Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

mit I've only seen Salmon play a handful of games but does he have the kicking game to be an NRL half moving forward?

this is the big question, I think at his age and from what I've seen of his natural ability, he has the time and talent to develop a kicking game

but f**k me, he is an attacking weapon

Most people on here when signed said 400k. And we got cheap. You may even of been one of them but that figures been thrown around heaps.
Funny when leaving and it suits the discussion 200k gets added.
He was 400k plus tpa's ... those tpa's got added to our cap didnt they? ... but i think his special spreadsheet entry was only about 50k

Obscene Assassin

he signed on the cheap mate, about $350K was reported at the time, we were his 3rd highest bid, as he wanted to live near Westmead hospital due to his daughter's health issues

The deal was done by the previous board and CEO, I wouldn't be surprised if his contract is back-ended to a degree. This year I reckon he's on more than 350k.

I reckon you need to let go one of Norman, Moses or Mennings (as well Matagi, Vave, et al.) to cover the cost of 2 new forwards and another winger. For me, Norman is the most expendable as we have ample coverage in his position AND he is only one incident away from being sacked given his history.

Scott was rumoured to cost 400k. KE id assume is on 300k. Thats 700k.
I read Jnr was given between 600k-700k. Lets say 650k. What would it cost to keep Marata? 150k- 200k?
That means we have it almost covered already.

The key to being ahead of Salary cap is strong juniors coming through all the time. You then can get them for under for 2 yrs and maybe 3 if lucky. No value in playing them when arent ready as it will only push there contracts up and be paying full value when in first grade.

Look at Tepai. If its true he signed for over 500k a year ago then we didnt get heaps of value out of him. On overs now and hasnt offered a whole lot mpre then an old seasoned pro at end of career.

Although Gutherson and Brown arent juniors they are the types of purchases thst give you a leg up.

A guy like Salmon may not be as good as Norman but he may do 90% of the job and save us Normans Salary of 750k. So perhaps you could have a Klemmer and Salmon in team at the expense of Norman and Matagi with 200k spare.

With young Brown and Schneider coming through it may also mean we get a few years with a cheap spine.

Yeah for sure long-term position is the biggest concern. I stated earlier that he can play centre, halves, second-row and could probably play wing or fullback given his talents. I reckon his position moving forward will be second-row, possibly starting his career at centre. In that last game he also ran for 113m, which is great even for a half in ISP. We need to dedicate a position for him now (or at least next pre-season) and then get him focusing on the skills related to that position.
I’m sure he’s been signed as a half. All his games (small sample though) in two grades for us have been at left half.

In his last ISP game he kicked 8 times for 175m, I think this may have been his best game kicking wise and too small of a sample size to really know how good his kicking is. His short kicking game looks pretty good.

Based of dads opinion.

Eels have a gun young guy in halves but not one forward would make first grade from Wenty.None stood out

if he plays SOO its trolling time

I hope he doesnt. I feel Moses is the best attacking half NSW has but has many flaws at this stage. Composure being one of them along with game management.
Cleary lacks the brilliance but is superior in most areas.

this is the big question, I think at his age and from what I've seen of his natural ability, he has the time and talent to develop a kicking game

but f**k me, he is an attacking weapon

No doubting he is strong with a great running game & an even better passing game as a back rower where he has played alot of rep footy. Defensively needs a bit of work.
Personally i think in time will be a great back rower of similar mould Cordiner/Hoffman

Freddy Fitlers verdict on Nsw u18s origin last year on Salmon & a few Parra boys
https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=10&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjsgIzLpI7bAhXIfrwKHWPVDLIQFghaMAk&url=https://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2017/06/20/freddys-u-18s-origin-verdict/&usg=AOvVaw34uvBtsTiGSnyZp0M58H3N

Jaeman Salmon playing back row 11 for sharks in 2015 Harold Matts GF
https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=11&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwir_8fypI7bAhVFxLwKHRJZDhc4ChAWCCgwAA&url=https://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2015/05/13/harold-matthews-highlights-grand-final/&usg=AOvVaw2Ut8YA476iwIK0I00j4TPO

No doubting he is strong with a great running game & an even better passing game as a back rower where he has played alot of rep footy. Defensively needs a bit of work.
Personally i think in time will be a great back rower of similar mould Cordiner/Hoffman

Freddy Fitlers verdict on Nsw u18s origin last year on Salmon & a few Parra boys
https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=10&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwjsgIzLpI7bAhXIfrwKHWPVDLIQFghaMAk&url=https://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2017/06/20/freddys-u-18s-origin-verdict/&usg=AOvVaw34uvBtsTiGSnyZp0M58H3N

Jaeman Salmon playing back row 11 for sharks in 2015 Harold Matts GF
https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=11&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwir_8fypI7bAhVFxLwKHRJZDhc4ChAWCCgwAA&url=https://www.nswrl.com.au/news/2015/05/13/harold-matthews-highlights-grand-final/&usg=AOvVaw2Ut8YA476iwIK0I00j4TPO

Enjoy your posts and input on juniors

Cheers mate. Iv been around them watching for 10 years now. Supported the Eels all my life.
I just love watching the younger ones transition every year as they get older and develop. We have a few exciting ones coming through, I know we cant keep them all but i do hope we can keep most.
Ill go to depending on game times & venues 2-3 games of Harold Matthews Cup, SG Ball, Jersey Flegg every weekend.
Love it