Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

The whole club is desperate, and BA doesn't make the signings. Looking to the future is fine but we just ran last. We need to worry about the present first.

I don't see Mahoney ever being any better than McInnes, which is fine. But why wait years for him to become a solid first grader when we can buy one right now?

Cause you need junuors in your side.
Thats how you build a team. Juniors have a bond with fans and club that guys you buy rarely seem to have.

I always thought this until the SKD case. Now I'm not always so sure. The judge flat out told the chick she was a liar. How do the police and prosecutor miss this?

Sometimes evidence is uncovered after charges are laid....often uncovered by the defense team.

As I said, I agree with you on the threshold/discretionary ambiguity but the principle is fine as far as I’m concerned. If law enforcement have investigated the matter and deemed there to be sufficient evidence to press charges then you are stood down from playing, although continue to get paid. Contrary to the conspiracy theorists, Police are not in the business of making up charges for shits and giggles. The evidence usually has to go to a prosecutor to determine if it is sufficient to gain a conviction.

Interestingly 15/16 club chairman’s supported this. If the clubs themselves back the idea then I give little weight to public outcry of unfairness. The general public are usually ill-informed and react on emotion.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp...down-of-players-charged-with-serious-offences

My problem is not so much with the policy (though I'm not convinced), it is with the NRL stating that they make no inference about guilt or innocence and then immediately following that up by stating that they hope their new policy will deter people from doing bad things. That, plain and simple, is implying that the NRL 'know' what happened, and that some unacceptable behaviour has occurred. The reality may be that the player has done absolutely nothing wrong, or something horrible.

I don’t disagree with this entirely, but it’s not like Mahoney is a proper Parra junior.

He has been at the club since age 17/18. Made his debut at the club in NRL. He is seen as a Parra boy. It is good enough for me. I am sure heaps of clubs have kids who we eels fans see as their junior but actualy played some sg ball elsewhere.

Anyhows Mcgregror is NOT letting mcinnes go.

Happy MEel

My problem is not so much with the policy (though I'm not convinced), it is with the NRL stating that they make no inference about guilt or innocence and then immediately following that up by stating that they hope their new policy will deter people from doing bad things. That, plain and simple, is implying that the NRL 'know' what happened, and that some unacceptable behaviour has occurred. The reality may be that the player has done absolutely nothing wrong, or something horrible.
I agree, which is why I mentioned their whole communication strategy should have been around protecting the image of the game (and perhaps the player’s welfare at a stretch) rather than a deterrent for future incidents. The deterrent comes through harsh penalties upon conviction.

I also think that the NRL’s choice of words only impact the current cases as it does imply some guilt on De Belin’s and Walker’s part. However, I think the policy itself has the potential to deter players from getting themselves into precarious situations, or at least they may think twice. I guess we’ll wait and see.

oldmancraigy

So you think if the police investigate and have enough evidence to press charges then stand them down regardless of guilt? Where do you draw the line? Drink driving? Possession of an ecstacy pill? Common assault? Sexual Assault? Manslaughter (10 years)?

Do players get stood down for being guilty?
Or is it for bringing the game into disrepute/ damaging the brand? (The brand that the players profit from by keeping it strong)

Regardless of guilt, it is very possible to put oneself in a scenario that demeans the game and one should not have put oneself there.

Is it illegal to get drunk? And yet a drunken tirade could result in suspension (and no criminal charges)
Is it illegal to urinate in ones own mouth?
Illegal to Monaghan with a pet?

I'd argue that people put themselves in bad scenarios and deserved what they got in those cases (despite no criminal charges).

We need to be careful to separate criminal charges and NRL action. The 'innocent until proven guilty' re: a court case doesn't mean the NRL shouldn't stand someone down. It's the brain dead Mark Geyers of the world who think the 2 things are synonymous.

Players are responsible for their conduct and promotion of the brand they profit from. If they demean it in any way that the body sees fit to stand them down, then so be it.

oldmancraigy

Assuming he's not guilty, what codes of conduct were broken?
Do you know of some he hasn't broken?

For sure the club has a social media policy in their contracts. They would also have some kind of clause about use of a players image and permission.

If he signed his contract then he's broken that kind of clause anyway. Given that all contracts are subject to NRL approval, you can see how this works?
He has breached his agreement.

I have no doubt the NRL would also have a reasonably comprehensive code of conduct for all contracted players. It isn't hard to see how there would be a clause covering exposing oneself in the public sphere.

I dunno what those things would say (but nor do you!) - but when you making massive bucks in a short time frame, it might be wise to be careful?

Happy MEel

I don't believe that letting a guy continue to play footy until he's had his day in court teaches children that the seriousness of what he's accused of is in any way diminished. OTOH I think that punishing someone before they've had a chance to defend themselves does send the message that our legal system is unimportant and gossip is what really matters.
We’ll have to agree to disagree on that.

