it.
exactlyMost people are stuck in this 90s mind frame of how positions are played. Fullbacks are essentially a 2nd or 3rd receiver and play both sides as well as up the middle, it's a freedom to roam position, 5/8th generally are stuck playing one edge and have abit more responsibility in organising and kicking both things Ponga isn't known for.
That's called doing a Nathan Brown.You dont take your most precision sniper and hand him a pistol on the front line - that's nonsensical
That's called doing a Nathan Brown.
exactly
Fullback allows Ponga to play to his strengths and is where he is most lethal - fullback is far more influential on the outcome of the modern game.
Moving Ponga would nullify his strengths and stagnate his development as a footy player.
You dont take your most precision sniper and hand him a pistol on the front line - that's nonsensical
that would also involve taking the biggest slowest grunt with one eye and making him the forward scout.That's called doing a Nathan Brown.
The "big 3 " at Storm were Cronk. Smith and Slater ( no 5/8 )Nathan Brown is a shit coach. Lets not put too much weight on whatever he tried eh.
Fullback the most influential player on a result. Yeah nah, nice one though. No doubt important, but not most influential.
If you are interested in KP's development as a player you should want him to move to 5/8. You want your best creative player getting as many touches on the ball as possible. Ponga is by far the best ball playing half at the club, and he has a running game to boot. With his skills I doubt he would struggle developing a short kicking game, and not too had to develop a useful medium to long kicking game either.
KP's best work is up close to the defence in the line with ball in hand and either setting up his outside backs or slicing through the D as he jinks across field. He is average at support play, average at fielding bombs, average at kick return.
In other words the halfback.repeat sets, punting the ball downfield (and actually getting a result) to get good field position , taking field goals, kicking 40/20's, and handling most of the playmaking then I would agree.