Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

I hate how they play but it's a results driven business and he comes up trumps. Don't you think?
Yeah but we're talking about Melbourne "walk across field hand in hand, we get to keep our boats right, but we still won grand finals" Storm, right? Think Bellamy's legacy is even more tainted than Uncle Wayne's

But for all other intents they have a legal contract between player and club. Didn't we recently go through this when is a contract a contract with Hopoate?

Yeh, but that had nothing to do with the cooling off period. That was us sitting on the agreement for ages and denying that full agreement on terms had ever occurred.

Incorrect

Yeah but we're talking about Melbourne "walk across field hand in hand, we get to keep our boats right, but we still won grand finals" Storm, right? Think Bellamy's legacy is even more tainted than Uncle Wayne's
The thing with Bellamy is that after they were caught systematically rorting the cap, they shed the required players and you assume haev been compliant since. Yeah, they've had the Big 3 all the time since but Bellamy has managed to squeeze some life out of some pretty unfancied players to become an effective unit and has won a GF since. When Bennett's teams fall short, he just goes and recruits rep players he thnks will take him the next step... Bellamy has a knack for getting more out of less than Bennett IMO

84 Baby

Yeh, but that had nothing to do with the cooling off period. That was us sitting on the agreement for ages and denying that full agreement on terms had ever occurred.
This has nothing to do with cooling off period either (or shouldn't) because it has been waived by both parties to the contract. So now it is a 3rd party sitting on the agreement, with at best a 10 day registering turnaround, at worst a register whenever they damn please turnaround.
But more likely it is solely to do with the release request, possibly because there are contingent contracts, and determining impact to our salary cap going forward, thus nothing to do with cooling off period whatsover

By the way Jack Bird is overrated. I wouldn't swap him for either Moses or Norman.

If true Brisbane paid 1 million a year. I reckon Bird is close to a finished product. And a very good fail safe player. I could be wrong but I do not see him as a half that organizes a game or a good match for Milford.
A very good player in centres and Fullback - Not sure at half.

A lot less risk then Moses thou. Moses could be a great of the game. But Moses could also be exposed and fluff out. I doubt it as he has had 3 yrs and constantly put good numbers for TA and LBAs along with LB's.

Of course Moses does need to fix his defense. Thou Hunt-Milford-Thurston-Moylan miss as many tackles and have had more experience.

84 Baby

The thing with Bellamy is that after they were caught systematically rorting the cap, they shed the required players and you assume haev been compliant since. Yeah, they've had the Big 3 all the time since but Bellamy has managed to squeeze some life out of some pretty unfancied players to become an effective unit and has won a GF since. When Bennett's teams fall short, he just goes and recruits rep players he thnks will take him the next step... Bellamy has a knack for getting more out of less than Bennett IMO
I guess we begin to find out next year how good he is

84 Baby

By the way Jack Bird is overrated. I wouldn't swap him for either Moses or Norman.
I don't think Bird's overrated. It's just he's more likely to win Churchill medal, while someone like Norman is more likely to win Dally M. I don't see where he would have fit in our squad though

Maybe or perhaps the average players just look better in a team that has Cronk-Slater-Smith-Bromidtch-Chambers-Harris-Mclean.
Add Vunavalu and Munster and its the nucleus of a great team. Last season throw in Koribete-Proctor-Green.

What the salary cap rort did was allow them to keep the big 3 together rather then be snapped up.

In 2009 guys like Cayless-Lowrie-Smith-Reddy-MK-Kingston-Robson-Mortimer-Mannah-Gaulvao-Inu -Burt -Grothe where made to look like very good players. Are they much better then guys in opposite position now?
Kingston is about the only guy id swap for.
3 guys made that team great - MoiMoi- Hindmarsh & Hayne. They also made a few bums get contracts and big ones they did not deserve. Bellamy is just a little smarter then half the coaches out there. He realizes that is exactly what is happening. So when a good player goes he replaces with another good player. But he doesn't go out and pay them superstar money. He buys a guy and puts him in his system. While other stupid clubs go wow he is worth double only for them to disappoint when leave.

Problem is other clubs are wising up to it all now.

Also with Storms cap rort I'm sure they where able to tell the big 3 well look we been paying you extra for this long so how about taking a little less.
Just as the dogs players took pay cuts to stay together and win a title also allowed.

