Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

Jennings meanwhile is yet to make a call on the two-year option in his favour to remain at Parramatta.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/06/07...s-michael-jennings-weighs-up-contract-option/
That's a fantastically researched and written article.

He focuses on the return of over 350 games of experience in Hayne and Norman.

Would have sounded better if he had actually researched and realised the return of 248 game veteran Tim Mannah makes his point even stronger as we are getting 600+ games of experience back.

TheRam

I dont think so.

Lets be honest here. Top 3 teams in comp.

Penrith,Souths,Dragons.

At full strength if we played them this year do you give us a chance?

I'd go into the game thinking we where capable of winning. Unlike the Dogs who have been almost full strength we have missed

Hayne,Brown,Gutherson,Mannah,Kaysa
T rex, Taka for a lot of the year. 7 important players.
Add Edwards,Norman,Bevan and now Tepai,Moses. Have we been able to pick the same side twice?

Saints did 6 or 7 weeks straight.

But Hindy, the main problem with the Dogs though isn't their frontrow, it's their halves. and soon to be the fullback too. and probably their whole spine. Woods is quality up front, way better then anything we have here at Parra this year and it is a pity we haven't picked him up for the price that he will be going over to the Sharks.

These opportunities don't come around all that often. And now that he is being overlooked for rep teams he is even better value. We need at least one more top notch frontrower who can make at least 120m+ average and he has a great offload, to be a real threat up front to other teams. I think his average this year has been 127m in his so called bad year. If not him, who else do you think we could get at the same price or less that would be as good as him and is available?

For mine I say Lodge, but I doubt that BA would even consider him. A front row rotation of Junior, Alvaro, Mannah and whoever else we have at the club at the moment will not be good enough by a long shot. We need to get rid of most of these bits and pieces players we have and add some real quality to the pack. Woods is that.

And to answer your question of who would win between us and the Dogs at full strength? To be honest the way we have played this whole season, probably us, but I wouldn't be to confident and locking in those two point before the final siren blew full time tough.

Glenneel

You are believing what you hear and read because you don't understand what is going on this year.
About all I do know is that we are running dead last and playing awful football. I've been banging on for years about bigger forwards and our lack of offload/passing by them. I also highlighted that the loss of Semi who impact us more than most would think.

But that is just my theory so Pou tell me what is causing this, and don't mention injuries, as we've been playing terrible from the beginning.

Glenneel

You are believing what you hear and read because you don't understand what is going on this year.
Right Pou, tell us all what's going on, and don't mention injuries, as we've been playing shit all season. Then when you've finished with us suggest to tell BA as he obviously doesn't know either.

Glenneel

Maybe you shouldnt let facts get in the way!!

3 players and you claim BA over pays!! FFS!!

Watmough is what we needed at the time - look at the pack BA inherited!!

Scott was also what we needed (at the time we only had 3 very inexperienced edge forwards in the side Edwards, Manu and Tepai - one coming back from an ACL and the other a teenager) and additionally the rumours are he accepted less from us then the higher amounts from the Tigers and knights - so that isn’t paying overs!! It’s meeting the market!

Foran was a star half when we signed him (and it wasn’t $1.4m), look at how much the dragons paid for Hunt, Dogs for Foran, Manly for Evans, Titans for Taylor, Cowboys for Thurston, or what Cleary is going to get etc etc. It was the market rate for a half!! Not overs!! And Foran was f**ken brilliant before his break down!! We didn’t need Maloney at the time as he missed to many bloody tackles !!

We let Paulo go as BA refused to pay overs, we couldn’t get peats back as he refused to pay offers. He couldn’t get Bird last year as we refused to offer what the broncos and knights did!! We didn’t sign rein last year as he wanted to much, we wouIdnt meet what Lichaa wanted, we wouldn’t pay the stupid money Vaughan was offered by the dragons!! We refused to pay Hayne what he wanted!! We wouldn’t meet Dargans contract expectation. We didn’t meet what Keppie was offered by the eagles!! That is just a few examples of BA refusing to pay overs!!
Josh, I never mentioned whether we needed them or not, I simply highlighted the amounts we paid for them and even more importantly, the length of their contract despite their age. And regarding the pack BA inherited he did little to fix it but even added further poor players to it.

