Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

^^^^

MICHAEL Jennings was a groomsman at Josh Mansour’s wedding but now he’s hopeful the pair will once again become teammates.

Mansour, an Australia international, is the highest profile winger off-contract this season and Parramatta are interested.

The Eels still have money in the bank following the departure of Semi Radradra and are yet to make a call on whether they’ll sign a replacement.

To start the season, Josh Hoffman and Kirisome Auva’a are the wing pairing but that doesn’t mean Brad Arthur won’t decide to hit the market for the 2019 season.
Arthur will have a first-hand look at Mansour this weekend when the Eels face the Panthers on Sunday afternoon in Penrith.

While Jennings won’t be exchanging pleasantries with Mansour come game time, he does hope the Eels are a genuine option to land his signature.

Josh Mansour gets taken down by Tepai Moeroa.Source: News Corp Australia
“He’s a close mate of mine. I was on his line for his wedding. If that’s ever a possibility to get Josh here, he’s still got a year there but there’s a bit of chatter he’s going to come here,” Jennings told foxsports.com.au.

“He hasn’t really told me that’s the case. He’s keeping it all to himself. If he’s going to make a decision and we have the opportunity to take Mansour, it would be great.

“It would add more experience and more class to our team.

“It’s a good rumour going around.”

Mansour, 27, joined the Panthers in 2012 after failing to break into the top grade for South Sydney.

He debuted in Round 9 on the same edge as Jennings and the pair grew closer as the year went on.

While Jennings left the foot of the mountains at the end of Mansour’s rookie year to join the Roosters, the duo kept in touch.

OTMyMDE4MjJ8Y3hvLmJ8aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuZm94c3BvcnRzLmNvbS5hdS9wbWQvaW1hZ2VzLzIwMTgvMDMvMDgvNjY4Mzg3XzY0MHgzNjBfbGFyZ2VfMjAxODAzMDgyMTIzMjQuanBnfDkzMjAxODIy

Mannah stands by Hayne

0:53
Mansour’s star has continued to rise since Jennings’ exit despite an injury interrupted 2017.

After a stint with the Roosters, Jennings landed at the Eels. With both men living in western Sydney Jennings said their friendship has been able to blossom despite no longer being teammates.

“Penrith is where we became good mates. We’ve actually played together,” Jennings explained.

Live scores and stats, the latest news and the best video highlights — get the ultimate NRL experience on your phone with the new FOX LEAGUE App. Download it NOW for FREE on iOS and Android!

“I played a year there and he was a winger for a couple of games at the back end of 2012. He was playing on my wing.

“That’s when we forged a relationship from there. I remember some Lebanese kid no one knew and wondered who’s this kid and got talking with him nice and early and we clicked from there and been really good mates ever since.”

Noise

With Inglis, Hayne and Dugan all moving to right centre this year we seem to be moving back to smaller quicker fullbacks when not long ago there was a trend to big powerful guys. Tommy T might be the last 'big' fullback running around in 1st grade

*I dont consider Boyd, and RTS really 'big'

Joshuatheeel

With Inglis, Hayne and Dugan all moving to right centre this year we seem to be moving back to smaller quicker fullbacks when not long ago there was a trend to big powerful guys. Tommy T might be the last 'big' fullback running around in 1st grade

Maybe, but Inglis is coming back from an knee injury and I heard an interview where he is going back to fullback once he is ready. Dugan isn't a fullback as he has f**k all play making skills (but is a great winger) and Hayne has no choice but to play centre.

But yeah I can see you point. Also was 100kg plus fullbacks ever the normal ? Inglis / Hayne are freaks of their generation.

The again what other "big" fullbacks has there been? Apart from Hayne / Inglis / Dugan / tommy T I really can't think of any other successful 100kg fullbacks over the last 10 years (eg players with 100 plus NRL games)

I reckon that, even when Hayne and Inglis were playing FB, that most were in that 87-95kg range.

Basil Brush

Hayne's best position is prob still fullback.

It is just he is currently better suited for us in the centres (although expect him to spend some time at fullback).

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/pa...n-landmark-watmough-case-20180310-p4z3qu.html

Parramatta make $1m claim against insurer in landmark Watmough case

Parramatta is taking landmark legal action against the NRL’s insurer after it refused to make a seven-figure payout to Anthony Watmough.

The Eels have begun Supreme Court action against QBE with a claim of $1,096,613 over the insurer’s decision not to provide Watmough a career-ending insurance payout.

The case has the potential to result in a flood of similar claims from NRL clubs relating to injuries that have led to players retiring prematurely.

Parramatta signed Watmough on a four-year deal from 2015 to 2018, although the former Manly, NSW and Australian backrower managed just 17 appearances for the blue and golds.

The Eels claim his career was effectively over following a preseason training mishap in which Watmough collided with fellow forward Beau Scott on Valentine’s Day of 2016.

The club claims the medial injury he sustained to his knee should be covered by insurance, while QBE claims Watmough’s retirement was the result of pre-existing knee issues.