We where forced to shed guys and held to ransom. And it dragged on for best part of 12mths. Our squad was not only ripped apart it wasn't given time to rebuild until the NRL finalised things in November.
Look when all the good players are being snapped up? APRIL.

Also what time of year did Hayne and Foran pull pin? BA has had a tainted 2015-2016-2017. I like to blame him but he hasn't had a squad yet that he completely built.

lingard

If I was the coach I'd have Norman wear the 7. Parra has an enormous history of failure in that 7 jumper and Norman seems like the type of personality to be able to just take that in his stride and be not too fussed about it. Whereas Moses will have pressure on him to perform any way, so why put more pressure on him by making him wear the 7 jumper?

I'm sure the coaching staff can work out what roles they want them to play without it mattering what jumper someone is wearing...

A lot of people think there is no difference between a five-eight and a half-back these days. But they're wrong. And i think the pendulum is swinging back toward a more defined distinction between the two.
Norman is more a five-eight and Moses more of a halfback. Norman 6, Moses 7 in my opinion.

lingard

I don't think he's over-rated; but he's one of those players whose utility value goes against him. He's not a better half or five-eight than Norman or Moses - but he might be a better allround player than either of them. He'd probably make a fantastic old-style lock-forward.

Feleti Mateo was one of the best attacking players in the comp back in 2009. Unfortunately he was also a defensive liability, and edge forward is one place you can't hide a poor defender.

A lot of people think there is no difference between a five-eight and a half-back these days. But they're wrong. And i think the pendulum is swinging back toward a more defined distinction between the two.
Norman is more a five-eight and Moses more of a halfback. Norman 6, Moses 7 in my opinion.
There has always been a distinction between the quality of the running games between the two halves. Unless of course their attacking quality is very similar, as in the case of Norman and Moses.

So where teams try to get their more dangerous running half into a bit of space wide of the ruck, like we do with Norman (regardless of which jersey number he wears), those teams with two dangerous runners (like us after Moses arrives) have the luxury of just letting them play left and right, attacking from the middle (with halves split) or from a long shift from either side (with the halves working together).

Of course close to the opposition line this goes out the window and most coaches will create set plays (or just give his halves freedom) to overload both halves on one side, regardless of whether one or both has a running game. The principle here is trying to create a mismatch - isolating a small defender against a big runner, or a slow defender against a speedster. Obviously halves have the best skills for engineering such a mismatch, and the top running halves may themselves be the runner taking on the isolated defender.

Chipmunk

My argument had nothing to do with positions, it was about the poor performances and pressures of those that wear the No 7 at Parra.

Why can't the person who wears 6 play what you want to be a half back? Why can't the person who is a five-eigth wear 7?

The person who wears 9 hasn't played hooker in a scrum for 10 years. Hindmarsh played in 11 for the last 5 years of his career, but played Lock.

IFR33K

It's not too complicated. They are the 1 team in a 1-team city that is a big rugby league city, with a relatively united media army. It makes it much easier for them to get external $$ for the players that don't breach TPA guidelines. Then if you add a bit of cheating it exacerbates the problem.

Yeah nah Barry I'm going to have to disagree with you.

I fail to comprehend how bird in a matter of days could snare any tpa's up there, period. Let's be honest, how marketable would he be amongst qld'ers???

Call me stupid, naive or gullible, but if the broncos aren't initiating/securing tpa's, then I have no fcking idea.

Joshuatheeel

Feleti Mateo was one of the best attacking players in the comp back in 2009. Unfortunately he was also a defensive liability, and edge forward is one place you can't hide a poor defender.

And yet one of the limited attacking edge forwards (and now middle forward) Beau Scott is still playing as he heads towards his mid 30's while Mateo plays bundy cup for a pie and coke.

Really does show what NRL coaches want!!

Incorrect

And yet one of the limited attacking edge forwards (and now middle forward) Beau Scott is still playing as he heads towards his mid 30's while Mateo plays bundy cup for a pie and coke.

Really does show what NRL coaches want!!
From the looks of Feleti lately, it might be more than just 1 pie with that coke he's getting....

Yeah nah Barry I'm going to have to disagree with you.

I fail to comprehend how bird in a matter of days could snare any tpa's up there, period. Let's be honest, how marketable would he be amongst qld'ers???

Call me stupid, naive or gullible, but if the broncos aren't initiating/securing tpa's, then I have no fcking idea.
Hi stupid.