Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

TheRam

Ok. FFS. So what is your reasoning?

OK, I'm sorry I made it so frustrating, but that's what you guys do to me all the time with some of your question or statements that are designed to frustrate me or asked just to further criticise. But anyway, below is a copy/paste of what I wrote previously.

Do your best. But I think you have been around long enough to know that when Bullfrog or Arthurson were around, especially when they smelt blood in the water, if there was someone they wanted, they would take advantage of any situation that gave them the upper hand. And look at Uncle Nick today, he also knows how to persuade successfully. Sure the guy is and will be under contract, but nothing ventured nothing gained. Remember I am only advocating this because the Dogs are in salary cap trouble and you never know when there are pressures involved. Funny things can happen.

Now remember that the below post was my response to 84 Baby suggesting that Mariner was probably on very little and therefore wouldn't relieve much salary cap pressure for the dogs to benefit and therefore why would they release one of their better players?

Yes exactly. Perfect in fact. If for arguments sake, he is on 200k and we offer him 350-400k for example, which he is well worth it and on form is playing closer to a 500k player, then that would be very very tempting for a player like him. To increase your earnings by around 100% at this point of his career he and his manager would be mad not to seriously look at making the move.

On the other hand, the Dogs are in a very difficult position to try and match our offer. Then even if they obviously wouldn't want to let him go, if he got a bee in his bonnet about it, voila, they may have very little choice in the matter. To keep a player that is very unhappy in a team that isn't travelling to well can be an even bigger cancer.

BA can throw even more kindling onto the fire and court him with love and uber praise and respect and outline the wonderful things he could add to his game in a team with great halves and better finishers...e.t.c.

We have seen players and managers do this a million times. The difference is usually arsehole teams are the beneficiaries. It is about time we turned the tables on them while they are vulnerable I say.

Not rocket science, just good smart strong management. Stuff Peter Bullfrog Moore would be proud of.

Stevie

Not sure if its been covered but personal highlight for me this weekend was the blatant dick punch from Latimore to Cameron Smith.

I don't know about you but I found it hilarious and have often dreamed of punching Cam right in the nuts. On top of a Melbourne loss it was a perfect afternoon.

TheRam

Criticise Arthur all you like - all I'm saying is it's ludicrous to judge him on his recruitment, when we know three-fifths of f**k-all what happened.

He's plenty of flaws, and fans can criticise him all they want.

But in the interest of a balanced view, I'm pointing out that we've no idea what really happened to our recruitment, thus to make authoritative comments on the subject is silly.

What are you talking about? His recruitment has been laid bare for all to see with the results so far this season. They are the fruits of his recruitment. How are you missing this? Whether he tried to sign better players or not, the squad he has are the results of what he was able to recruit.

Therefore that is why there is that old saying that the best coaches are the best recruiters. That also includes being good at working out value for money cheapies and spending big on the right players in the right positions.

Does that sound like our squad at the moment to you?

Glenneel

Im sure the dogs will be falling over themselves to give away their best players

They will retain their better players ... not renew anyone off contract ... and just go with cheap/young/crap depth players for a few years
Think they are already doing that. Des has left their cap (and Manly when he left as well) with big backended contracts which obviously hit hard next year. They presumably are ok for this year but not next. Already they are paying some part of the contracts for 4 players playing elsewhere.

Glenneel

Look we can win comp with our squad. It is smaller and mobile . Ive seen teams do it with simmilar squads with speed and skill. Instead of getting into a dpg fight and grind they play fast expansive attacking footy.

My mind is boggled why BA has built a fast skillfull mobile team but wants to go to war in the desert rather then on a race track. I dont get it. Let Moses norman Jennings Bevan gutherson play some freakn footy. Let the forwards offload. Spread the ball

We dont have the team to grind
Our problem Hindy is we have very little skill, most of our forwards don't, won't, can't offload. Its that simple, small skilful forwards could be good but we don't have them. BA has had 4 plus years to fix that and hasn't. That is his most damning mistake and I'll bring him down.

What are you talking about? His recruitment has been laid bare for all to see with the results so far this season. They are the fruits of his recruitment. How are you missing this? Whether he tried to sign better players or not, the squad he has are the results of what he was able to recruit.

