Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Glenneel

My plea has fallen on deaf ears. You're already blowing up and we haven't even played. Give it a rest FFS.
Listen Soren, I'm entitled to my opinion as you are, and I'd never tell anyone not to express their opinion. Even though it may be poles apart from mine they are still entitled to it. If you don't like my opinion then DON'T BLOODY READ IT! Simple really.

Noise

We look like we're playing on a field that's 10 metres narrower than we're used to, by the time our centres are getting the ball they're almost on top of the sideline.

Our halves aren’t straightening the attack at all. It’s just long shifts. French when he was fullback wasn’t really running direct either. Super easy to defend

We look like we're playing on a field that's 10 metres narrower than we're used to, by the time our centres are getting the ball they're almost on top of the sideline.
Totally agree .... so much sideway running from our halves - particularly norman

Norman to me looks like a dude almost scared to be tackled hard .... he runs sideways and if he gets stuck with the ball dances and runs backwards

Our halves need to straighten things up a bit at times

If Koroisau is off contract at the end of this season like someone here has stated, I don't think that's right, but if he is I would go hard for him. Get rid of all the other dummy halves and give him their money. I have been going on about this guy when he was playing in the juniors at age 17-18. He will go very close to being the SOO hooker this year.

Players like Pangai Junior, Shannon Boyd and in particular Junior Paulo should be made a priority.

Kaufusi and Papalli are also off contract at the end of this year and should also be looked at.

I wonder if we get even one of these guys when all is said and done.

As for our juniors, I can't remember the last time we had a real gun forward or back come through. So much for all the hype about our juniors. Junior is probably the last and we didn't value him enough to hold on to him.

Seems as though nothing much has changed. Canberra and Penrith both junior developing clubs like ours seem to develop heaps of real quality and can hold on to many of them.

What the hell is going on with our club?!
I reckon you make fair opinions about needing certain players/types ... but i also think you get the dirts without even knowing what is happening behind the scenes .... im not saying i do, but i reckon we are trying to get some of the dudes you talk about, but not succeeding

Glenneel

Jarryd Hayne is not causing us to lose the ruck in attack and defence. It is a combination of the new rules, our small pack and a lack of fitness in terms of the wrestle (we are shit at it). Last year in defence we relied on line speed and this year they are cracking down on getting off the line early. We are getting penalised a lot for leaving early. Also the attention to detail when playing the ball is killing us too. We can't get quick play the balls away. Last year Brown rolled the ball with his hands (no foot) constantly. I remember commenting on it thinking we will get penalised. We never did. Mannah didn't use his feet much either. Now they are cracking down and all our smaller forwards are playing the ball slower, and getting dominated in the tackle just exacerbates the problem
Last year the NRL had us as the slowest team to play the ball, 3.9 secs I think. Every other team was under 3 secs. So what's changed?

Noise

Last year the NRL had us as the slowest team to play the ball, 3.9 secs I think. Every other team was under 3 secs. So what's changed?

Don’t know but from the eye test we are even slower now. TCT reported there was much less up / down conditioning work in pre season training. Maybe that is a factor.

Glenneel

Serious question - do you guys seriously think last night's loss was due to poor attitude/lack of enthusiasm?

The Sharks were kept quiet - but that's because our defence was first class, tbh.

Make no mistake- the Sharks were under-strength, but they threw plenty at us, but we refused to give in. I think that's commendable tbh.

Our big issue last night was that Moses and Norman had no idea what to do in the attacking 20.

We certainly had plenty of chances to win the game imo.
Well if allegedly Moses and Norman have the shits maybe that is why they aren't performing.
If JH is taking shortcuts at training again and getting away with it, it would cause disruption with the playing group.

eel01s

Serious question - do you guys seriously think last night's loss was due to poor attitude/lack of enthusiasm?

The Sharks were kept quiet - but that's because our defence was first class, tbh.

Make no mistake- the Sharks were under-strength, but they threw plenty at us, but we refused to give in. I think that's commendable tbh.

Our big issue last night was that Moses and Norman had no idea what to do in the attacking 20.

We certainly had plenty of chances to win the game imo.
I agree. Our forwards did enough. We had plenty of opportunities to score, but were hopeless in attack. What were they doing in training in the off season???

TheRam

I reckon you make fair opinions about needing certain players/types ... but i also think you get the dirts without even knowing what is happening behind the scenes .... im not saying i do, but i reckon we are trying to get some of the dudes you talk about, but not succeeding

That was my point. Why are we not succeeding? What makes other teams more attractive then one of the richest clubs in the league, supposed best junior(I'm beginning to have my doubts) and number one fan base in NSW. Can't be TPA's that was 2 years ago now. Canterbury never had any major lingering issues with TPA's that I can remember.

I thought we had one of the best coaches and CEO's plus a great new managerial structure going forward. Sponsors would all know or be made aware of all this now. Also with the new Stadium opening next year, the hype and publicity around our team and eyeballs watching them would be massive value for any potential TPA's compared to say the Roosters, Penrith, Tigers, or Bulldogs for example.

