Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

It isn’t that Brisbane have less superstars, it’s they had some on big contracts and have now upgraded a bunch of other players without losing a like amount in players. Were they severely under the cap? Or have they backloaded the f**k out of these upgrades?

I brt they release guys. J.Roberts saved 500k

Happy MEel

Ex

Except Marata and Stephano are better suited on the edge IMO.
I actually think Marata has been more effective in the middle and I’m keen to see how he goes at lock this weekend. I reckon it will suit him.

Surprised to hear you think Stefano is better suited to the edge, I thought he was an out-and-out prop?

It isn’t that Brisbane have less superstars, it’s they had some on big contracts and have now upgraded a bunch of other players without losing a like amount in players. Were they severely under the cap? Or have they backloaded the f**k out of these upgrades?
FFS they released Nikorima. Theres a $3m saving right there

That’s it though. And I reckon Haas alone took up most of that

I bet Boyd is gone end of season.
J.Bird would of gotten cap compensation for missing last 2 seasons. In 2020 they will have Milford,Bird on big dollars in the 1-7. Oates on a good wingers wage and 4 guys who wouldnt be on a whole heap. We have a more expensive 1-7.
Hooker wouldn't be on huge dollars. Gillet maybe his 500k. Haas,Lodge and Fafita would demand solid money I'd average them 4 around 650k-700k.
The rest of pack are young blokes. Prob simmilar to Kafusi and Stefano except our teams to good to warrant driving young guys pays up early. If they where playing and not offering more then older guys it would only make them more expensive the following season when they are too good to hold out.

Putting juniors in NRL isnt always a good thing. You will drive their process up before getting good value out of them. If have an older guy who is just as good maybe its smart holding them back a little...

Why? They off-loaded plenty over the past few years (SKD, RTS, Guerra, Napa, etc) and they got Latrell through the ranks. They might be cheating, but I'm sure that their roster is proof of that. They've got good value out of their 'average' players.
When you've got heaps of stars your 'average' players are placed under less pressure and have more opportunities to look good.

I actually think Marata has been more effective in the middle and I’m keen to see how he goes at lock this weekend. I reckon it will suit him.

Surprised to hear you think Stefano is better suited to the edge, I thought he was an out-and-out prop?
I'm sure he'd be great attacking out wide but its probably not his position in defence.

emjaycee

Yeah, my bad.
I was thinking of Salesi and typed Stefano (actually I typed Stephano, but meant to type Stefano, even though I really meant to type... ahh f**k it).

84 Baby

I bet Boyd is gone end of season.
J.Bird would of gotten cap compensation for missing last 2 seasons. In 2020 they will have Milford,Bird on big dollars in the 1-7. Oates on a good wingers wage and 4 guys who wouldnt be on a whole heap. We have a more expensive 1-7.
Hooker wouldn't be on huge dollars. Gillet maybe his 500k. Haas,Lodge and Fafita would demand solid money I'd average them 4 around 650k-700k.
The rest of pack are young blokes. Prob simmilar to Kafusi and Stefano except our teams to good to warrant driving young guys pays up early. If they where playing and not offering more then older guys it would only make them more expensive the following season when they are too good to hold out.
Any dispensation for Bird doesn’t carry forward and unless Boyd agrees to not get paid, they’re still liable to pay him so it’ll be on cap. And you are still missing the point. It doesn’t matter what any of their players are on. Does losing Roberts & Nikorima equal the likely upgrades to Haas, TPJ, Fifita, Lodge, Oates & Turpin plus the min wagers to replace Roberts & Nikorima?

Im sure Boyd will agree to "not get paid" :wink::wink::wink: ... and just like Inglis only a small bit will end up on the cap

The thing is, for every reported Broncos contract amount, you can probably take 50-200k off it to come up with the amount counting on the cap

Standard-Spring-Tine-Harrow-(1).jpg

Bandwagon

It really doesn't matter how you dice it with the donkeys, if Boyd is sitting at Red Hill chewing up 800k of cap for the next couple of years, and you count the significant upgrades to keep their pack together, their go forward might well be awesome when all are fit, but their back line, spine and halves will be sub par and their depth will be sorely tested when the inevitable injuries or suspensions occur.

Even if they somehow manage to get Boyd's contract off their books, the problem there is not that they are paying a spine player 800k, it's that they are getting poor value, and if he's gone they need to replace him in the halves or at fullback, and they need to replace him with quality. That's not gonna be cheap.

Now Boyd might take a pay cut, but he aint about to completely walk away from $1.6 million "for the good of the team". Particularly when one considers he's got f**k all chance of ever making up for that kind of loss of income post footy.

Noise

All those upgrades you have mentioned come into effect next year. So it is irrelevant who they released this year. We don’t know who the Broncos release at the end of this year. That’s what will count. They don’t have to finalize their squad / salary cap until February

Im sure Boyd will agree to "not get paid" :wink::wink::wink: ... and just like Inglis only a small bit will end up on the cap

Like Panthers did with Merrin and Maloney. Or us with Foran and Watmough?
I reckon some of you guys are over estimating what these Broncos kids will be getting paid. Like I said if Kafusi and Stefano played all this season in NRL they most likely would be talked about as well. Bar Haas who is an exception but was exposed at origin level.