Therefore that is why there is that old saying that the best coaches are the best recruiters. That also includes being good at working out value for money cheapies and spending big on the right players in the right positions.

Does that sound like our squad at the moment to you?
It is complete relevant when some muppet says "He should have signed x" or "He should have spoken to y" as if he hadn't thought of it or even tried to do it.

Our problem Hindy is we have very little skill, most of our forwards don't, won't, can't offload. Its that simple, small skilful forwards could be good but we don't have them. BA has had 4 plus years to fix that and hasn't. That is his most damning mistake and I'll bring him down.
Freudian slip.

Glenneel

I find it hilarious the amount of people on here that seem to think if you offer player X 100k more then his current deal he will sign.
There are 15 other clubs after big forwards, there are players who would rather raise families in certain areas etc.
Just because there are a good few forwards off contract doesn’t mean you sign them.
Don't think anybody has said that but we don't have them. It appears that Cowboys got their man in McLean and other clubs like Tigers, STI and Knights to name a few got their targets but not Parra.

So did we make an offer or miss out? We'll probably never know but there were no rumours around and BA seemed happy with what we have. From everything written he was only looking for someone taller so ended up with Evans and apparently was the only one who showed interest in him. Wonder why that was?

OK, I'm sorry I made it so frustrating, but that's what you guys do to me all the time with some of your question or statements that are designed to frustrate me or asked just to further criticise. But anyway, below is a copy/paste of what I wrote previously.

Do your best. But I think you have been around long enough to know that when Bullfrog or Arthurson were around, especially when they smelt blood in the water, if there was someone they wanted, they would take advantage of any situation that gave them the upper hand. And look at Uncle Nick today, he also knows how to persuade successfully. Sure the guy is and will be under contract, but nothing ventured nothing gained. Remember I am only advocating this because the Dogs are in salary cap trouble and you never know when there are pressures involved. Funny things can happen.

Now remember that the below post was my response to 84 Baby suggesting that Mariner was probably on very little and therefore wouldn't relieve much salary cap pressure for the dogs to benefit and therefore why would they release one of their better players?

Yes exactly. Perfect in fact. If for arguments sake, he is on 200k and we offer him 350-400k for example, which he is well worth it and on form is playing closer to a 500k player, then that would be very very tempting for a player like him. To increase your earnings by around 100% at this point of his career he and his manager would be mad not to seriously look at making the move.

On the other hand, the Dogs are in a very difficult position to try and match our offer. Then even if they obviously wouldn't want to let him go, if he got a bee in his bonnet about it, voila, they may have very little choice in the matter. To keep a player that is very unhappy in a team that isn't travelling to well can be an even bigger cancer.

BA can throw even more kindling onto the fire and court him with love and uber praise and respect and outline the wonderful things he could add to his game in a team with great halves and better finishers...e.t.c.

We have seen players and managers do this a million times. The difference is usually arsehole teams are the beneficiaries. It is about time we turned the tables on them while they are vulnerable I say.

Not rocket science, just good smart strong management. Stuff Peter Bullfrog Moore would be proud of.

How many players in RFM's situation have actually agreed to move clubs mid-contract just 3 months after signing a new extended and upgraded 3-year deal? Barba I guess? Who else? It might be possible if there was some other genuine issue (e.g. wants to go back to Auckland coz his cat was dying or something) and the new club had something specific to offer.

There's certainly scope for deals when a club is under cap pressure and has older players on big $$ that they decide to offload and pay some of the freight.

Bullfrog or Arthurson didn't have to worry about salary caps.

They also didn't work for clubs stupid enough to dob themselves in for cheating and invite a ridiculous amount of scrutiny on all of their business dealings.

They also didn't work for a club that had an independent board appointed who are more interesting in financial stability than winnning.

Some very different circumstances which are not the fault of Arthur in any way. You'd call them excuses but I don't agree.

Glenneel

Both Vave and Matagi are off-contract next year so they have no impact on what we potentially could have offered Keppie. We offered Kep a development contract while manly thought he was worthy of a top 30 spot.

Just as an aside, Oregan Kaufusi played ISP yesterday, and if nswrl.com can be believed he played 50 minutes. That means Kaufusi has played 50 more minutes in ISP as a 19 year old than Keppie has played as a 20 year old.

