Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

chiefy1

If the Storm's roster was good enough last year why did Bellamy make changes to it? Even the best teams want to improve. Why wouldn't the ordinary squads want to do the same?

Mate there's a different situation at Parramatta - whilst the Storm may need a set of spark plugs and synthetic oil , Our club needs to throw everything out except for the seat covers

I wouldn’t say it hasn’t helped us, but if you think it’s the contributing factor why we’re last, then I’ll give it away.

Which players are chewing too much from our cap since we’ve cheated?

Who said it was only about chewing cap space? It's about the players you can attract as a known basket case and the deals you have to offer to get players.

You reckon Vave and Matagi on two year first grade money isn't an issue? People keep banging on about "bargain buys", you reckon our cap situation (especially not being able to have TPAs) and our reputation as a result haven't contributed?

You reckon having to rebuild the off field hierarchy hasn't been a big factor in why we haven't been in the running for big names? Not having a CEO or a board for however long it was?

Deadset merkins reckon you should recover straight away, it's absolutely ludicrous. The Tigers are still rebuilding after they lost their board four years ago ffs, and they didn't even cheat the cap.

Not everyone gets a slap on the wrist like Melbourne did

IFR33K

Who said it was only about chewing cap space? It's about the players you can attract as a known basket case and the deals you have to offer to get players.

You reckon Vave and Matagi on two year first grade money isn't an issue? People keep banging on about "bargain buys", you reckon our cap situation (especially not being able to have TPAs) and our reputation as a result haven't contributed?

You reckon having to rebuild the off field hierarchy hasn't been a big factor in why we haven't been in the running for big names? Not having a CEO or a board for however long it was?

Deadset merkins reckon you should recover straight away, it's absolutely ludicrous. The Tigers are still rebuilding after they lost their board four years ago ffs, and they didn't even cheat the cap.

Not everyone gets a slap on the wrist like Melbourne did

We were 500k over for 2016, you seriously think that’s hampering us now, 2 years later :joy::joy::joy::joy:.

As for vave and matagi, you’ve been banging on for 6 months that they’re only back ups on back up money. Now all of a sudden they are back ups on top 17 money???? Even if that were the case, is that the scandals fault, or BA’s for signing them on ludicrous deals????

TheRam

Looks like he has been injured for most of the year.

His stats for 2017 were pretty good for a 21 year old rookie prop (averaging 100m / 20 tackles).

In 2016 he was eligible for under 20’s but still played 6 NRL games (averaging 23 tackles / 87 metres).

Not sure you could expect much more from a rookie prop.

Obviously it could be all down hill from here, but he definitely is young enough to improve over the next few years too and build on his 2017 form.

Sure is and lets hope that that is the case. I'm looking forward to seeing how he goes.

We were 500k over for 2016, you seriously think that’s hampered us now, 2 years later :joy::joy::joy::joy:.

As for vave and matagi, you’ve been banging on for 6 months that they’re only back ups on back up money. Now all of a sudden they are back ups on top 17 money???? Even if that were the case, is that the scandals fault, or BA’s for signing them on ludicrous deals????

Have I? News to me, you must be confusing me with someone else. I've actually said that we had to sign them on more than backup money (and longer deals than we'd probably have liked) several times as a result of where we were as a club at the time.

In fact, if you go back maybe a week in this very thread, I've consistently said I'd rather Lane on genuine backup money than Vave or Matagi on roughly top 17 money as backups even though I don't rate Lane because it's better for our cap.

Then again, I suppose when you have no actual refuting points it's easier just to make shit up, right?

Lol

TheRam

We should of been in the Wods mix. At 500k he was a steal.

Who knows what Jnr will give us. He could become the best prop in game or fizz out to a big lazy unfit lump.

We need to stop signing guys with potential and shit attitudes. Evans was always known as a bit lazy and same goes for Jennings. Evans should be tearing house down in Wenty to get back in grade. If anyone saw his game they would be dissappinted. Matagi was far and away the best prop on field. Evans just lumbered around at half pace. Pea heart.

I still shake my head at us not being the main contender in getting Woods. The guy took a $200k haircut to get out of the kennel and the Sharks signed him for $450k. Now that is a bargin, bargin.

