Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Joshuatheeel

They spend heaps of money on poaching Juniors, hardly the same as producing them.

As for us I don't care where they come from as long as we get them here and they become first graders. Things in that area have improved since Kearney and Nolan came here. We are now only starting to see the fruits of their labour. (academy)

Do they "poach" them ? Or do they better identify which "young" pre 18 year old players to target ?

Anyhow just a quick look at there side this week I think Watson wasn't wanted by the dogs, Mitchell/Aubusson are from the country.

Napa/friend were signed as a teenager's from QLD. Pearce/Cordner was also identified as a teenager. Neither of those 4 player any junior rep footy with other Clubs. So they weren't "poached".

SKD wasn't wanted by the Warriors while Tupou / Guerra / Matterson weren't exactly identified by their junior NRL clubs as being must re-signs.

JWH was obviously targeted as a under 20's player, so yes he was "poached".

So I don't think they are doing any more "poaching" then other clubs.

They spend heaps of money on poaching Juniors, hardly the same as producing them.

As for us I don't care where they come from as long as we get them here and they become first graders. Things in that area have improved since Kearney and Nolan came here. We are now only starting to see the fruits of their labour. (academy)

Poaching perhaps but so many talented juniors aren't looked after and go walk abouts or don't reach potential.

Joshuatheeel

I consider any player an NRL junior of a particular club they first get a start with in the junior reps.

For example the Stewart players, they should have been signed by the Dragons but nope Manly got them ( they were more interested then the dragons), so really they developed them. I consider them as manly juniors, they did all the hard work.

Glenneel

Matagi and Vave on the bench together means having them on the field together. Their work rate means our defence would collapse in the middle.

You're off your f**king head. No player wants to quit with the money rolling into the game. They all want to play until they're 40. Those who don't are the ones unhappy with the offers. Or unique individuals like Wicks. Scott might retire at the end of this contract but no chance he will quit during it. He has massive medical bills to pay.
I thought I read somewhere that the 3rd year of Scott was an option year, not sure whose favour, but if club has option to renew would be better investing into someone else. Probably recruit internally with Morris or Niukore from reserves.
Imo need a couple big, skilful middle forwards, Kakau? (Penrith) and Evans (Roosters) would be ideal, a good dh, maybe Parcell from SL, and maybe another half depending on how Gutherson goes this year.

Glenneel

My apologies if this has already been duscussed to death but, it seems most Parra fans want to see the return of Nathan Peats. I understand that he's a decent player but is incredibly injury prone. Kaysa also seems to be as injury prone as Peats. Cameron King is even less of an option as he's injured more than Pritchard and Peats.

Surely we should be looking for another option as I can't see any of those 3 being consistent nor long term players.
What about Cherrington from the Sharks, 3rd choice option there at moment, but I have never seen him play. From all reports a decent player thou and would probably willing to come across now.

Wonder how much that ACL injury has cost him? I doubt the Cows have signed him for anywhere near the money the Knights were supposedly offering before they pulled their offer in the wake of the injury... Knights dodged a bullet there I reckon...
Probably well over a million, the Knights were offering an extra year as well.

I'm not sure ACL injuries are as relevant for future performance if you're a prop. At the elite level anyway. Especially a prop like Scott who just runs at merkins. He'll come back just fine IMO

Forty20

We did but were they really wanted by their previous clubs?

Niukore was deemed surplus to requirements at the Warriors so we snapped him up off the trash heap as it were. Quality low-risk/solid-payoff signing and despite Wenty's poor overall start to the season, Niukore along with the likes of George Jennings have been pretty good.

Leleisiuao apparently had attitude issues at the Gold Coast but I am not sure what their stance on his retention was. Looks like a good pick up at this stage and the indication that I have had to date is that he has been training really well.

Oh right yes bench players

Thanks for that revelation
Last I checked bench players are part of your 17. Then you've got premiership winning middle forwards like Brian Norrie and David Tyrell - both made less carries than their wingers and would've been on less money too. There's no rule saying you need to start with your best forwards on the field.

We did but were they really wanted by their previous clubs?
Niukore was deemed surplus to requirements at the Warriors so we snapped him up off the trash heap as it were. Quality low-risk/solid-payoff signing and despite Wenty's poor overall start to the season, Niukore along with the likes of George Jennings have been pretty good.

Leleisiuao apparently had attitude issues at the Gold Coast but I am not sure what their stance on his retention was. Looks like a good pick up at this stage and the indication that I have had to date is that he has been training really well.

On Titans forum they mentioned there 3 best prospect in under 20s where Jed cartwright-Brian Kelly and Greg.
An none could understand why let all 3 go.

Well if you don't poach them how do you expect to get them into your system? They will go wherever they're poached.
Hey I'm not bagging the Roosters, their system works as I said. They pay overs for the best 16/7/8 year in the NRL and bring them into their system. The ones that make it they keep and the ones that aren't cutting it are quickly discard them before they get to play 20's

As I said Brian Smith put it all in place so you know it's a good system.

Glenneel

I'd be happy with that, tbh.

I'd even start with Vave; he impressed me against the Sharks.

But I think Brown starting would give us better balance.

Though it would likely leave Matagi and Vave on the bench (unless Vave gets dropped for Alvaro, which I don't mind, because I rate Alvaro).
Can't see the love for Alvaro, has as much impact as Terepo or Moeroa. All reasonable players, best described as tradesmen players, but won't turn a match. Prefer other players with more skill and impact.