Don't get me wrong I like Keppie. He turned up and cheered on his SG Ball teammates a few years back when he was injured, great character and attitude. But he didn't start showing promise until he was 18 and struggled to make an impact as a 19 year old in the NYC until late in the year. Meanwhile Kaufusi was putting up similar numbers but a year younger. We just had a very good prop in Stefano Utoikamanu debut in the 20s who is only 18 and has made an impact when I saw him play one game the other week.
What can you tell us about Dressler and Fainga'a and will they make an NRL side?

Glenneel

Why would we give them Vave or Matagi? They are off contract !!

Additionally you make it sound like BA does nothing on the recruitment front, just because you don’t read about it doesn’t mean BA isn’t making inquires all the time and talking to mangers and players.

Don’t forget Moses wasnt even considered as a possible signing until the deal was done without any suggestions in the media we were interested!
Josh you must not read too much as the Moses transfer was in the papers for months. Yes we don't know what BA is doing regarding recruiting but all hope he is doing something. Time to build a decent squad capable of at least competing for the title and giving the cheap nuffies away. Tried that and failed miserably.

TheRam

It is complete relevant when some muppet says "He should have signed x" or "He should have spoken to y" as if he hadn't thought of it or even tried to do it.

It is only irrelevant if he has assembled a winning team. If he has a team that has results of 2-9 then I think all supporters can and do have the right to question and critic his performance at every level.

It's football mate...what the hell else are we suppose to do? Think of it as modern day gladiator games. The mob want blood. Thumbs down sucker. You pay the price that I have indigestion while eating my popcorn an drinking my booze on the weekend watching your shitty team run around wearing my colours. How dare you. Off with your head.

And as silly as that may sound on a primitive level, that's the crux of it.

It is only irrelevant if he has assembled a winning team. If he has a team that has results of 2-9 then I think all supporters can and do have the right to question and critic his performance at every level.

It's football mate...what the hell else are we suppose to do? Think of it as modern day gladiator games. The mob want blood. Thumbs down sucker. You pay the price that I have indigestion while eating my popcorn an drinking my booze on the weekend watching your shitty team run around wearing my colours. How dare you. Off with your head.

And as silly as that may sound on a primitive level, that's the crux of it.
Of course you have a right to be critical. Just as others have a right to assess your criticisms and determine that they are ill informed.

A mob wanting blood is hardly rational and sometimes a little perspective is needed.

84 Baby

OK, I'm sorry I made it so frustrating, but that's what you guys do to me all the time with some of your question or statements that are designed to frustrate me or asked just to further criticise.
The hide of people asking questions or making statements in critiquing your arguments

Did Bullfrog or Arthurson have salary caps to work under? Plus when it comes to attempting to get players to break contracts, surely it's better to keep a tight lid on that until it's time to strike, so there's no way of knowing if it is happening at all until it happens. Think back to when we were in same situation, would you prefer to get rid of Peats or Gutherson? If you're the Dogs do you want to lose Mariner or any/both Morrii? Sure you could offer to fully fund a player swap but they're going to want a good player in return. Are you going to give them Brown (they're not going to take the shit players you don't want) and put a real hit on your cap for a few years? Or are you going to convince Mariner to put pressure on them? What's his recourse? Play like shit? Do you really want a player who's going to do that?

Also, its complete bullshit to assume that Arko and Bullfrog always got their man. Looking back at their achievements through rose-coloured semen.

Glenneel

Latest one doing the rounds on FB is the Chooks are set to sign Mansour and we are going to sign Ferguson for next year.
Good the chooks can have him. Can't do much damage to the opposition from a hospital bed. Ferguson is the better player but I'd rather we bolster the forwards first rather than another winger.

Joshuatheeel

Josh you must not read too much as the Moses transfer was in the papers for months. Yes we don't know what BA is doing regarding recruiting but all hope he is doing something. Time to build a decent squad capable of at least competing for the title and giving the cheap nuffies away. Tried that and failed miserably.

That isn’t true, James Hooper from foxsports broke the story after a deal was done for 2018, before that there was no real mention of it happening.

News reports after Hooper broke the story which went for a few weeks were about whether tigers would release him early for 2017!!

Happy to be corrected but!!