Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Bandwagon

I'd rather risk Covid than go broke.

For a lot of small / micro business' it wouldn't be a choice of either or, a bad case of the plague and they can't work, that goes on long enough and they go broke.

If a few weeks or so being forced to close is gonna send a business to the wall, then a few weeks of not being able to be open is gonna do the same.

For a lot of small / micro business' it wouldn't be a choice of either or, a bad case of the plague and they can't work, that goes on long enough and they go broke.

If a few weeks or so being forced to close is gonna send a business to the wall, then a few weeks of not being able to be open is gonna do the same.

I've learned the one thing about a slow down or recession is it shuts all the already struggling businesses. The strong ones survive.
Not suggesting it's a good thing at all. I find it sad when people are battling to keep their business going. I have gone thru times when I couldn't find any work and had to try and fin labouring and handyman jobs just to keep some sort of cash flow. It is a very depressing feeling.

Cloeel

I've learned the one thing about a slow down or recession is it shuts all the already struggling businesses. The strong ones survive.
Not suggesting it's a good thing at all. I find it sad when people are battling to keep their business going. I have gone thru times when I couldn't find any work and had to try and fin labouring and handyman jobs just to keep some sort of cash flow. It is a very depressing feeling.

There will be higher then normal rates of businesses shutting shop across the next 24 months. But there will also be record increases in businesses starting up.

I own a large trade company. At the moment isn't what worries me so much; It is in 6-12 months when the construction industry cops the hangover as a result of the economy "Shutting down".

There will be higher then normal rates of businesses shutting shop across the next 24 months. But there will also be record increases in businesses starting up.

I own a large trade company. At the moment isn't what worries me so much; It is in 6-12 months when the construction industry cops the hangover as a result of the economy "Shutting down".

I reckon construction will go wild. It is one thing the government never neglects. Pouring large amounts of cash into construction.

84 Baby

That’d only happen if the government overextended themselves away from construction spend. I don’t think they will. They’ve accelerated heaps of infrastructure builds. The only issue now will be getting people to the sites to actually build them.

Sure, but the lockdown is a certainty of not being able to work. The other offers the possibility of working the entire time.

I bleed blue & gold

I work in the Club industry and my partner works in the travel industry. Covid and the lock downs have lost us a lot of money. I'm only going to work 8 hours a week this week and i don't know if my work is going to make up the rest of my pay or if i have to use annual leave, which i had to use a heap of last year before Job Keeper came in.

Some of my mates are teachers or electricians and this has barely affected them at all. All the whinge about is not being able to travel anywhere. Where as i just wanna continue to work and pay my bills including my mortgage.

My partner had her shop close down, had to re apply for her job. Luckily she got a position elsewhere in the company. It's taken a big strain on our mental health. More so on her.
I have noticed alot of our friends are struggling too.

Bad times, man :(

Cloeel

I work in the Club industry and my partner works in the travel industry. Covid and the lock downs have lost us a lot of money. I'm only going to work 8 hours a week this week and i don't know if my work is going to make up the rest of my pay or if i have to use annual leave, which i had to use a heap of last year before Job Keeper came in.

Some of my mates are teachers or electricians and this has barely affected them at all. All the whinge about is not being able to travel anywhere. Where as i just wanna continue to work and pay my bills including my mortgage.

My partner had her shop close down, had to re apply for her job. Luckily she got a position elsewhere in the company. It's taken a big strain on our mental health. More so on her.

Yes horrible times.

Electricians (much like any trade) depend largely on what part of the industry you work in.

20% of my Companies work was High end Commercial (Sydney CBD) which has copped an absolute beating as a result of COVID-19.

Where as I have an Electrician mate of mine whose a 1 man band servicing mums and dads houses along with the odd residential new build/renovation and he has not been busier.

Bandwagon

Sure, but the lockdown is a certainty of not being able to work. The other offers the possibility of working the entire time.

That's true, catching the plague also comes with the risk of severe and or permanent disability, there's also the dying thing which is really undesirable.

In the end whether you support these kind of things or not comes down to you ability to truly asses the risks, and your tolerance for that risk.

They are releasing up to 10k support.
Be interesting how one can access this. It would seem silly to me that a sole trader would be eligible for 10k while a small business with 15 workers can only access a similar amount.
Don't get me wrong if I am eligible I will take the money also but it's just going to last me longer then someone with 15 workers

That’d only happen if the government overextended themselves away from construction spend. I don’t think they will. They’ve accelerated heaps of infrastructure builds. The only issue now will be getting people to the sites to actually build them.
If they slow down the infrastructure builds later on, we suddenly end up with a heap of merkins who don't have a place to work, simply cos there isn't as much any more.

But maybe they just need to keep building shit whatever the cost.

IFR33K

Keep your head up bro. We’re still doing it a lot better than the rest of the world, where loved ones have been lost. You could also apply for hardship on your loan.

84 Baby

If they slow down the infrastructure builds later on, we suddenly end up with a heap of merkins who don't have a place to work, simply cos there isn't as much any more.

But maybe they just need to keep building shit whatever the cost.
There will always be stuff to build. Slowing down construction later would either mean everything is fine and dandy, or that we’re in real deep doodoo (throwing money at it won’t help)

That's true, catching the plague also comes with the risk of severe and or permanent disability, there's also the dying thing which is really undesirable.

In the end whether you support these kind of things or not comes down to you ability to truly asses the risks, and your tolerance for that risk.
Ability to assess risk has nothing to do with it. Perceived ability is what drives this sort of thing. But also, once you have dependents there are many things worse than death or even permanent disability. If I died my missus and kids would be set for life. At least as long as I can afford to pay my life insurance premiums.

Cloeel

Be interesting how one can access this. It would seem silly to me that a sole trader would be eligible for 10k while a small business with 15 workers can only access a similar amount.
Don't get me wrong if I am eligible I will take the money also but it's just going to last me longer then someone with 15 workers

Yeah interesting how this 10k support would work.

10k would be lucky to provide for half a weeks pay roll.

You have to demonstrate downturn.

84 Baby

Downturn! Things will be great when you're...

23c4685e-d524-4d15-9cda-121903ed3d2b_text.gif

Bandwagon

Ability to assess risk has nothing to do with it. Perceived ability is what drives this sort of thing.
How you perceive your actual ability to identify and assess risk, doesn't change your actual ability, they may be worlds apart, but that doesn't matter a whole heap. You'll judge things how you judge them, whether you can do so as well as you think you can is irrelevant.

In the end you will only ever see what you're looking at.