Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

phantom eel

A bit upset we didn't cave in and re-sign wonderboy on his terms Suity?

I'd rather be the team that won the two points this weekend... not the team that slid from 7th to 10th place with Hayne's inclusion.

Of course I am.
He would have put Friday nights game away beyond doubt easily for us beforehand, way beyond us needing a lucky referee decision to pull us out of the shit.

phantom eel

But we'd be over the cap if we signed him Suity... we had to let Peatsy and others go this year as it is.

I don't understand people's upset that the club didn't re-sign Hayne for overs?

phantom eel

At the risk of repeating conversation from the other thread (but to answer your question) they messed around with their structures for him, had no idea what position they actually wanted to play him, had hardly trained with him before rushing him into the 17 for a quick buck at the turnstyles, and went from containing the comp leaders to a draw the previous week to a vital loss. Not a smart move from the Titans imo, with a semis spot on the line (and now looking out of reach with their draw ahead).

You reckon Cullen is a better half, bart? When Hayne came on he proved he is still a great rugby league player, and a better half than a reserve grader like Cullen. But he will play fullback when Roberts comes back.

All that aside, $1.2M is more than we should be paying under the cap for anyone.

phantom eel

You reckon Cullen is a better half, bart? When Hayne came on he proved he is still a great rugby league player, and a better half than a reserve grader like Cullen. But he will play fullback when Roberts comes back.
I think they rushed Hayne back for this game, had no real plan for how he would fit in their structures, so therefore the squad had less idea of what was expected of them, and the coaching staff were hoping for a stroke of Hayne luck rather than planning for how best to extract a win over the Warriors.

Imo if you sign Hayne, you work out where you want to play him (fullback is a no brainer), and then you organise your team accordingly. Warriors were without Luke ffs, and the Titans still found a way to go downhill on the scoreboard while Hayne was on the field.

All that aside, $1.2M is more than we should be paying under the cap for anyone.
Indeed. They're welcome to him - and the damage his contract will wreck on their salary cap/squad balance in the year or two to come.

But we'd be over the cap if we signed him Suity... we had to let Peatsy and others go this year as it is.

I don't understand people's upset that the club didn't re-sign Hayne for overs?

Yet we already had Foran signed next year for the same money as Hayne was asking. Foran has gone and freed up that money.
Hayne showed more in one game today than Foran did all season for us.
Sure, Hayne threw an intercept pass and you have jumped upon that for laughs and giggles and childishly included that in your sig, but he was seriously the best player on the field today.
He hasn't played for 2 years. He had complete control whenever he had the chance today. Not everything is going to work, but almost everything did. Forced errors from kicks. Pinpoint bombs. Great cut out passes. Massively solid defence and try saving tackles. Try assists from kicks and passes. FMD, what more would you want from a seasoned NRL player, let alone someone who hasn't played the game for 2 years?
There are in my opinion, just 3 players in the NRL that are game changers. 3 players that are beyond comparison and command the top dollar.
Thurston, Cameron Smith and Hayne are the only NRL players in that league.

I cannot wait for him to be back in the NSW squad next year. I don't give a shit which position he plays. He is just that dominant.
We may very well be in it with a chance and I have no doubt that with him this year, we could very well have won those first two close games in Origin. The series was that close and he has proven in the past that he could (would) have been the X-Factor.

Anyway, you keep on hating him, because I'm going to keep on loving him.
I'm also going to keep on being sad that I can't love him for the Eels.

phantom eel

Yet we already had Foran signed next year for the same money as Hayne was asking.
But we were penalised for being over the cap Suit. We've had to make various adjustments to be able to play for points after Round 10, some of which would have involved backloading players into 2017.

We simply don't have the amount of money we had Foran on the books for available next season, and that's before we get into conjecture of how much of that was meant to be TPA and not cap. We offered Hayne what we thought was reasonable, he chose to chase the $$$, all power to him.

Anyway, you keep on hating him, because I'm going to keep on loving him.
I'm also going to keep on being sad that I can't love him for the Eels.
I don't hate Hayne, have never said that - and have denied it on many occasions. I just have a different opinion of him to you. He can be a game breaker, yes. But in spite of his natural talent, I think he is a lazy footballer who in club footy doesn't play to his potential or his commanded value.

And by all means continue to be sad he isn't playing for the Eels, while I'll continue to be happy he isn't stinking up our salary cap.

But we were penalised for being over the cap Suit. We've had to make various adjustments to be able to play for points after Round 10, some of which would have involved backloading players into 2017.

We simply don't have the amount of money we had Foran on the books for available next season, and that's before we get into conjecture of how much of that was meant to be TPA and not cap. We offered Hayne what we thought was reasonable, he chose to chase the $$$, all power to him.

