Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

The Tax on professional footballers in Australia is different.

So, lets say that Semi earn't $750k from 2018 onwards for 4 years, $350 last year and $200k the two years before that and $100k the year before that, then the ATO would consider that his Taxable Income would be as follows.

• 2015 = $33.3k
  • 2016 = $75k
  • 2017 = $125k
  • 2018 = $212.5k
  • 2019 = $375k
  • 2020 = $512.5k
  • 2021 = $650k
Meaning that he would've paid the approx amount of tax
  • 2015 = $3k (Gross of $200k, Net of $197k)
  • 2016 = $16k (Gross of $200k,Net of $184k)
  • 2017 = $35k (Gross of $350k,Net of $315k)
  • 2018 = $68k (Gross of $750k,Net of $682k)
  • 2019 = $86k (Gross of $750k,Net of $664k)
  • 2020 = $210k (Gross of $750k,Net of $540k)
  • 2021 = $275k (Gross of $750k,Net of $475k)
Now with contracts you would probably expect to be continuing to earn more as your contract years goes on, so the Net for 2020 and 2021 is probably quite a bit lower than he would've expected.

I believe that there is still a tax obligation for athletes once they retire also though, for a further 3 years.
I think you missed a step out of the calculation - I get the following:

upload_2018-4-9_17-3-48.png

There is a thing called Above Average Special Professional Income that needs to be taken into account.

Gutho and French back v Canberra.

And you think thats the answer to our problems..?
Gutho & bevan wont offer anything. Bevan might with his speed in attack.
But we are struggling starting off our sets coming out of our own end as it is. We dont seem to get on the front foot. Gutho & Bevan will both offer nothing starting our sets.
Our back 3 get dominated and driven back as it is.
Things are only going to get worst

Smith has been one of our better players & the only one who looks dangerous when he runs.
Will be interesting to see what happens to him..

Gutho & bevan wont offer anything. Bevan might with his speed.
But we are struggling starting off our sets coming out of our own end as it is. We dont seem to get on the front foot. Gutho & Bevan will both offer nothing starting our sets.

Smith has been one of our better players & the only one who looks dangerous when he runs.

f**k, you're right!

Where did I put that straight razor?????

Noise

Smith has been gash and will not be fullback this week...or any other week where at least one of French, Gutho or Hayne is available

Gazzamatta

No arguement but Id suggest a primary reason for our attacking woes is confidence and I reckon this pair may provide some. They are part of our best 17. We need them. Smith to the bench to rest Kaysa or King and provide a genuine backline substitute if required. I reckon.

84 Baby

View attachment 18979

There is a thing called Above Average Special Professional Income that needs to be taken into account.
a59cf580c6a115f4bad42dda36312ca5.jpg

Smith has been gash and will not be fullback this week...or any other week where at least one of French, Gutho or Hayne is available

No shit.
Im making a point. While he has been there Smith has been the only one who looks dangerous.
Thats all im saying.
It will take weeks for gutho to be back to his best. It would be pointless to play Gutho in centres or wing. As he will offer nothing.
To be honest its going to take gutho a good month or 2 to be back to his best.
No match fitness at all. Timing will be out.
If you think his the answer to our problems then your off ya head.!
We are 0-5. Things going to get worst before they get better

Noise

No shit.
Im making a point. While he has been there Smith has been the only one who looks dangerous.
Thats all im saying.
It will take weeks for gutho to be back to his best. It would be pointless to play Gutho in centres or wing. As he will offer nothing.
To be honest its going to take gutho a good month or 2 to be back to his best.
No match fitness at all. Timing will be out.
If you think his the answer to our problems then your off ya head.!

I said a few weeks ago that Gutho will take ages to get back to his best. He is not going to be the answer but he'll offer more at fullback than Will Smith. Will Smith's timing is out and he has been fully fit. Will Smith is a backup player only

I rarely like to pan players, but Smith at fullback has been quite miserable...he's a decent enough player, but a fullback he is not.

Almost be better off putting him in the 6 and Norman at fullback honestly

See i dont mind that.
Hayne was solid for Fiji at 6. Great kicking game, controlled & guided his team around the park.
Id like to see Norman at fullback
Could work

See i dont mind that.
Hayne was solid for Fiji at 6. Great kicking game, controlled & guided his team around the park.
Id like to see Norman at fullback
Could work

Well, I mean, I was talking about Smith....but sure, that might work if we got desperate.

I don't see Hayne shifting Norman to the back, but he could slot in if there was an injury

Chipmunk

View attachment 18979

I will take your word for it. It's a complex tax arrangement whatever it is, which would be even further complicated by a bloke that I'm guessing is no longer a resident.

TheRam

And yet he has played in 6 finals series in 9 years of NRL, including 2 grand finals and winning one of them.
The only seasons he didn't play finals footy were where we weakened Manly by taking Watmough (2015), he only played 9 games for us before his breakdown (2016) and he played for the perennial losers (Warriors 2017).

You must have pretty high standards to declare him not a half/five-eighth mate.

What is obvious to anyone watching him play NOW, is that he is not the player he once was, with the injuries he has had and probably the head space that he is probably still in.
He need a proper organiser next to him to take some pressure off him.

But then again you would know this if you were watching him play.

84 Baby

I will take your word for it. It's a complex tax arrangement whatever it is, which would be even further complicated by a bloke that I'm guessing is no longer a resident.
Pretty complicated but I’m fairly certain that he’d declare himself a non-resident and his income averaging will continue for 3 years after leaving at non resident tax rates. Slightly more tax but still he’s way better off with French income plus at end of day I don’t reckon he was taking tax into account when he decided to leave

Are you f**king drunk? Fisher-Harris makes shit all metres and just mainly tackles. Does that sound like someone you're shitbagging? Just Fisher-Harris misses more tackles

Hits like a brick. Reminds me of Gordon Tallis.

Next......