Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

IFR33K

Poor coaching is a factor but strike me pink those merkins are not U12s. The same (highly paid) team was competitive in 2017 but didn't turn up in 2018.

You think all the players all of a sudden lost form? Or maybe the coach lost his way (or marbles) a little.

IFR33K

Really? So storm and dogs, lost their chairman, board, CEO, footy manager, had an administrator appointed etc etc etc then lost their half back and hooker.

They remained focused in 2016 and 2017, so I find it hard to believe we can blame 2018 on what happened 2 years ago.

I’d go as far to say, the players would be ashamed to blame this year on 2018. BA has thrown his hand up saying it’s all his fault too.

2016 is just a cop out IMO.

Joshuatheeel

They remained focused in 2016 and 2017, so I find it hard to believe we can blame 2018 on what happened 2 years ago.

I’d go as far to say, the players would be ashamed to blame this year on 2018. BA has thrown his hand up saying it’s all his fault too.

2016 is just a cop out IMO.

I never said 2018 can be blamed on 2016. I have posted several times 2018 was a disgrace and totally unacceptable!!

2016 probably did affect our future squad planning but the squad is a lot better then what we did in 2018 (maybe the squad did over achieve in 2017 but it’s not a wooden spoon squad in 2018) and of course it’s BA’s and the players fault!!

My point is BA deserves a chance to coach in 2019 based on what he did achieved in 2016 (and 2017). Additionally the reason is one of our longest serving coaches is because of 2016.

However BA will be gone in 2019 if we don’t perform.

You don’t think BA has done monumental f ups?
I think that BA was on a good trajectory going into preseason 2018.
You think all the players all of a sudden lost form? Or maybe the coach lost his way (or marbles) a little.
I don't get the notion that with a winning team it's the about the players and a losing team it's the coach. In real life it's not. Anyone who thinks that a player on $200 - $1m per season is immune from scrutiny in a fail season is a chimp. BA does not write code which has a direct bearing on how the players prepare and function. Players are accountable as professional athletes.

Not saying that BA did not have a bearing on the 2018 season results, but he certainly was not Robinson Crusoe.

So you’re saying BA recruited well?
Dont remember Ba recruiting Semi, Sandow, Norman. French was in our system and Hayne returning was hardly a win for the club.

Foran was a bust, Moses is a maybe atm and Mennings is now a cheeseburger. This while having the advantage of us cheating and our recruitment still has been average. Plus Ba also gave your mate Taka a 3 year deal........

Sorry, you're wrong. Sandow's attack was erratic and disorganised. His team mates often had no idea what he was doing, and he couldn't stick to a game plan. I'd argue that his attacking game was more of a liability than his defence.
Being unpredictable was one of his strengths. Listen to Gould talk about why Andrew Walker was so valuable. You seem to think because he wore 7 he should've been the Cronk/Pearce/Townsend type. Think of Sandow as a (former) five-eighth if it helps you get your head around it. He was dangerous in attack, with a great kicking game.

Glenneel

I reckon I’d swap Johnson with Moses but it’s a choice between plop and ca ca really....
Johnson and Moses very similar, perhaps Johnson a bit more dynamic. Both have 4-5 mistakes in them per game and drop in and out of games, probably Johnson more guilty of this. Like for like for me and similar salary so no from me.

Joshuatheeel

They will use Holmes' money

Yes, but rumours suggest their salary cap issue is worse than expected and it is possible the NRL may reduce their cap for 2019, so it’s a risk for them to sign a new player on a big contract.