I don't hate Hayne, have never said that - and have denied it on many occasions. I just have a different opinion of him to you. He can be a game breaker, yes. But in spite of his natural talent, I think he is a lazy footballer who in club footy doesn't play to his potential or his commanded value.

And by all means continue to be sad he isn't playing for the Eels, while I'll continue to be happy he isn't stinking up our salary cap.

I appreciate what you just said about Hayne, so how about you lay off the childish daily abuse??? Seriously, it's really juvenile.

As for Foran, please correct me again (and I'm not joking - I have no idea), but he was on our books for the reported 1.2 million again next season. And that WAS under the cap, as we'd pissed off other players to accommodate his wages (Peats, Paulo, Morgan, Watmough and one other I can't remember).

Why, without all those players and Foran gone, could we not have afforded Hayne, for even slightly less than what we were paying Foran?

I'm not trying to pick a fight, I'm just asking the question.

phantom eel

I appreciate what you just said about Hayne, so how about you lay off the childish daily abuse??? Seriously, it's really juvenile.
It's nothing different to what I've said about Hayne many times before. So how about you worry a little bit less about what people say on the internet though? You know where the ignore feature is if it troubles you so.

As for Foran, please correct me again (and I'm not joking - I have no idea), but he was on our books for the reported 1.2 million again next season. And that WAS under the cap, as we'd pissed off other players to accommodate his wages (Peats, Paulo, Morgan, Watmough and one other I can't remember).

Why, without all those players and Foran gone, could we not have afforded Hayne, for even slightly less that what we were paying Foran?

No worries, no fight assumed.

I think Foran was only on our books for $1.2mil for next year, because NRL said that his TPA (and others') would be included in our cap. Yes, we moved players to get under the cap for R10 this season with the NRL's ruling - but we haven't what we needed to do to also get under the cap for next season (considering it wasn't just Foran's TPAs we have to now make room for under the 2017 cap).

This would have required shifting around of contract payments into different years if we were to keep the squad we are now left with, and part of Foran's $1.2mil for 2017 would have been proposed to be shifted around (and pressure on for him to accept the two year option, so we'd have more room to shift his money around and afford to keep players). I content we don't didn't have $1.2mil available for Hayne for next year, and would have been lucky to have the $800K that was Foran's orginal reported cap amount - and the amount we reportedly offered to Hayne.

I'm not dirty on teh Club at all for the offer they made to Hayne, and like others believe that if he really wanted to stay an Eel, return to the Eels, lifetime agreement etc etc, he would have accepted the offer made. Hayne has moved on and good luck to him. Everyone copes with that in a different way - whether considered juvenile by some or not.

Why, without all those players and Foran gone, could we not have afforded Hayne, for even slightly less than what we were paying Foran?

I think the point is that we dodged a bullet being able to get rid of Foran after his TPAs were added to the cap. So why would we want to get back into the same predicament by signing another player for the same on-cap amount? Even a better player like Jarryd Hayne?

Because he is what I said before. A J Thurston. A C Smith. A J Hayne.
He is one of the 3 best players in the game atm. Even possibly better than the other two.

He would have clearly ripped us to a win on Friday night. Yet we had Robson trying to boss it. f**king lol.

He's worth what we were paying Foran. No more than that, because we were paying Foran way overs.
I've no doubt Hayne would have come to us on that dosh.
For some reason, BA was happy to have Foran on that money next season, but didn't want to pay Hayne the same wages.
I'm fine with that. It's BA's decision. I'm just disappointed.

For some reason, BA was happy to have Foran on that money next season, but didn't want to pay Hayne the same wages.
I'm fine with that. It's BA's decision. I'm just disappointed.
I don't think Arthur was happy to have him on that money actually. You'll note Foran's personal life and even his injury weren't an issue for Arthur until the former's TPAs were added to the cap. Foran asked for the severance pay because he knew we were that keen to get him off our future cap.

yy_cheng

It's similar to what I have been saying about signing Norman early all year. The longer u wait, the lower the chance to get him.

If we'd offered 900k plus tpa before the tits did, we probably would've got him.

At the moment our 1, 6, 7 and 9 aren't even sured up yet.

Yeah we can put Guth or French at fullback but neither have even played 30 nrl games yet

If dragons up their offer for Norman then we'll need to get used to wooden spoons again

yy_cheng

If we have cap space left this year, I hope we use it to upgrade someone up front. I'd still rather see semi at 1

Robert Lui. Conflicting reports on whether he is signed with Salford on a one year deal (ending this season) or two year deal.

Could be a useful halves addition, joining our bunch of charged but reformed blokes (Wicks, Ma'u, maybe Semi). Thoughts...?
I'd rather Morts, Robbo or Kelly for another decade before a woman bashing piece of shit like him.