Surely we could have offered $550k and nabbed him? The talks had stalled at a reported low ball of $450k and the Dogs were not going to release him due to it not making much economic sense for them, until Woods himself sacrificed the $200k to get out of there.

We are the club that is in a rebuilding faze and in desperate need of big skillful bodies just like what he offers. What a negative sign shown once again by our club.

IFR33K

Have I? News to me, you must be confusing me with someone else. I've actually said that we had to sign them on more than backup money (and longer deals than we'd probably have liked) several times as a result of where we were as a club at the time.

In fact, if you go back maybe a week in this very thread, I've consistently said I'd rather Lane on genuine backup money than Vave or Matagi on roughly top 17 money as backups even though I don't rate Lane because it's better for our cap.

Then again, I suppose when you have no actual refuting points it's easier just to make shit up, right?

Lol

You were asking why are people upset if we signed Lane. Went on to say he’s only replacing another back up (either vave or matagi)

And you assumed that meant I thought Matagi or Vave were on backup money?

Sounds like a personal problem. Unless you disagree with my assessment of Vave and Matagi's position in the squad?

TheRam

In his NRL appearances so far he has been no older than 21.

So being not as good as the Burgess sisters means a 22 year old prop is no good? Anyway his ankle was f**ked at the start of the year: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/8c8c4571ebf9e42ac896d16769415f87

At his age you would expect him to keep improving. Well, maybe you wouldn't. But anyone who understands player development knows that writing off a prop in his early 20s is ridiculous.

I am not writing him off. I am just not jumping up and down with excitement over his signing. But yes, there is potential there that I will be hoping that he fulfils.

TheRam

Of course Woods is a better all round player than Paulo. So is Nathan Brown. But Paulo offers great attack, which is something we lack in our middle forwards, and he offers it without being too much of a defensive liability. That's why we're signing Paulo on big money. He's one of the rare players who can consistently disrupt a set defensive line.

Woods contributes more over the course of a game, but we already have plenty of high involvement forwards. We would get diminishing returns from another one.

Wow, what a back flip. Hypocrite much. Jeez you're full of shit.

Once again, you are yet to explain how replacing overpaid fringe first graders like Vave and Matagi with fringe first graders on fringe first grade money (like Lane) is actually a problem...?

Here you go @IFR33K

Maybe you should be able to read properly if you're going to carry on about someone else's thoughts?

It was a reasonable attempt at deflecting from a point to which you had no answers though. 6/10 made me go look

Lol they’ve just won a fcking comp. Its a salary cap thing for them.
Probably for us too. We just had a small window of success. The fact we didn’t win the comp doesn’t mean it wasn’t. Plenty of Sydney teams need to rebuild after a few winning seasons, whether they win the comp or not.
Don’t compare us with the storm or BA to bellyache.
Typical dumb footy fan argument. If we’re talking best practice why not compare us with the best?

IFR33K

And you assumed that meant I thought Matagi or Vave were on backup money?

Sounds like a personal problem. Unless you disagree with my assessment of Vave and Matagi's position in the squad?

Well if you claiming they’re on top 17 money but are only back ups, what’s that have to do with the scandal of ‘16?

When will BA be held accountable for us being 3 wins up, half way thru a season.

IFR33K

Probably for us too. We just had a small window of success. The fact we didn’t win the comp doesn’t mean it wasn’t. Plenty of Sydney teams need to rebuild after a few winning seasons, whether they win the comp or not.

Typical dumb footy fan argument. If we’re talking best practice why not compare us with the best?

You’d be the captain/coach of the dumb footy fan argument team.

Well if you claiming they’re on top 17 money but are only back ups, what’s that have to do with the scandal of ‘16?

When will BA be held accountable for us being 3 wins up, half way thru a season.

Where have I said he has no accountability for where we are?

You'll find what I'm actually saying (and have all along) is the club has far bigger issues than the coach, and I believe he has shown that he is probably good enough to get us out of it next year. I also believe that sacking a coach so soon after the cap scandal shows we haven't learnt shit.

Merkins want to act like this season is the outlier, when its pretty clear that last season was and we've still got rebuilding to do. And if you don't reckon BA was a huge part of the reason we overachieved last season then I'm not sure what I can say tbh