About all I do know is that we are running dead last and playing awful football.
Right, and you somehow think 14 games is more representative than the four seasons before it. That's called recency bias.
I've been banging on for years about bigger forwards and our lack of offload/passing by them.
You have, and you were proven wrong. Half a season doesn't suddenly mean you were right all along. Get back in your deathrider box.
I also highlighted that the loss of Semi who impact us more than most would think.
The loss of Hayne has hurt us too, along with a whole bunch of other injured top 17 players. Form is down for plenty of others.
But that is just my theory so Pou tell me what is causing this, and don't mention injuries, as we've been playing terrible from the beginning.
We played well right at the beginning against the current competition leaders. Since then there have been a range of problems, rather than just the one you are banging on about. The game is complex and merkins are struggling for answers. But just the fact that we are losing doesn't mean the deathriders are correct about any given point. We have had key players missing in every single game, and usually different ones each week. Twice we have put in a poor effort, and another five times we scored an equal number of tries as the opposition and lost. Sure we could improve our roster, as could most teams. That's how the salary cap works.

Does anyone know if we have any scouts in Fiji or not? I think this is the place we should be focusing on in the Pacific.

Yes mate.

covut.jpg

TheRam

Right, and you somehow think 14 games is more representative than the four seasons before it. That's called recency bias.

You have, and you were proven wrong. Half a season doesn't suddenly mean you were right all along. Get back in your deathrider box.

The loss of Hayne has hurt us too, along with a whole bunch of other injured top 17 players. Form is down for plenty of others.

We played well right at the beginning against the current competition leaders. Since then there have been a range of problems, rather than just the one you are banging on about. The game is complex and merkins are struggling for answers. But just the fact that we are losing doesn't mean the deathriders are correct about any given point. We have had key players missing in every single game, and usually different ones each week. Twice we have put in a poor effort, and another five times we scored an equal number of tries as the opposition and lost. Sure we could improve our roster, as could most teams. That's how the salary cap works.

Just the fact that we are losing doesn't mean the apologists, denialist are any less foolish and ridiculous about any given point.

We are still freakin losing and the coach is on borrowed time. I predict 5 more loses and he is toast.

I think we should go for Fittler. His time has come. But are we managed well enough to be that bold? I think not.

Just the fact that we are losing doesn't mean the apologists, denialist are any less foolish and ridiculous about any given point.
We were competitive a lot longer than we've been shit.
We are still freakin losing and the coach is on borrowed time. I predict 5 more loses and he is toast.
You could be right. But I doubt he will be replaced by anyone better.
I think we should go for Fittler. His time has come. But are we managed well enough to be that bold? I think not.
Do you not remember Fittler's record at a club as well resourced as the Roosters? If you can't be successful there you won't be successful anywhere. You may as well stay in the coaching graveyard that is rep footy.

gaffer

If BA gets punted why not give the walker brothers a go

About all I do know is that we are running dead last and playing awful football. I've been banging on for years about bigger forwards and our lack of offload/passing by them. I also highlighted that the loss of Semi who impact us more than most would think.

So the injuries are irrelevant then? Even if the key injuries hadn't started before Round 1 (which they did), it doesn't take a genius to work out that they are partly responsible for our plight. We started the season with Gutho, Williams, Vave and Terepo out (as well as two other blokes who have since played FG). And since then Hayne, Norman, French, Mannah, Williams, Vave, Brown et al. have been out for extended periods. IF you think that's irrelevant, you are having a laugh my friend.

I reckon it's more the quality of our forwards than the size (though losing our fatter forwards didn't help). The Sharks seem to do ok with a pack that is probably actually smaller than ours.