Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Joshuatheeel

They did, Dragons told him basically they did not rate him as an NRL player despite the fact he was carving up the 20's comp. Hastings didn't like hearing that and things got a bit nasty.

Not to sure if that's true. No they didn't, they wanted to keep him (and made a offer to him to stay) but he accepted the roosters offer. He was only 17 at the dragons in his last year there. There is no way they didn't see him as a possible NRL player. Considering the fact he was only 17 it's impossible to determine if he would make it plus anyway Price wanted to keep him and rated his potential.

If we are looking for a genuine back who is versatile has speed, a bit of freak in him and a bit of mongrel, then look no further then Jake Mamo. He isn't wanted by the Knights and should come cheap.

Nah, Mamo sucks. There's a reason the Knights don't want him...he's pretty much at his ceiling and he's a total headcase. Not worth it just for a bloke with speed.

Not wanted?? .... Very strange indeed
If we are looking for a genuine back who is versatile has speed, a bit of freak in him and a bit of mongrel, then look no further then Jake Mamo. He isn't wanted by the Knights and should come cheap.

I think they signed him for decent money but the young bloke outside of speed is a real wanker. It's not really a surprise. Small man syndrome, sorry Muz, in buckets. Quick but isn't big enough to be more than a back up at wing/fullback.

Mate told me today that Craig Wilson who was in charge of junior development has been shown the door.

TheRam

I think they signed him for decent money but the young bloke outside of speed is a real wanker. It's not really a surprise. Small man syndrome, sorry Muz, in buckets. Quick but isn't big enough to be more than a back up at wing/fullback.

I didn't say we break the bank for him. If we need a guy that can make things happen on the end of a good backline, at the right price, lower end, then I think he would be more then adequate.

His size makes him a defensive liability. You need to be real good in attack to make up for that.

Until the first time he headbutts a merkin, gets sent off, suspended long term....the guy is a ticking time bomb of impotent rage trapped in the body of a 15 year old and with the brains of six year old...

Parra47

Not to sure if that's true. No they didn't, they wanted to keep him (and made a offer to him to stay) but he accepted the roosters offer. He was only 17 at the dragons in his last year there. There is no way they didn't see him as a possible NRL player. Considering the fact he was only 17 it's impossible to determine if he would make it plus anyway Price wanted to keep him and rated his potential.
I'm just repeating what a bloke I know told me. He used to work in the same job as me and has been on the Dragons junior development team for years, mostly involved in fitness.
What I said is what he told me when Hastings was leaving the club. If you know more than he does that is fine.

I'm just repeating what a bloke I know told me. He used to work in the same job as me and has been on the Dragons junior development team for years, mostly involved in fitness.
What I said is what he told me when Hastings was leaving the club. If you know more than he does that is fine.

But has he read as many RLW Magazines as you...?

Delboy

Mate told me today that Craig Wilson who was in charge of junior development has been shown the door.

He was told in corporate restructure speak ( after the restructure your job no longer exists) , happened to me over 20 years ago. A number of jobs have gone, no,doubt some will be filled with further hand picked candidates over the orf season

He has a decent rep so should turn up somewhere

Parramatta Eels veteran Jeff Robson not ready to call time on his career

Jeff Robson left the Warriors in the belief his playing days were coming to an end. But it's becoming increasingly likely that his first clash with his former club won't be the last of his career.

Robson is again on the other side of the Tasman this weekend, steering Parramatta around the park for the last game of their troubled campaign. Having convinced himself he can still cut it in his 35th year, the veteran halfback is now working on his wife and coach.

Brad Arthur appears amenable, although any contract Robson signs will likely be of the second-tier variety, giving the Eels valuable playmaking depth while they scour the market for Kieran Foran's replacement. His other boss might take a bit more persuading.

"The wife wants me to retire – as you can see my head gets pretty banged up most weeks," Robson quipped. "I'm getting heat off her to retire, but I'll sit down with her and the coach and hopefully make a decision."

1472885573013.jpg

Back for more in 2017? Jeff Robson wants another season with the Eels. Photo: Getty Images

By his own admission, Robson thought his career was over at the Warriors. The former Eels, Sea Eagles and Sharks No.7 managed just seven first-grade appearance for the New Zealand franchise and was resigned to seeing out his career in the lower grades.

However, his former club, Parramatta, tabled a deal to switch mid-season just a few hours before the June 30 transfer window closed. Ironically, Foran has now been linked to a move to the Warriors.

"It's pretty funny how it all came about at the last minute," Robson said. "I came back on the 29th of June and signed on June 30. It all came about pretty fast. It's worked out well and I've loved being back at the club where I played all my junior footy."

Which is why he is leaning towards running around again.

"I've been speaking to the club and they're keen to keep me around," said the last halfback to guide Parramatta to a grand final.

"They're heading in the right direction, they've got a great playing roster and coach. They've got things off the field right so we're definitely heading places.

"If I'm here it will be great to be at the club."

Robson is grateful the Warriors took into account his family situation in granting him a release. Not that they will be doing him any favours at Mount Smart Stadium on Sunday.

"Funny how it's all worked out," he said. "I'm glad they're not playing for a top-eight spot because they'd be coming out really looking to steamroll us."

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...-call-time-on-his-career-20160903-gr813d.html