Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

IFR33K

Farah would have to compromise I think. If he is owed 900k next season and another club would pay 350k the tigers mays fork out 400k. I think this would be in his best interest. I reckon he will fire up if he plays for a new club. A new challenge. An upgrade on Peats tbh

Why would he compromise? He could stay in reggies and earn his 950k there. With only a couple years left in him, and at those dollars, he won't be budging.

I dare say whoever picks him up, won't be paying more than $250-300k.

Mate he is the nsw 9 and one of the best 9s in the nrl who has been benched and then dropped for a makeshift 9 all season. So him speaking his mind after 9-10 months of bullshi* is being a merkin?

Can I just ask - why does the fact he's the NSW 9 keep being bandied about?

Farah is lucky that that big-nosed imbecile that coaches NSW has a hard-on for him - Peats should have been NSW hooker.

Paul Gallen was the incumbent skipper - he still sucks.

Greg Bird was the incumbent back-rower- he blows chunks.

I fail to see how Farah being the incumbent NSW hooker means he's a better player.

He's a selfish player, all about his own glory, and a toxic influence.

Noise

Farah would have to compromise I think. If he is owed 900k next season and another club would pay 350k the tigers mays fork out 400k. I think this would be in his best interest. I reckon he will fire up if he plays for a new club. A new challenge. An upgrade on Peats tbh

No, that is in the Tiger's best interests. Sacrificing 250k is certainly not in Robbie's interests. Even if he plays reserve grade next year teams will still know what he offers ability wise if they wanted him for a year or two from 2018 onwards. He is still in the top 5 hookers in the competition.

hybrideel

Didn't everyone jump up and down saying how out of line it was when Sandow criticised BA in the media saying we would win more if he was allowed to play his way. It's essentially the same thing here.
The coach is the boss, you cannot publically criticise his decision and expect to get back into the team.
I'll give it to him though, he is playing it smart, getting people on his side against the coach, so when he makes his next power play to sack another coach, it will work

New club = possible new connections for jobs after footy. He wont get any at Tigers.
Playing first grade = Not being forgotten, and more jobs in the media.

Playing reserves he will become a forgotten man in 4 weeks.

Robbie would be 33 at season kick off. Will any club give him a one year deal after a year in reserves? Some clubs might offer him a 2 yr deal thou if can have him for next year.

Farah is lucky that that big-nosed imbecile that coaches NSW has a hard-on for him - Peats should have been NSW hooker.

I fail to see how Farah being the incumbent NSW hooker means he's a better player.

Why should peats over Ennis who has been the form hooker in the comp for 18 mths.
Peats is a great defensive hooker who offer very little in attack.

The only reason robbie is still at the tigers is cos no NRL team would offer to pay enough of his 950k contract for the tigers to consider it worth while paying the rest while he plays elsewhere ... and clearly robbie has not been willing to sacrifice any dollars to help make it happen

Why should peats over Ennis who has been the form hooker in the comp for 18 mths.
Peats is a great defensive hooker who offer very little in attack.

Did you not see him last night? Peats was the difference.

But you're right - Ennis should have been there over both of them.

The point is Farah is lucky to be NSW hooker.

Noise

The only reason robbie is still at the tigers is cos no NRL team would offer to pay enough of his 950k contract for the tigers to consider it worth while paying the rest while he plays elsewhere ... and clearly robbie has not been willing to sacrifice any dollars to help make it happen

Do you think the NRL might have some kind of 'value' on robbie that the new club has to pay (like they did with Izzy)? You would think the Tigers would want to get rid of him at all costs as freeing up even a little bit of his 950k salary is better than nothing. Maybe the NRL have said the Tigers can only contribute this much (eg 450k) and the new club has to foot the rest and this is why no club will take him on..

I think the fact robbie is still nsw hooker says little more than we simply have nothing better

I think ennis is the best nrl hooker from nsw ... but he didnt succeed in his nsw stint

Peats is not as good all round as farah ... peats is a tackling machine but his attack has not progressed

Do you think the NRL might have some kind of 'value' on robbie that the new club has to pay (like they did with Izzy)? You would think the Tigers would want to get rid of him at all costs as freeing up even a little bit of his 950k salary is better than nothing. Maybe the NRL have said the Tigers can only contribute this much (eg 450k) and the new club has to foot the rest and this is why no club will take him on..
No i dont think there is anything about a nrl value

I kinda agree, some at the tiges would want him gone at any cost ... but i think there are others that wont unless it is cost effective ... i reckon there probably are too many clubs who would want an aging hooker with a bit of attitude - and they prob wont wanna for out more than 250k ... that only buys u a decent nrl player these days

What clubs might want him?
Newcastle - i doubt they are too keen on his attitude when building a young team
Roosters - no
Eels - maybe but only if cheap
Rabbits - maybe
Manly - possibly but i think they r content
Warriors - no
Dragons - yeah maybe though they probably want him cheap so they can spend elsewhere
No other team higher on the table need a hooker - titans, panthers, broncos, canberra, cowboys, storm, sharks .... except possibly dogs but they would want him cheap as

There really are NOT options .... the tigers have to pay up ... every team that is an option would want him cheaper than 300k

Noise

No i dont think there is anything about a nrl value

I kinda agree, some at the tiges would want him gone at any cost ... but i think there are others that wont unless it is cost effective ... i reckon there probably are too many clubs who would want an aging hooker with a bit of attitude - and they prob wont wanna for out more than 250k ... that only buys u a decent nrl player these days

What clubs might want him?
Newcastle - i doubt they are too keen on his attitude when building a young team
Roosters - no
Eels - maybe but only if cheap
Rabbits - maybe
Manly - possibly but i think they r content
Warriors - no
Dragons - yeah maybe though they probably want him cheap so they can spend elsewhere
No other team higher on the table need a hooker - titans, panthers, broncos, canberra, cowboys, storm, sharks .... except possibly dogs but they would want him cheap as

There really are NOT options .... the tigers have to pay up ... every team that is an option would want him cheaper than 300k

I actually reckon Newcastle are a good chance.

Happy MEel

That's only in the origin arena. Gallen is still an incredible lock at club level and is a significant reason the sharks are doing so well. Bird isn't in Gals league but still a good second row option at club level. Farah is still in the top 4 or 5 hookers in the NRL and a quality NRL player.

I actually reckon Newcastle are a good chance.
I think theres a fair chance he would undermine the coach and that wont be good building a team from young players ... i reckon newy need an experienced player (or two) but i dont think he would be a good one

He needs a team with a premiership window ... Eels, but no cash to spend if we resign norman and maybe get hayne back, and are we still a premiership chance? - Dogs if they can get him cheap as

That's only in the origin arena. Gallen is still an incredible lock at club level and is a significant reason the sharks are doing so well. Bird isn't in Gals league but still a good second row option at club level. Farah is still in the top 4 or 5 hookers in the NRL and a quality NRL player.

He is a quality player for sure, but the measure of how good he is shouldn't be the idea that he plays Origin for NSW, imo.

After all, David Williams, Tony Williams, Brett Finch, Kurt Gidley, Greg Bird and Brett White all played for NSW...

Happy MEel

He is a quality player for sure, but the measure of how good he is shouldn't be the idea that he plays Origin for NSW, imo.

After all, David Williams, Tony Williams, Brett Finch, Kurt Gidley, Greg Bird and Brett White all played for NSW...

Yep fair enough. My original reference to origin included "which means he's not a complete nuffie".

Noise

As bizarre as this sounds, apparently Newcastle have very little room in the Salary Cap for next season.

I reckon that is one of the reasons they let Tariq Sims go. He would have been on big $$ so that would have freed up a bit.