IFR33K

Do players get stood down for being guilty?
Or is it for bringing the game into disrepute/ damaging the brand? (The brand that the players profit from by keeping it strong)

Regardless of guilt, it is very possible to put oneself in a scenario that demeans the game and one should not have put oneself there.

Is it illegal to get drunk? And yet a drunken tirade could result in suspension (and no criminal charges)
Is it illegal to urinate in ones own mouth?
Illegal to Monaghan with a pet?

I'd argue that people put themselves in bad scenarios and deserved what they got in those cases (despite no criminal charges).

We need to be careful to separate criminal charges and NRL action. The 'innocent until proven guilty' re: a court case doesn't mean the NRL shouldn't stand someone down. It's the brain dead Mark Geyers of the world who think the 2 things are synonymous.

Players are responsible for their conduct and promotion of the brand they profit from. If they demean it in any way that the body sees fit to stand them down, then so be it.

Agreed. Players are consistently in the public eye, and will be scrutinised over the most minute of things. They’ve chosen this path when they decided to become a professional athlete. The NRL needs to be protecting its brand to ensure long term survival/coverage/sponsorship and $$$. I think bazal mentioned it earlier, the problem is alcohol, that is making these dumb merkins making stupid decisions. Wipe out the alcohol and you may wipe out the bulk of incidents.

Agree. 3 days ago we were on the verge of signing luke. Now we’re on the verge of signing McInnes. I call BS

Plus they are in a premiership window this season.
WTF would they get out of it?

Also BA and Club i reckon rate both Rheed and Scnheider. I reckon the reason they have held off signing a top shelf hooker. Hoping to find a 1yr veteran.
Rheed might be ready this year. Kyle most likely next. Pou can say why wait when can get one now that will take these 2 years to get to that level.
It is call patient planning. It is about building a team of guys who want to be together not a bunch of players who are there for the highest pay day then ready to roll.
Of course you need the odd signings. But when have a junior in ranks who can fill a spot he must get priority.
He is also a hugher chance of remaining at club for less in future.
Maybe not heaps less but if he is offered 550k and club goes 500k there a good chance he will stay.
That gives you 10%. Might mean 300-400k saving in your cap if have enough juniors wanting to stay and play together.

Kornstar

A lot of talk about the standing down of players and what happens if not guilty.

What about if you don’t stand them down and they are found guilty?

In particular the De Belin case? The seriousness of this particular case, can you imagine the shit storm that would follow????

Standing down Walker is an easy one though.

I don’t know what to think about the Napa one, I’m glad he wasn’t suspended but maybe the deterrent here is the fine to not be dumb enough to be a public figure and allow yourself to be filmed doing dumb shit that could come back to bite you?

The NRL are damned either way so they just need to stick to their guns (which they won’t and that’s the shit part).

Cause you need junuors in your side.
Agreed, but we already have heaps of them.

These members of the full time pre-season squad played Harold Matts or SG Ball for Parra:

Drown
Dunster
French
Kaufusi
Mannah
Moeroa
Moses
Parry
Paulo
Pritchard
Schneider
Terepo
Futoikamanu
Sutoikamanu

These guys played NYC/Flegg for us:

Alvaro
Faingaa
Leleisiuao
Mahoney (he might've even played in our SG Ball team)
Salmon
Stone

Plus Ma'u and Niukore made their NRL debuts for Parra.

For sure the club has a social media policy in their contracts. They would also have some kind of clause about use of a players image and permission.

If he signed his contract then he's broken that kind of clause anyway. Given that all contracts are subject to NRL approval, you can see how this works?

I have no doubt the NRL would also have a reasonably comprehensive code of conduct for all contracted players. It isn't hard to see how there would be a clause covering exposing oneself in the public sphere.

I dunno what those things would say (but nor do you!) - but when you making massive bucks in a short time frame, it might be wise to be careful?
I don't understand what you're saying. Just by being charged with a crime he has broken a code of conduct? Even if he's innocent? What about Semi Radradra, did he also break a code of conduct? What about the hundreds or thousands of players that have gone out to a pub or nightclub, consumed alcohol and gone home without incident? Have they also broken a code of conduct?
On players making wise or unwise choices I somewhat agree. If you're a dickhead on the piss then don't drink.

Noise

What code of conduct did Jack De Belin break?

What social media policy did he break?

When did he expose himself in the public sphere?

Glenneel

The player in question has allegedly deactivated their FB account, so obviously expecting a storm

Like Napa, if nothing illegal is taking place in the video who honestly gives a flying f**k.

And if it's not a criminal act by the player to release the tape I should add
But brings the game into disrepute, which IS part of his contract conditions, so the NRL cares. Although probably released by someone outside his control, like Napa, probably best you don't video your sexploits.

Players are allowed to have sex