Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Gazzamatta

Given his 2018 form I doubt he was on the gear before that.
Maybe he had a season off?
Lots of "stuff" thrown up during his recent trial. It appears to my untrained eye that there are reasons why the Chooks let him go. It seems he had other substance issues as well. I cant see how he would have been a positive for our culture and Id be surprised if it wasnt known around the traps.

emjaycee

Plenty of players have issues that don't affect their footy. You'll note Foran went on to play some good footy at the Warriors, Dogs and then Manly. His nine games for us has been his fewest in a season.
Yep, we were unlucky to have copped Foran at the same time as he was actually undergoing most of the issues that caused him to lose it for a while. Mastercoach Hasler had no problem signing him back to Manly when he went back.

Gazzamatta

Plenty of players have issues that don't affect their footy. You'll note Foran went on to play some good footy at the Warriors, Dogs and then Manly. His nine games for us has been his fewest in a season.
[/QUOTE]
A rubbish signing and BA should have known better having been in that system. Thank heavens we now have an R&R Committee.

Hasler and DCE have known him the whole time and they were happy to bring him back to the club.

We were coming from a position of weakness and needed to take the risk, and turned out unlucky on that one. Don't be a hindsight hero.

Gazzamatta

Hasler and DCE have known him the whole time and they were happy to bring him back to the club.

We were coming from a position of weakness and needed to take the risk, and turned out unlucky on that one. Don't be a hindsight hero.
Im better in hindsight.
Des hasnt paid him over a million dollars. Definitely worth the risk went paying a pie and coke. Not so much when you know his issues, pay him a squillion and hand him the Captaincy. Desperation. And please dont mention Watmough.

King-Gutho94

When was the last time Parra was able to snare a high quality calibre player at their peak? Honestly i think it was Bob Lindner...
Can't remember us landing a gun in their prime

Kieran Foran

We just didn't realise he had gambling issues and hung around some questionable people

King-Gutho94

My point is why are the Dogs in better shape then us?
Bar Burton who is a slight upgrade on Moses imo what else do they have in their squad that we do not?
We haven't signed guys on overs like cotric,JAC,TPJ,Allen,Naden and we do not have guys a Flanagan on our books.

Trent barrett will never be a premiership winning coach he doesn't have the leadership or management skills. Plus his record for defence as head coach is ordinary. Manly had a worse defensive record then us in 2018 when we got the spoon. And his record in other 3 years as head coach wasnt much better either.

I reckon the dogs will be similar to us in 2014 when BA took over a basketcase will jump up near the 8 but may be a touch inconsistent to get there. And the losing culture thats arrived at the club will take a few years to shake off.

King-Gutho94

In fairness with Foran, did it really turn out that bad for us? We could've be in the position of paying him for years...We signed him for a $1m, it all turned to shit, and he was off our books...all within half a season.

And the Club couldn't get rid of him quick enough really. How quickly that deteriorated was extraordinary. From the next white hope to gone in 6 months.

Peats got pushed out a month eariler as well

emjaycee

And the Club couldn't get rid of him quick enough really. How quickly that deteriorated was extraordinary. From the next white hope to gone in 6 months.

Peats got pushed out a month eariler as well
From the next white hope to someone who unfortunately had some mental health issues that escalated on him so quickly he tried to take his own life... we did the right thing for him by letting him out of his contract at the time we did. It was fortunate for us that some extra off-field behaviour gave us the out we needed as we also needed to cut our salary cap immediately and his high wage enabled us to do so, without seeming like total merkins. The club supported Foran in many ways after he was cut.

Peats is lucky to have lasted as long as he did. His attitude was not one the club wanted around and we used the salary cap issue as an excuse to get rid of a trouble-maker.

King-Gutho94

Am i wrong in thinking the integrity of the NRL has sunk further down the toilet by the bulldogs rolling out raiders pair Ryan James and Corey Horsbrough this week.

What are we under 12s where players can swap teams on a weekly basis.

It may work in soccer but its not rugby league imo. Rule changes can be frustrating but i reckon this is the biggest disgrace yet

If they need game time surely the nrl can give them dispensation to run out for a Q-Cup team.