As for the way we finished last year, it was an awesome feel good story due to the teams performances and style of play. So if our players managers or club management can't court new players and sponsors successfully, I argue they can't be to good at their job.

That was my point. Why are we not succeeding? What makes other teams more attractive then one of the richest clubs in the league, supposed best junior(I'm beginning to have my doubts) and number one fan base in NSW. Can't be TPA's that was 2 years ago now. Canterbury never had any major lingering issues with TPA's that I can remember.

I thought we had one of the best coaches and CEO's plus a great new managerial structure going forward. Sponsors would all know or be made aware of all this now. Also with the new Stadium opening next year, the hype and publicity around our team and eyeballs watching them would be massive value for any potential TPA's compared to say the Roosters, Penrith, Tigers, or Bulldogs for example.

As for the way we finished last year, it was an awesome feel good story due to the teams performances and style of play. So if our players managers or club management can't court new players and sponsors successfully, I argue they can't be to good at their job.
Why do you think we are rich?

We arent .... i i think its clear we have nowhere near the TPA ability of other clubs

I think parra fans have lived some blind belief we are so much better than other clubs in all areas financial, support, etc etc .... i think its just blue and gold goggles

I agree. Our forwards did enough. We had plenty of opportunities to score, but were hopeless in attack. What were they doing in training in the off season???

I'm not too sure, buddy.

I actually thought we played pretty well last night, but our attack was non-existent.

Our forwards, rightfully, cop a lot of criticism - but I thought they stood up to be counted.

Moses and Norman were very, very ordinary imo.

I also think the whole TPA thing is a massive game of smoke and mirrors

it is absolutely nothing to do with whether your club is attractive to support and ALL about who you know and how much they want to support a footy team

Sure there are sponsors who want to chip in a few thousand here and there to get their name on a screen - and a major sponsor will officially fork out some decent cash .... but TPAs are totally different

Well if allegedly Moses and Norman have the shits maybe that is why they aren't performing.
If JH is taking shortcuts at training again and getting away with it, it would cause disruption with the playing group.

Maybe.

That scenario makes sense.

But then, I've heard that Moses isn't the world's greatest trainer, either, so...

Well if any of this is true, our friends at TCT would know. @Forty20 is Hayne dogging the hard training ? Do Moses and Normz hate each other hate the coach or hate brussels sprouts ?

Like i said before in 2017 we won those close games. We scored the same amount of tries as 2 of our opponents and yet to win.
We are off but not way off. Look at Canberra.However they are playing good footy.

I also said before this game it was interesting BA has French and Hoff on wings.
His recruitment has been odd. Mannah should be gone end of year, Scott a year to long imo and Hoffman was always a crap signing.
Like Scott, Hoffman was essential to get some experience into the team. He was signed because he ticked a box and was available at the right time for the right price.
As much as it was nice for Hayne to return does he improve the team a whole lot.

If Bevan was to be our fullback then Gutherson is centre. And if Gutherson was fullback and Bevan on wing did we need Hayne over Auvau or Taka?
Hayne was signed because we had a hole in our backline and he was the only one available. Also willing to come for 'unders'.
A Napa would of been much better.
Obviously not available. And overrated.
Still early for Evans but gee he looks off the pace. Seen enough to know has promise but lot of work to do.
He was our best attacking forward against Penrith but starved of the ball while he was on. He needs to improve his defence in a hurry though. He should've stayed on Gallen when he put Bukuya through for their only line break. He should've let him throw the inside ball rather than let Norman get isolated. The inside runner was the responsibility of the next inside defender.

TheRam

Why do you think we are rich?

We arent .... i i think its clear we have nowhere near the TPA ability of other clubs

I think parra fans have lived some blind belief we are so much better than other clubs in all areas financial, support, etc etc .... i think its just blue and gold goggles

You do realize that the Leagues club is one of the richest in the State. We have the largest supporter base in the State, the second largest junior base in the State and we are about to have the best football ground in the game to play in right next to the $100m+ redevelopment of the already multi million dollar profitable leagues club. Not to mention all the multi redevelopments going on around the place, which will bring more big end of town to the area.

If we aren't considered attractive, then what chance has any other club got in this city?

I’d offer overs for the likes of Pangai from then Broncos. Runs hard, quick, off load. He’s the type of player we desperately need instead of the absolute softies in our front row at the moment.
Pangai is massively overrated. What has he actually done? He made 63 metres on the weekend. Three of the Broncos' middle forwards made 150+

I think we took a risk with the AFL guy which, presently, appears not to be working.
Good clubs chase the best.
Id be looking at who does the conditioning at The Storm or Cowboys. Id also look at alternate assistant coaches. Grima is touted as a skills guru and the ex Titans guy has done sweet FA for our attack all the years hes been there. Cayless appears to offer little as well.
There was nothing wrong with our fitness last night.

BoneyBlake17

Totally agree .... so much sideway running from our halves - particularly norman

Norman to me looks like a dude almost scared to be tackled hard .... he runs sideways and if he gets stuck with the ball dances and runs backwards

Our halves need to straighten things up a bit at times

Seriously i wanted to run out and strangle norman last night. His time here is nearly over i have had enough of him

He prances around stops and surrenders without doing anything