Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Happy MEel

I actually think Evans was a fringe first grader at the Roosters (as in, they didn't have a top 17, but rather a top dozen or whatever) but managed to play a lot of first grade through good form. I assumed we signed him to be a guaranteed top 17 player but the fact we dropped him so quickly proved I was wrong. He was also a fringe first grader for us, but we would've offered more money.

See above.
f**k you talk shit sometimes...

Last year's premiers are the Roosters, and in recent years we have signed two players from their top 17.

Joshuatheeel

Oh its us. Salmon recently and everyone still associates us with Hayne. Then there was Kenny last year and T Rex and Peni before that.
The Media love an Eels beat up. Yep its us. I could be wrong though.

Here is the quote:

“THE poor off-field behaviour of players at one NRL club is causing grief for the coach.”

So pretty sure that means “currently” not in the past.

So not sure how Kenny, Hayne and t-Rex are causing grief to BA, they aren’t here!!

Pretty sure we can’t discipline players not under contract!

Peni incident was nearly 2 years ago and was suspended for 3 games and fined $15k so it hardy fits into “Management is disappointed the coach hasn’t been stronger with team discipline”.

While Salmon can’t be disciplined until the court case is finalised.

So what other incidents are there?

And I am pretty sure if Norman was involved in everything the club wouId use it to sack him instead of shopping him around.

Nah...culture is a just a buzzword isn’t it @Gary Gutful and @Poupou Escobar
Organisational culture is obviously a real thing, but often it is only a buzzword.

Personally I think our culture was a massive problem this year. I've never put it down to lack of talent in the squad. What was the reason for our poor culture? I don't know. But I suspect it was to do with a couple of our bigger personalities coming of age (especially Norman) plus bringing Hayne back into this unstable environment. Leadership in the playing group is extremely important.

But leadership is also often just a buzzword. Just like culture.

Joshuatheeel

but Joshy thinks we haven't had any incidents lol

can't see the hugs for the nuts

El wanko, I Never said we haven’t had incidents, the quote is referring to current stuff, so what are the current stuff that have occurred this offseason ?? Apart from salmon? Come on name some or shut up?

Organisational culture is obviously a real thing, but often it is only a buzzword.

Personally I think our culture was a massive problem this year. I've never put it down to lack of talent in the squad. What was the reason for our poor culture? I don't know. But I suspect it was to do with a couple of our bigger personalities coming of age (especially Norman) plus bringing Hayne back into this unstable environment. Leadership in the playing group is extremely important.

But leadership is also often just a buzzword. Just like culture.
What was his point?

https://www.goldcoastbulletin.com.a...r/news-story/0b50cdb3dc4a773c9e7bceb5d4725f45

How Cooper Cronk helped prized Parramatta recruit Blake Ferguson become a leader

MATT LOGUE, The Daily Telegraph
December 8, 2018 7:10pm

Blake Ferguson wants to make two things clear.

Firstly, he hasn’t joined Parramatta to be the new Semi Radradra.

“Oh no, Semi is a beast,” Ferguson grinned.

But don’t fret Eels fans — Ferguson means business because he insists he has become a leader thanks to the mentorship of Cooper Cronk.

Asked how influential his former Roosters teammate has been, he replied: “Heaps. Cooper knew I was a bit loose, so he has been good for me.

“I took a lot out of last year with him, more so than previous years when I met him playing together for Australia.

“Maybe I was ready to learn and I was mature enough to actually take in information.

“But Cooper has been awesome for me. He has done it all, so I’m trying to learn as much as I can from people regardless of their stature in the game.”

Being a role model was a major reason why Ferguson decided to join the club on a three-year deal.

After learning from some of the best leaders in the business at the Roosters, he feels like he is ready to take the next step as a senior player.

“I want to make the players around me better,” he said.

“Brad (Arthur) and I spoke about that in our first meeting.

“It was about coming here and trying to lead the younger guys in our top squad.

“Some of the guys have only played a handful of games, so for me it is about giving them some of my knowledge over the last 10 years and try and make them better people and players.

“It is also about giving the Eels something they needed, which is something out of the back field and a bit of experience.”

Ferguson has only been at Parramatta for a week but he has already made an impact.

Eels prop Tepai Moeroa believes the former Rooster can have a Radradra-type influence on the Eels with his tough carries coming out of trouble.

“We’ve definitely missed that – Semi was one of a kind,” Moeroa said.

“He’d catch the ball on our try line and run 100 metres.

“But Fergo does the same sort of thing. He takes those tough carries and he is really strong.

“He is also really positive and it is just with the little things.

“The ball will go left at training and he’ll tell you to keep pushing over because you never know when a break might come.

“I think that just comes with experience. He has played with the best and he knows the game really well.”

Parramatta coach Brad Arthur has also been impressed with Ferguson’s first week in Eels’ colours.

“You can already see the quality that he brings to the team around his football,” Arthur said.

“But it is also his enthusiasm and talk.

“We have never been a bad training team but he has raised the bar this week, especially with his talk with the young players and making them confident and like they belong.

“If we go on form, he (Fergo) was the best player in the game and we need him to make sure he replicates that form next year and it starts with his training.”

Ferguson led the NRL in post-contact metres in 2018 with 1811, placing him ahead of North Queensland’s Tongan wreaking ball Jason Taumalolo.

As for a return to the NSW Origin ranks after being overlooked for this year’s series, Ferguson remained coy: “We’ll see what happens there. Obviously I’ve got to make a decision there.

“But we’ll see what happens. It is up to them, it is up to me.

“I’m the one that plays footy and I thought I played pretty good last year.”

I still can’t believe Kaysa is still at the club when he got Kenny to take a urine sample for him. Both of the f**kwits should have got their marching orders then and there.
I got the impression Edwards took the test for his bro without any encouragement.

Here is the quote:

“THE poor off-field behaviour of players at one NRL club is causing grief for the coach.”

So pretty sure that means “currently” not in the past.

So not sure how Kenny, Hayne and t-Rex are causing grief to BA, they aren’t here!!

Pretty sure we can’t discipline players not under contract!

Peni incident was nearly 2 years ago and was suspended for 3 games and fined $15k so it hardy fits into “Management is disappointed the coach hasn’t been stronger with team discipline”.

While Salmon can’t be disciplined until the court case is finalised.

So what other incidents are there?

And I am pretty sure if Norman was involved in everything the club wouId use it to sack him instead of shopping him around.
keep on huggin'

Happy MEel

Well he played one game of reserve grade in three years before joining us. You tell me if he was top 17 or not.
I reckon he was probably close to top 17 at the Roosters but an absolute certainty with us. I’d say he’s in the top 10 - 13 paid players. He certainly didn’t offer that to us.