Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

I have said this many times. Possession is earned. They (Dragons) didn't earn the right to have equal possession. They were soft and error riddled. We were good, but not that freaking good. They lost the ruck by being weak up front, then frustration sets in and they gave away more possession through penalties and so on and so on.

Just like when we are soft, and we get the same thing happening to us. Very rarely does a team that is actually playing well at the ruck not end up with at least an equal amount of possession. This we or they didn't have enough possession crap is for the birds.

You can always re-balance the possession rate if you play well enough in the ruck, by dominating it in defense and or attack. It is an excuse offered up by both players and coaches, especially focusing on the penalty count, when on the losing side and many commentators just parrot what they hear. Use your own eyes and learn to do some critical thinking. Coaches are lairs. I rarely make my decisions on footy on coaches public opinions. They have made bulls shit speak and art form. That is part of their job.

Possession is decided mostly by each teams own performances with the exception being on the rare side.
You do realise I was responding to the points raised by your Bones and Bones mate Hindy111 don't you?

Winning the possession battle can be a result of more than just winning the ruck - it can also happen due to errors causing you to turn over the ball - those errors can be a combination of both forced and unforced. As you say, a team with good line speed and aggressive defence can force errors (i.e. dropped balls, panic passes, silly offloads, etc) and this is where i think we actually got on top of St George early in the game. Once we had a lead, panic football sets in as well and this in turn can increase unforced errors. The defensive penalties St George gave away, especially in the first half were an attempt to reduce our impact with the ball and of course they impact possession rates.

I reckon Dufty was at least partially forced into committing the errors he did by our defence, kick chase and overall pressure that built through the scoreboard.

TheRam

OK, 2017 Emerging Blues Squad.

50% made the full 2018 squad.

The 2017 Emerging NSW VB Blues Squad

Shannon Boyd (Canberra Raiders)
Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers)
Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

Joey Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
Jordan McLean (Melbourne Storm)
Latrell Mitchell (Sydney Roosters)
Junior Paulo (Canberra Raiders)
Nathan Peats (Gold Coast Titans)
James Roberts (Brisbane Broncos)
Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)
Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

https://www.titans.com.au/news/2016/12/07/james-and-peats-named-as-nsw-emerging-blues/

Sure, some years, there's more quality then other years, but doesn't changed the fact that there are a hell of a lot of names in these squads that never get close to origin and the fact that they picked players last year that were well on there way and a smaller squad full of quality players that have been playing at a high level for a few years.

The one that you originally put up was a dragnet of wishful thinking.

Like I said, it is a dragnet for young players. Almost any decent kid can get a look in. You just have to look at that list and see that that is what is going on. Except you who sees champions everywhere apparently, including Teipai the plodder(average 1st grader).

Sure mate. :rolleyes: I understand you now.

3baeff382f844579ba56b70e5a896645.jpg

TheRam

So @TheRam, why does Fittler talks up Tepai and then pick him for his emerging Blues squad?

Are there any reasons that you can see?

What year did Fittler pick him for the emerging Blues? And just because he was in an emerging blues squad doesn't mean I agree with it. But I suspect that he is being picked on junior reputation and that now he is playing in an NRL side from a young age. Not on what he has actually been delivering. Which is just average overall.

So why has Fittler been positive about him? What do you think he sees in his performances?

So 39 players named in the Emerging Blues squad 2018.
32 players have played NRL
3 players played Origin thios year
22 players of the age of 21 or under
6 players 19yo and under
1 player under 18
This tells me its players with potential but also players they want to continue developing to give them an opportunity. Whether its reward or they see something in them that can help the blues squad in the future.
You might be right. Maybe 90% of these players might never play origin. But right now these are the young players ear marked.
As already seen players like Addo Carr or Damien cook or Roberts never played junior represenative rugby league for Nsw or Aus school boys. You need to realise there is no exact science to determine who makes a great player and who doesnt.
Everyone develops at different stages. Physically, Mentally. Some players are super stars early and never kick on. Others dont mature until later in life.
The Emerging blues squad is only that.! Players who have shown something at some stage to impress someone.
Sometimes its not the best players who make sides there are variables that need to be considered.
Coaches coach a certain way, So they might pick players that suit there coaching style.
Other coaches might pick players & adapt his coaching style that suits the individuals in the team to highlight there individual brilliance.

At the end of the day its only someones opinion..

ttps://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwiPxMCD-evcAhUKfLwKHdawCcIQFjABegQIChAB&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.nswrl.com.au%2Fnews%2F2017%2F12%2F19%2F2018-emerging-blues-squad-named%2F&usg=AOvVaw1h08ug_Ao6Y5BvaBynJJJX

My opinion on Tepai was he come into nrl 2yrs early. Had that not been case his development would seem decent. He will develop like De bellin who didnt get into peak till this year. Age 27. Yet started NRL in 2011.

Tepai will get there by age 24. Its just sports science and quite simple to calculate.
Next year Tepai will be close to his best but 2020 - 2025 will be his glory years.

@hindy111 should be able to explain
thumbsup.gif

The body is made of fibres and cells. Do you know how a cell works? Ok so it splits in half before if dies but writes itself (think of a tape vcr or music) then copies and reproduces itself. It does so up to 27 times but each time it loses a little information and that is why we age.
The longer you keep the cell alive the better you age. Good food and rest gives your cells time to repair.Anti oxidants protect cells. And the better the copy of the cell will be.
Sports science taps into the regeneration of cells and its life. Take Tepai for example and I am able to see how his muscle tone is showing cells and fibres yet to reach peak.

Remember the first time you met me and Ram at Bones on Bones and when we flipped you upside down you become dizzy and gasped for air? It showed a man who cells have had a hard time and in distress. See sports science.

lol

and Gus said Barrett wouldn't leave Manly, more proof old foreskin face doesn't know as much as he thinks he does

lol

and Gus said Barrett wouldn't leave Manly, more proof old foreskin face doesn't know as much as he thinks he does

If I was a mod I'd ban you for life after that comment...
Gus runs a tight little dictatorship. You speak up you die. What is so hard to follow?
Just close your mouth and dont open it until your told. Simple.