Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Chipmunk

No Hayne,Gutherson,Terepo for many of those 0-6

Look we won. Dragons played terrible and we belted them.If we played next week the same team would I put my house on Eels winning? NO I think we got a little lucky tbh. Moses had his best game in blue and gold. Dufty had his wprse for the red V.

Brown was missing for plenty also.

TheRam

So to give your assertion some substance, you’re telling me that the NSW Origin coach doesn’t watch all the games ? Hilarious :joy:

If he doesn’t watch all the games, how does he come up with the 2018 Emerging Blues ? Oh look Tepai is there. :wink:

https://www.nrl.com/news/2017/12/19/fittler-names-his-emerging-blues-squad/

Look at that list mate. It says it all and I still stand by what I said. It would of been put together by assistants that he would have asked for input from. Emerging anything is just a fishnet of anyone that shows a glimmer of potential in their rise to and in the NRL.

Reality is mate that around 90% of them will never get close. Your assumptions are a joke. Teipai is a solid plodder that will always find a spot in an NRL lineup as long as his tackling doesn't deteriorate. My criticism of him is that he isn't the superstar so many think or expected of him. Therefore I believe we are over paying him for what he is producing, which I think is over $500k. He is a $300-350k player at best.

Anyone who makes on average 35 odd tackles and around 80m a game is just average/plodder and should not be paid more. That $200 odd difference should be paid to either keep if we have him or acquire a backrower that is actually worth that $500-550k. Someone that makes similar tackles but ALSO can consistently make over the 110m+. That is the way you should manage your salary cap. By putting the big bucks into the hands that deserve them.

But again mate this is just MY opinion. Live with it.

Look at that list mate. It says it all and I still stand by what I said. It would of been put together by assistants that he would have asked for input from. Emerging anything is just a fishnet of anyone that shows a glimmer of potential in their rise to and in the NRL.

Reality is mate that around 90% of them will never get close. Your assumptions are a joke. Teipai is a solid plodder that will always find a spot in an NRL lineup as long as his tackling doesn't deteriorate. My criticism of him is that he isn't the superstar so many think or expected of him. Therefore I believe we are over paying him for what he is producing, which I think is over $500k. He is a $300-350k player at best.

Anyone who makes on average 35 odd tackles and around 80m a game is just average/plodder and should not be paid more. That $200 odd difference should be paid to either keep if we have him or acquire a backrower that is actually worth that $500-550k. Someone that makes similar tackles but ALSO can consistently make over the 110m+. That is the way you should manage your salary cap. By putting the big bucks into the hands that deserve them.

But again mate this is just MY opinion. Live with it.

Freddy has coached these kids in the 16's, 18's and 20's. You are simply making shit up. First it was Freddy does not watch Parra games, now it's his emerging Blues squad is compiled by others.

I get that you have an opinion, but don't be making shit up to support it.

TheRam

Old greedy guts needs a month off I reckon to work on his manners.

Oh, that would have the affect of punishing me and you probably more then him when you think about it. No the punishment should be he should do all the mopping up at the end. As you know it gets very sticky and smelly by the fulltime whistle.

TheRam

Seems that you rate yourself a better judge than Freddy too.
yes.gif

Or we get what that emerging squad is all about and you don't.

TheRam

It's an emerging squad. Josh Addo-Carr didn't look like anything playing for the Tigers in 2016. James Roberts was offering bugger all at Souths and Penrith. Damien Cook played for St George and Dogs before he came good. Do I need to go on ?

No please do, you're only strengthening our argument and re-enforcing that the squad means nothing other then give a pat on the back and encouragement to a group of young kids that have the potential(maybe) of going to the next level.

OK, 2017 Emerging Blues Squad.

50% made the full 2018 squad.

The 2017 Emerging NSW VB Blues Squad

Shannon Boyd (Canberra Raiders)
Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers)
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

Joey Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
Jordan McLean (Melbourne Storm)
Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)
Junior Paulo (Canberra Raiders)
Nathan Peats (Gold Coast Titans)
James Roberts (Brisbane Broncos)
Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

https://www.titans.com.au/news/2016/12/07/james-and-peats-named-as-nsw-emerging-blues/

TheRam

Why did they have only 39% possesion?
Who forced them to give away 5 extra penalties?
Why did they complete at only 66%?
Why did their fullback have 2 errors?

These are the same things that had us 0-6 at the start of the season.

I have said this many times. Possession is earned. They (Dragons) didn't earn the right to have equal possession. They were soft and error riddled. We were good, but not that freaking good. They lost the ruck by being weak up front, then frustration sets in and they gave away more possession through penalties and so on and so on.

Just like when we are soft, and we get the same thing happening to us. Very rarely does a team that is actually playing well at the ruck not end up with at least an equal amount of possession. This we or they didn't have enough possession crap is for the birds.

You can always re-balance the possession rate if you play well enough in the ruck, by dominating it in defense and or attack. It is an excuse offered up by both players and coaches, especially focusing on the penalty count, when on the losing side and many commentators just parrot what they hear. Use your own eyes and learn to do some critical thinking. Coaches are lairs. I rarely make my decisions on footy on coaches public opinions. They have made bulls shit speak and art form. That is part of their job.

Possession is decided mostly by each teams own performances with the exception being on the rare side.

TheRam

Freddy has coached these kids in the 16's, 18's and 20's. You are simply making shit up. First it was Freddy does not watch Parra games, now it's his emerging Blues squad is compiled by others.

I get that you have an opinion, but don't be making shit up to support it.

Like I said, it is a dragnet for young players. Almost any decent kid can get a look in. You just have to look at that list and see that that is what is going on. Except you who sees champions everywhere apparently, including Teipai the plodder(average 1st grader).