The Eels agreed to a payout deal with Watmough, which resulted in him being paid 75 per cent of his contract values for 2017 and 2018. That worked out to $476,250 for his third season (originally contracted at $635,000) and $416,250 (originally $555,000) for the final one. The club’s claim against QBE includes those totals and two $100,000 third-party deals for Watmough, plus interest and costs, taking the total over the $1 million mark.

It’s understood all 16 clubs were paying QBE about $35,000 per season for the premium at the time.

While the NRL never included the Eels’ payout to Watmough under the cap, the club is furious the insurer declined the claim. The stoush comes at a time when Parramatta is trying to curb its football club expenditure, having spent about $22 million over the past two seasons, the highest of any NRL club.

At the time of the incident, it’s understood doctors engaged by Watmough and the club - as well as an independent medico - agreed the Scott hit had led to the career-ending injury. Prior to the incident, Watmough was scheduled to play in a pre-season trial the following weekend.

“I don’t know why people have insurance,” said Eels chairman Max Donnelly.

“You have a [legitimate] claim and it gets denied.”

The NRL engaged QBE in 2014 to protect clubs and footballers, a year after Alex McKinnon suffered catastrophic spinal damage.

If Parramatta is successful, it could lead to insurers - rather than the clubs - having to spend millions in payouts to players in similar situations to that of Watmough.

The case will also likely set a precedent regarding what constitutes a pre-existing, as opposed to career-ending, injury.

The Eels’ bottom line has been hit by a series of payouts and fines in recent years. As well as the Watmough matter, there have also been payouts to Will Hopoate and Kieran Foran on top of the $750,000 fine meted out over salary cap breaches.

The club has also been involved in a series of legal disputes, including one against former major sponsor Dyldam.

The Eels posted a loss of more than $10 million in the last financial year but are seeking to slash costs in order to become less reliant on their leagues club.

The development comes as the NRL introduces a ‘soft’ cap on football expenditure of $5.7 million from this season.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...h/news-story/18042092dd85990d2c1a2a4faea9668f

Parramatta Eels launch legal action with NRL insurer over denial of a career-ending injury payout to former player Anthony Watmough

MICHAEL CARAYANNIS, The Sunday Telegraph
March 10, 2018 3:34pm

THE signing of Anthony Watmough continues to plague Parramatta with the Eels launching legal action against the NRL’s insurer, QBE, over its denial of a career-ending injury payout to the former representative star.

The Sunday Telegraph can reveal that the Eels are locked in a bitter court battle with the insurance company regarding payment of the final two years of Watmough’s contract believed to be worth about $1.2 million.

QBE denied the insurance payout to Watmough in 2017 regarding a knee injury which cut-short his rich four-year deal after just 12 months. Parramatta Eels chairman Max Donnelly confirmed the club had taken the insurance company to court.

“I can’t work out why people take insurance out for these types of things because claims are denied regardless of the evidence,” Donnelly told the Sunday Telegraph.

The Daily Telegraph reported in August 2016 that the insurance company had denied the payment forcing the club to stump up the more than one million dollars required to fulfil its obligations.

097403a26b5892995aab47c642a5455b

In a letter obtained then, QBE wrote to Watmough to say that his claim was denied because of his “inability to play in the NRL or any other professional league is the result of symptomatic, pre-existing degenerative changes to your left knee”.

Parramatta have maintained Watmough suffered his career-ending injury in February last year, in a “friendly fire” pre-season training mishap with Eels teammate Beau Scott.

The NRL agreed with the Eels notion, therefore exempting the payment from their 2017 and 2018 salary caps.

After a distinguished career at Manly, Watmough featured in just 17 games for the Eels in 2015 before his premature retirement. Since retiring he has started a new career in the food industry having bought a share in Cubby’s Kitchen after it relocated from Surry Hills to the CBD.

The civil matter is listed to be heard in the Supreme Court on March 28.

Basil Brush

Insurance companies are fast becoming the dodgiest people on the planet. Used to be lawyers and used car salesmen but insurance companies getting worse imho.

They've got an arguable case in this circumstance. If we win, premiums for players with any history of knee injuries will increase significantly, or they just wont cover them

Basil Brush

They've got an arguable case in this circumstance. If we win, premiums for players with any history of knee injuries will increase significantly, or they just wont cover them
Yeah i am not just referring to this case. I am talking about insurance companies in general. I know a lot of people who refuse to take any kind of insurance now (including health insurance) as it is just not worth it.

As Max said in the article, what is the point?

What is the point? Individuals have insurance because they might not be able to stay afloat after an accident or two. But is a footy club in the same position with this type of insurance? Considering that overall you will pay more in premiums than you will receive, why have it at all?

Basil Brush

What is the point? Individuals have insurance because they might not be able to stay afloat after an accident or two. But is a footy club in the same position with this type of insurance? Considering that overall you will pay more in premiums than you will receive, why have it at all?
In terms of individuals or families with health insurance, if you have an accident, that is where the public health system in australia is one of the best in the world.

However if you are talking about salary/work insurance, i agree with you. That is the only insurance worth taking imo.

Noise

I don't disagree with you but re. the 'what is the point' question....Isn't it the law that all employers have insurance for their employees?